Herbert von Karajan
Young Conductors Award

Herbert von Karajan
Young Conductors Award

There are two qualities, according to Herbert von Karajan, that a conductor can’t learn but must possess from the outset: ‘how intensely he feels the music he performs’ and ‘how strongly he communicates his vision’.

On the occasion of its centenary, the Salzburg Festival pays tribute to one of its defining figures and a committed supporter of young conducting talent with the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award. The award concert weekend offers the opportunity, now for the tenth time, to experience a distinguished jury deliberating over three finalists and deciding a winner who exemplifies the model set by Karajan. With Manfred Honeck as chairman and Mariss Jansons as honorary president, two of today’s most acclaimed conductors will preside over the jury.
This accolade, previously known as the Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award, helped previous winners to launch international careers that frequently bring them back to Salzburg. In this way, these young conductors write new chapters in the history of the Festival, which at its most fundamental is a history of the artists who perform in Salzburg.

Registration ends on January, 31 2020, 23:59

An initiative of the Salzburg Festival in cooperation with the Eliette and Herbert von Karajan Institute.

Schedule

The Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award is open to conductors from all over the world who are over 21 and under 35 years of age.

Registration
Registration for the competition is only possible via the online form and registration ends on 31 January 2020, 23:59. The jury will then view the material submitted and select up to eight candidates. Applicants will be notified by the end of March 2020.

Rehearsal Day
The non-public Rehearsal Day will take place on 4 May 2020 in Salzburg. On this day, the eight candidates will each work with renowned ensembles on two compositions in the presence of the jury. In addition to one compulsory piece, further works will be available for selection by the candidates. The repertoire will be announced at a later date.
At the end of Rehearsal Day, the jury will announce which three finalists will be invited to the Award Concert Weekend.

YCA Award Concert Weekend
The three finalists will each conduct an approximately one-hour concert in the Great Hall of the Mozarteum Foundation during the Salzburg Festival 2020 on 6, 7 and 8 August. The concert programmes will be determined by the Salzburg Festival together with the candidates, with a special focus on contemporary compositions.
Following the last concert, the jury will select the winner of the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award, endowed with € 15,000 prize money, at a public awards ceremony.

YCA Award Winner’s Concert
In addition to the prize money, the winner of the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award will have the opportunity to conduct a concert with an international orchestra and a young, up-and-coming soloist at the Salzburg Festival 2021. The prize-winner will be responsible for selecting the programme in consultation with the Salzburg Festival.
The winner’s concert will be recorded and released as a CD in the “Salzburger Festspieldokumente” series.

Registration

Jury

The Salzburg Festival mourns the loss of Mariss Jansons. We can only look back with the utmost gratitude to all the stellar moments he gave the Festival over the course of almost thirty years, a truly unheard-of gift. Read the obituary

Manfred Honeck will chair the jury for the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award in 2020.
Honorary President is Mariss Jansons.
Further jury members will be announced at a later date.

Manfred Honeck Conductor
Manfred Honeck
Chairman of the Jury
Mariss Jansons Conductor
Mariss Jansons
Honorary President

Laureates

Gábor Káli
Laureate 2018, Hungary
Guest conductor of various orchestras
Kerem Hasan
Laureate 2017, Great Britain
Chief Conductor of the Tyrolian Symphony Orchestra Innsbruck
Aziz Shokhakimov
Laureate 2016, Uzbekistan
Kapellmeister of Deutsche Oper am Rhein
Lorenzo Viotti
Laureate 2015, Switzerland
Principal Conductor of the Gulbenkian Orchestra Lisbon
Maxime Pascal
Laureate 2014, France
Music Director of the orchestra Le Balcon
Ben Gernon
Laureate 2013, Great Britain
Principal Guest Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
Laureate 2012, Lithuania
Music Director City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Ainars Rubikis
Laureate 2011, Latvia
Music Director of Komische Oper Berlin
David Afkham
Laureate 2010, Germany
Chief Conductor of the Orquestra y Coro Nacional de España

Contact

For further information or if you have any questions please contact yca@salzburgfestival.at

Conditions of Participation

Terms of Competition and Privacy Policy

Participation in the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award is subject to the following terms and conditions:

1. Participants must be over 21 years of age and under the age of 35 as of 31.01.2020. Proof of date of birth must be provided by uploading a copy of the identity card in the registration form.
2. Applications for the competition can only be made using the online form, which must be completed completely and accurately by 31.01.2020. The application must be accompanied by informative video material in which the applicant can be seen conducting an orchestra, preferably with various works or excerpts from works.
3. The information / personal data and files transmitted in the registration form will be processed by the Salzburg Festival (hereinafter referred to as the “Festival”) for the administration of the competition and will be stored for documentation and archiving purposes beyond the duration of the competition. If you have any questions regarding data protection, please contact the Festival’s data protection officer at datenschutz@salzburgfestival.at.
4. The applicant agrees to be personally available for any queries under the contact details given in the form. The Festival does not accept communication via third parties such as agencies.
5. The Festival and the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award jury reserve the right to check the accuracy of the applicant’s details. The applicant authorises the Festival to obtain information about his/her activities from previous employers and clients and undertakes to send requested documents quickly on request. Should the applicant fail to comply with such a request from the Festival or the jury within a reasonable period of time, this may result in the applicant being excluded from the competition.
6. The application videos must be uploaded to YouTube or Vimeo and must remain uploaded there until at least 30.08.2020. The applicant is at liberty to decide whether they shall be shared publicly or privately. The Festival shall be entitled to download and save the videos from the platform.
7. The competition shall comprise the following rounds: Up to eight candidates will be selected from the applications submitted and invited to Rehearsal Day on 04.05.2020. At the end of Rehearsal Day, three finalists will be selected to participate in the Award Concert Weekend on 06, 07 and 08 August 2020. The winner of the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award 2020 will be announced after the last concert of the Award Concert Weekend.
8. The prize for the winner will include conducting a concert at the Salzburg Festival 2021.
9. The selection of the applicants to be invited to the next rounds of the Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award is at the sole discretion of the jury, and it shall not be required to justify its decision. It is also entitled to reject applications without giving reasons. The jury’s decisions shall be final. In addition, the jury reserves the right to cut short works in the individual competition rounds or to listen only to excerpts.
10. Travel to and from Rehearsal Day, Award Concert Weekend and Prize Winners Concert as well as accommodation for the selected candidates will be organised and paid for by the Festival.
11. By submitting an application, the candidate confirms that he or she will be available on the dates of the individual competition rounds and, if selected by the jury, undertake to be present on all dates. Failure to be present shall lead to exclusion from the competition.
12. All rounds of the competition will be held in Salzburg.
13. The Festival does not guarantee that the entire jury will be present at each round of the competition.
14. For Rehearsal Day, the Festival will specify one compulsory piece and several electives. The candidates shall be bound by these specifications. The programme for the concert at the Award Concert Weekend shall be drawn up in consultation with the Festival. The Festival reserves the right to reject any proposed works or programmes without giving reasons.
15. The Festival will provide the required sheet music upon request.
16. Rehearsal Day is not open to the public, while the Award Concert Weekend is open to the public and will form part of the programme of the Salzburg Festival 2020. The Festival alone shall decide on the admission of an audience.
17. The Festival has the sole right to make photographic, audio and video recordings during the competition and at the prize-winner’s concert, or to grant permission to do so. The participants grant the Festival the exclusive and complete right to use and exploit these recordings without separate remuneration.
18. In addition, the applicants agree in particular to an audio or audiovisual recording of the competition and the prize-winner’s concert and transfer the rights for the entire or partial use to the Festival by sending the application or at the latest when the recording is created.
The transfer of the rights includes the copyrights and neighbouring rights for all types of use and forms of transmission.
The rights are transferred for the worldwide exploitation of the production in all media, without limits in terms of material, time or content.
The applicant guarantees the existence of the rights transferred in connection with an exploitation in all audio/audiovisual media and confirms that such is not in conflict with any third-party claims or rights, in particular no work or label exclusive rights.
The Festival shall be entitled to transfer the rights to third parties, in particular public and private broadcasters, television stations, production companies such as the Salzburg Festival media partner Unitel, and cooperation partners such as the Eliette and Herbert von Karajan Institute.
19. The official languages of the competition are German and English, and the participants must be able to speak at least one of these two languages at a basic level.
20. By submitting their applications, applicants confirm their knowledge and understanding of these competition conditions.
21. All decisions of the Festival and the jury shall be final.

read more collapse

Herbert von Karajan
Young Conductors Award

Herbert von Karajan
Young Conductors Award

Zwei Eigenschaften, so Herbert von Karajan, könne ein Dirigent nicht erlernen, er müsse sie von vornherein mitbringen: „wie stark empfindet jemand die Musik, die er darstellt“, und „wie groß ist die Kraft seiner persönlichen Übertragung“.

Anlässlich ihres 100-Jahr-Jubiläums würdigen die Salzburger Festspiele mit dem Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award eine ihrer prägendsten Persönlichkeiten und einen engagierten Förderer der nachfolgenden Dirigentengenerationen.

Am Award Concert Weekend ist mitzuerleben, wie die hochkarätig besetzte Jury zum mittlerweile zehnten Mal unter drei Finalisten einen Sieger kürt, durch den sie das Leitbild Karajans verwirklicht sieht. Mit Manfred Honeck als Vorsitzendem und Mariss Jansons als Ehrenpräsidenten stehen zwei der renommiertesten Dirigenten der heutigen Zeit der Jury vor.

Für ehemalige Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger des früheren Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award bot dieser den Startschuss einer internationalen Karriere, die sie immer wieder nach Salzburg zurückführt. So schreiben die jungen Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten die Festspielgeschichte, die auch die Geschichte ihrer Künstler ist, in die Zukunft fort.

Registrierung bis 31.01.2020, 23:59

Eine Initiative der Salzburger Festspiele in Kooperation mit dem Eliette und Herbert von Karajan Institut.

Ablauf

Für den Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award können sich Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten aus aller Welt bewerben, die älter als 21 Jahre sind beziehungsweise das 35. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet haben.

Registrierung
Die Registrierung zum Wettbewerb ist ausschließlich über das Online-Formular möglich, die Anmeldung endet am 31. Januar 2020, 23:59. Im Anschluss sichtet die Jury das eingesandte Material und wählt bis zu acht Kandidaten aus. Die Verständigung der Bewerber erfolgt bis Ende März 2020.

Rehearsal Day
Der nicht öffentliche Rehearsal Day findet am 4. Mai 2020 in Salzburg statt. An diesem Tag arbeiten die acht Kandidaten in Gegenwart der Jury mit renommierten Ensembles an jeweils zwei Kompositionen. Neben einem Pflichtstück stehen weitere Werke für die Kandidaten zur Auswahl. Das Repertoire wird zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekannt gegeben.
Am Ende des Rehearsal Day gibt die Jury bekannt, welche drei Finalisten zum Award Concert Weekend eingeladen werden.

YCA Award Concert Weekend
Die drei Finalisten dirigieren im Rahmen der Salzburger Festspiele 2020 am 6., 7. und 8. August im Großen Saal der Stiftung Mozarteum jeweils ein etwa einstündiges Konzert. Die Konzertprogramme werden von den Salzburger Festspielen gemeinsam mit den Kandidaten erarbeitet, ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf zeitgenössischen Kompositionen.
Im Anschluss an das letzte Konzert kürt die Jury in einer öffentlichen Preisverleihung den Sieger des mit einem Preisgeld in Höhe von € 15.000,- dotierten Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award.

YCA Preisträgerkonzert
Neben dem Preisgeld erhält der Sieger des Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen der Salzburger Festspiele 2021 ein Konzert mit einem internationalen Orchester und einem jungen, aufstrebenden Solisten zu leiten. Die Programmauswahl obliegt dem Preisträger in Absprache mit den Salzburger Festspielen.
Das Preisträgerkonzert wird aufgezeichnet und erscheint als CD in der Edition „Salzburger Festspieldokumente“.

Anmeldung

Jury

Die Salzburger Festspiele trauern um Mariss Jansons. Uns bleibt nur, mit größter Dankbarkeit all jener Sternstunden zu gedenken, mit denen er knapp 30 Jahre lang den Festspielen wahrhaft Unerhörtes geschenkt hat. Zum Nachruf

Den Vorsitz der Jury des Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award wird 2020 Manfred Honeck übernehmen. Ehrenpräsident ist Mariss Jansons.
Weitere Jurymitglieder werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekannt gegeben.

Manfred Honeck Dirigent
Manfred Honeck
Jury-Vorsitzender
Mariss Jansons Dirigent
Mariss Jansons
Ehrenpräsident

PreisträgerInnen

YCA Preisträgerkonzert · ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien · Káli Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Gábor Káli, ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien
Gábor Káli
Preisträger 2018, Ungarn
Diverse Gastdirigate
Kerem Hasan
Preisträger 2017, Grossbritannien
Chefdirigent des Tiroler Symphonieorchesters Innsbruck
Aziz Shokhakimov
PREISTRÄGER 2016, Usbekistan
Kapellmeister Deutsche Oper am Rhein
Lorenzo Viotti
PREISTRÄGER 2015, Schweiz
Chefdirigent des Gulbenkian Orchestra Lissabon
Maxime Pascal
PREISTRÄGER 2014, Frankreich
Musikdirektor des Orchesters Le Balcon
Ben Gernon
PREISTRÄGER 2013, Großbritannien
Erster Gastdirigent des BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
PREISTRÄGERIN 2012, Litauen
Musikdirektorin des City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Ainars Rubikis
PREISTRÄGER 2011, Lettland
Musikdirektor der Komischen Oper Berlin
David Afkham
PREISTRÄGER 2010, Deutschland
Chefdirigent des Orquestra y Coro Nacional de España

Kontakt

Für weitere Informationen oder bei Fragen richten Sie sich bitte an yca@salzburgfestival.at

Teilnahmebedingungen

Wettbewerbsbedingungen und Datenschutzerklärung

Für die Teilnahme am Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award gelten die folgenden Voraussetzungen und Bedingungen:

1. Die Teilnehmer dürfen zum Stichtag 31.01.2020 nicht jünger als 21 Jahre sein beziehungsweise das 35. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet haben. Das Geburtsdatum ist durch Hochladen einer Ausweiskopie im Anmeldeformular zu verifizieren.
2. Anmeldungen zum Wettbewerb sind ausschließlich über das Online-Formular möglich, welches bis zum 31.01.2020 vollständig und wahrheitsgemäß ausgefüllt werden muss. Dabei ist aussagekräftiges Videomaterial zu inkludieren, bei dem der Bewerber (sofern im Text der Terminus „Bewerber“ Verwendung findet, sind darunter sowohl weibliche als auch männliche Bewerber zu verstehen) beim Dirigieren eines Orchesters, möglichst von verschiedenen Werken oder Ausschnitten aus Werken, zu sehen ist.
3. Die im Anmeldeformular mitgeteilten Informationen / personenbezogenen Daten und übermittelten Dateien werden von den Salzburger Festspielen (im Folgenden nur mehr „Festspiele“ genannt) zur Administration des Wettbewerbs verarbeitet und bleiben zu Dokumentations- und Archivzwecken auch über die Dauer des Wettbewerbs hinaus gespeichert. Bei Fragen zum Datenschutz steht Ihnen der Datenschutzbeauftragte der Festspiele unter datenschutz@salzburgfestival.at zur Verfügung.
4. Der Bewerber erklärt sich bereit, unter den im Formular angegebenen Kontaktdaten für etwaige Rückfragen persönlich zur Verfügung zu stehen. Die Festspiele akzeptieren keine Kommunikation über eine dritte Partei, wie etwa Agenturen.
5. Die Festspiele und die Jury des Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award behalten sich das Recht vor, die Angaben des Bewerbers auf ihre Richtigkeit zu überprüfen. Der Bewerber ermächtigt die Festspiele, Erkundigungen über seine Tätigkeit bei früheren Arbeit- und Auftraggebern einzuholen und verpflichtet sich, auf Anfrage angeforderte Unterlagen kurzfristig zu übersenden. Sollte der Bewerber einer solchen Anfrage der Festspiele oder der Jury nicht innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist nachkommen, kann dies im Ausschluss des Bewerbers aus dem Wettbewerb resultieren.
6. Die Bewerbungsvideos sind auf youtube oder vimeo hochzuladen und müssen dort mindestens bis zum 30.08.2020 hochgeladen verbleiben. Ob sie dort öffentlich oder privat geteilt werden, steht dem Bewerber frei. Die Festspiele sind berechtigt, die Videos von der Plattform herunterzuladen und zu speichern.
7. Der Wettbewerb umfasst folgende Runden: Aus den eingesandten Bewerbungen werden bis zu acht Kandidaten ausgewählt, welche zum Rehearsal Day am 04.05.2020 eingeladen werden. Am Ende des Rehearsal Day werden drei Finalisten bestimmt, welche am Award Concert Weekend am 06., 07. und 08.08.2020 teilnehmen dürfen. Im Anschluss an das letzte Konzert des Award Concert Weekend wird der Sieger des Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award 2020 verkündet.
8. Der Preis für den Sieger umfasst die Leitung eines Konzertes im Rahmen der Salzburger Festspiele 2021.
9. Die Auswahl der Bewerber, welche in die nächsten Runden des Herbert von Karajan Young Conductors Award eingeladen werden, obliegt allein der Jury nach freiem Ermessen und ihre Entscheidung muss nicht begründet werden. Sie ist weiters berechtigt, Bewerbungen ohne Angabe von Gründen abzulehnen. Die Entscheidungen der Jury sind unanfechtbar. Zudem behält sich die Jury vor, in den einzelnen Wettbewerbsrunden Werke abzubrechen oder nur Ausschnitte zu hören.
10. Die An- und Abreise zu Rehearsal Day, Award Concert Weekend und Preisträgerkonzert sowie die Unterkunft werden für die ausgewählten Kandidaten von den Festspielen organisiert und bezahlt.
11. Die Bewerber erklären mit der Absendung der Anmeldung, dass sie an den Terminen der einzelnen Wettbewerbs-Runden verfügbar sind und verpflichten sich, wenn sie von der Jury ausgewählt werden, an allen Terminen anwesend zu sein. Abwesenheit führt zum Ausschluss aus dem Wettbewerb.
12. Sämtliche Runden des Wettbewerbs werden in Salzburg abgehalten.
13. Die Festspiele geben keine Garantie dafür ab, dass die gesamte Jury bei jeder Runde des Wettbewerbs anwesend ist.
14. Für den Rehearsal Day geben die Festspiele ein Pflicht- sowie mehrere Wahlstücke vor. Die Kandidaten sind an diese Vorgaben gebunden. Das Programm für das Konzert beim Award Concert Weekend ist in Absprache mit den Festspielen zu gestalten. Die Festspiele behalten sich das Recht vor, einzelne vorgeschlagene Werke oder Programme ohne Angabe von Gründen abzulehnen.
15. Das jeweilige benötigte Notenmaterial wird von den Festspielen auf Anfrage zur Verfügung gestellt.
16. Der Rehearsal Day ist nicht öffentlich zugänglich, das Award Concert Weekend ist dagegen öffentlich und bildet einen Teil des Programms der Salzburger Festspiele 2020. Über die Zulassung von Zuhörern entscheiden ausschließlich die Festspiele.
17. Die Festspiele haben das alleinige Recht, Lichtbild-, Ton- und Videoaufnahmen während des Wettbewerbs und beim Preisträgerkonzert zu erstellen, beziehungsweise Genehmigungen dafür zu vergeben. Die Teilnehmer räumen den Festspielen ohne gesonderte Vergütung das ausschließliche und vollständige Nutzungs- und Verwertungsrecht an diesen Aufnahmen ein.
18. Die Bewerber stimmen darüber hinaus insbesondere einer audio- bzw. audiovisuellen Aufzeichnung des Wettbewerbs und des Preisträgerkonzerts zu und übertragen die Rechte für die gesamte oder ausschnittweise Nutzung mit Absendung der Anmeldung bzw. spätestens mit Entstehung an die Festspiele.
Die Übertragung der Rechte umfasst die Urheber- und Leistungsschutzrechte, sowie die Nebenrechte für alle Nutzungsarten und Übertragungsformen.
Die Übertragung der Rechte erfolgt zur weltweiten, sachlich, zeitlich und inhaltlich unbegrenzten Verwertung der Produktion in allen Medien.
Der Bewerber garantiert den Bestand der Rechte, die im Zusammenhang mit einer Verwertung in allen audio/audiovisuellen Medien übertragen werden und versichert, dass insoweit keine Ansprüche oder Rechte Dritter, insbesondere keine Werk- oder Labelexklusivitäten dem entgegenstehen.
Die Festspiele sind berechtigt, die Rechte auf Dritte, insbesondere öffentlich-rechtliche und privatrechtliche Rundfunkunternehmen, Fernsehanstalten, Produktionsgesellschaften wie dem Medienpartner der Salzburger Festspiele Unitel, sowie Kooperationspartner wie dem Eliette und Herbert von Karajan Institut zu übertragen.
19. Die offiziellen Sprachen des Wettbewerbs sind deutsch und englisch, die Teilnehmer müssen mindestens eine dieser beiden Sprachen auf grundlegendem Niveau beherrschen.
20. Mit der Anmeldung bestätigen die Bewerber die Kenntnisnahme und das Verständnis dieser Wettbewerbsbedingungen.
21. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen