Young Singers Project

Young Singers Project

Supported by KÜHNE-STIFTUNG

With the Young Singers Project the Salzburg Festival has created a high-powered platform for the promotion of young singers, which this year can already look back on 13 successful years and has been supported for several years by the Kühne Foundation who is also a main sponsor of the Salzburg Festival.

Young singers are selected through international auditions and thanks to the scholarship the participants receive advanced training during the Festival, which does not only include musical education and repertoire expansion, but also staging, language coaching, Lied interpretation as well as the opportunity to work with Festival artists and to attend rehearsals. The master classes and the clear practical connection with the Festival make the YSP an educational programme that has become an international benchmark and model.

Application for the
Young Singers Project 2022

The age limit for the Young Singers Project is 30; to apply for the YSP 2022 please fill out the form below until 1 November 2021.

Due to the great number of applications we ask for your understanding that we will have to do a preselection for the auditions. Invitations to audition will be made in writing.

The Salzburg Festival will use the data you provide here for the administration of the competition. Your data will also be kept on record in the event of a cancellation and beyond the competition in order to make it possible to contact you. You can object to it anytime. In this case your files will immediately be deleted. Therefore please write an e-mail to YSP@salzburgfestival.at

Conditions of participation/ Privacy Policy

The following terms and conditions apply to participation in the Young Singers Project.

1. Applicants (hereafter referred to as “singers”) must not have reached the age of 30 by 1 July 2022. The date of birth must be verified by uploading a copy of an identity document in the registration form.
2. Applications can be made via the online form, which must be filled out completely and truthfully. Meaningful video material must be included, which must not be older than 6 months. The closing date for applications is 1 November 2021.
3. The information / personal data and files submitted in the registration form will be processed by the Salzburg Festival (hereafter referred to as the “Festival”) for the administration of the project and will remain stored for documentation and archiving purposes beyond the duration of the project. If you have any questions regarding data protection, please contact the Festival’s data protection officer at datenschutz@salzburgfestival.at.
4. The singers agree to be personally available for any queries under the contact details provided in the form. In exceptional cases, the Festival will also accept communication via a third party, such as agencies.
5. The Festival reserves the right to check the accuracy of the information provided by the singers.
6. The application videos must be uploaded to youtube or vimeo. The applicant is free to decide whether they are shared publicly or privately. However, the Festival is entitled to download and store the videos from the platform.
7. From the applications submitted, those singers will be selected who shall come to Salzburg for a personal audition. Possible audition dates will be determined by the Festival. After all auditions have been completed (probably by the end of December 2021), the selected singers will be invited in writing to participate in the Young Singers Project.
8. The selection of the singers is at the sole discretion of the Festival and decision don’t need any particular reasoning. The Festival is also entitled to reject applications without giving reasons.
9. The duration of the project is from 1 July to 30 August 2022.
10. The selected singers will receive an honorarium as well as a travel allowance for the journey to and from the project. Accommodation will be organised and paid for by the Festival.
11. The singers declare with their application that they are available without restrictions for the duration of the project.
12. The official languages are German and English, the singers must have a basic command of at least one of these two languages.
13. With the application, the singers confirm that they have taken note of these conditions and the privacy policy.

read more collapse

Participants 2021

Opera Singer Young Singers Project
Freya Apffelstaedt
Alt | South Africa | Germany
Evgenia Asanova
Evgenia Asanova
Mezzo-soprano | Russia
Tobias Hechler Countertenor
Tobias Hechler
Countertenor | Germany
Alexander Köpeczi
Alexander Köpeczi
Bass | Romania
Miriam Kutrowatz Soprano
Miriam Kutrowatz
Soprano | Austria
Sebastian Mach Tenor
Sebastian Mach
Tenor | Poland
Liubov Medvedeva
Liubov Medvedeva
Coloratura soprano | Russia
Nakagawa Ikumi Soprano
Ikumi Nakagawa
Soprano | Japan
Gabriel Rollinson Bass-Baritone
Gabriel Rollinson
Bass-baritone | Germany | USA
Verity Wingate Soprano
Verity Wingate
Soprano | United Kingdom
Nikolai Zemlyanskhik
Nikolai Zemlyanskikh
Bariton | Russia
Ángel Macías
Mexiko | Tenor

Young Singers Project

Young Singers Project

Mit Unterstützung der KÜHNE-STIFTUNG,
Hauptsponsor der Salzburger Festspiele

Seit der Gründung des Young Singers Project 2008 ist diese hochkarätige Plattform zur Förderung des sängerischen Nachwuchses, die seit Jahren von der Kühne- Stiftung — einem der Hauptsponsoren der Salzburger Festspiele — unterstützt wird, zu einer Erfolgsgeschichte geworden. Aus hunderten Bewerbungen werden bei zahlreichen Vorsingen junge Sänger:innen ausgewählt, die im Rahmen dieses Stipendiums eine umfassende Weiterbildung erhalten und mit Festspielkünstler:innen arbeiten.

Bewerbung für das
Young Singers Project 2023

Die Altersgrenze für das Young Singers Project liegt bei 30 Jahren. Um sich für das YSP 2023 zu bewerben, füllen Sie bitte das folgende Formular bis einschließlich 31. Oktober 2022 aus:

Aufgrund der Vielzahl an Bewerbungen bitten wir um Ihr Verständnis, dass wir eine Vorauswahl für die Einladung zu den Vorsingterminen vornehmen müssen. Die Einladungen zum Vorsingen erfolgen schriftlich.

Aus datenschutzrechtlichen Gründen weisen wir Sie darauf hin, dass wir Ihre Bewerbung in Evidenz halten. Sie haben jederzeit das Recht, Widerspruch dagegen zu erheben. In diesem Fall wird Ihre Bewerbung umgehend gelöscht. Wenden Sie sich dafür bitte an: ysp@salzburgfestival.at

Teilnahmebedingungen/ Datenschutzerklärung

Für die Teilnahme am Young Singers Project gelten die folgenden Voraussetzungen und Bedingungen:

1. Die Teilnehmer:innen (fortan Sänger:innen) dürfen am 1. Juli 2023 das 30. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet haben. Das Geburtsdatum ist durch Hochladen einer Ausweiskopie im Anmeldeformular zu verifizieren.
2. Anmeldungen sind über das Online-Formular möglich, welches vollständig und wahrheitsgemäß ausgefüllt werden muss. Dabei ist aussagekräftiges Videomaterial zu inkludieren, das nicht älter als 6 Monate sein darf. Anmeldeschluss ist der 31. Oktober 2022.
3. Die im Anmeldeformular mitgeteilten Informationen / personenbezogenen Daten und übermittelten Dateien werden von den Salzburger Festspielen (fortan nur mehr „Festspiele“ genannt) zur Administration des Projekts verarbeitet und bleiben zu Dokumentations- und Archivzwecken auch über die Dauer des Projekts hinaus gespeichert. Bei Fragen zum Datenschutz steht Ihnen der Datenschutzbeauftragte der Festspiele unter datenschutz@salzburgfestival.at zur Verfügung.
4. Die Sänger:innen erklären sich bereit, unter den im Formular angegebenen Kontaktdaten für etwaige Rückfragen persönlich zur Verfügung zu stehen. Die Festspiele akzeptieren in Ausnahmefällen auch eine Kommunikation über eine dritte Partei, wie etwa Agenturen.
5. Die Festspiele behalten sich das Recht vor, die Angaben der Sänger:innen auf ihre Richtigkeit zu überprüfen.
6. Die Bewerbungsvideos sind auf youtube oder vimeo hochzuladen. Ob sie dort öffentlich oder privat geteilt werden, steht dem Bewerber frei. Die Festspiele sind aber jedenfalls berechtigt, die Videos von der Plattform herunterzuladen und zu speichern.
7. Aus den eingesandten Bewerbungen werden jene Sänger:innen ermittelt, die zu einem persönlichen Vorsingen nach Salzburg kommen sollen, wobei mögliche Vorsingtermine von den Festspielen festgelegt werden. Nach Abschluss aller Vorsingen (voraussichtlich Ende Dezember 2022) werden die ausgewählten Sänger:innen zur Teilnahme am Young Singers Project schriftlich eingeladen.
8. Die Auswahl der Sänger:innen obliegt allein den Festspielen und ihre Entscheidung muss nicht begründet werden. Die Festspiele sind weiters berechtigt, Bewerbungen ohne Angabe von Gründen abzulehnen.
9. Die Dauer des Projekts ist von 1. Juli bis 30. August 2023.
10. Die ausgewählten Sänger:innen erhalten ein Honorar sowie einen Reisekosten-zuschuss für die An- und Abreise zum Projekt. Des Weiteren wird die Unterkunft von den Festspielen organisiert und bezahlt.
11. Die Sänger:innen erklären mit der Absendung der Anmeldung, dass sie für die Dauer des Projekts uneingeschränkt verfügbar sind.
12. Die offiziellen Sprachen sind deutsch und englisch, die Sänger müssen mindestens eine dieser beiden Sprachen auf grundlegendem Niveau beherrschen.
13. Mit der Anmeldung bestätigen die Bewerber die Kenntnisnahme dieser Teilnahmebedingungen und der Datenschutzerklärung.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen 2022

Serafina Starke
Sopran | Deutschland
Ann-Kathrin Niemczyk
Sopran | Deutschland
Flore Van Meerssche
Sopran | Belgien
Martina Russomanno
Sopran | Italien
Jasmin Delfs
Koloratursopran | Deutschland
Alma Neuhaus
Mezzosopran | USA
Sofia Vinnik
Mezzosopran | Deutschland
Nicole Chirka
Mezzosopran | Ukraine
Seungwoo Simon Yang
Tenor | Südkorea
Niklas Mayer
Tenor | Deutschland
Liam James Karai
Bassbariton | Schottland/Irland/Indien
Pete Thanapat
Bassbariton | Thailand
Alexander Fritze
Bass | Deutschland
Aleksei Kulagin
Bass | Russland
Vladyslav Buialskyi
Vladyslav Buialskyi
Bassbariton | Ukraine