Biography

Manfred Honeck

Current as of August 2019

Manfred Honeck has been music director of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra since the 2008/09 season. He and the orchestra perform regularly in major European music capitals, including the Musikverein in Vienna, as well as at Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center in New York. They also appear at leading festivals such as the BBC Proms, the Musikfest Berlin, the Lucerne Festival, the Rheingau Music Festival, the Beethovenfest Bonn and the Grafenegg Festival. The close relationship with the Musikverein in Vienna will be continued during the next tour of European cities in autumn 2019.

Manfred Honeck’s successful work with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra has been extensively documented on various recordings. Following two earlier Grammy nominations, their recent recording of Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony won a Grammy in January 2018. Most recently, Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony was released in August 2019.

Born in Austria, Manfred Honeck trained in Vienna and began his career as an assistant to Claudio Abbado and artistic leader of the Vienna Jeunesse Orchestra. Early posts include music director of the Norwegian National Opera and principal guest conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic. From 2000 to 2006 he was music director of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and from 2008 to 2011 and from 2013 to 2016 principal guest conductor of the Czech Philharmonic.

From 2007 to 2011 Manfred Honeck was music director of the State Opera in Stuttgart. His other operatic appearances include the Semperoper Dresden, the Komische Oper Berlin, La Monnaie in Brussels, the Royal Danish Opera, the White Nights Festival in St Petersburg and the Salzburg Festival. He has also been artistic director of the International Concerts Wolfegg in Germany for more than 20 years.

Manfred Honeck has conducted leading orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris, the Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rome and the Vienna Philharmonic, as well as all the leading orchestras in the USA. He is a regular guest at the Verbier Festival.

Manfred Honeck has received honorary doctorates from several North American universities and was recently awarded an honorary professorship by the Austrian Federal President. He was named artist of the year by the International Classical Music Awards in 2018.

 

 

 

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Manfred Honeck Conductor
open gallery
Manfred Honeck Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Manfred Honeck

Stand: August 2019

Manfred Honeck ist seit der Saison 2008/09 Musikdirektor des Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. Seine gefeierten Konzerte und richtungsweisenden Interpretationen mit diesem Orchester erfahren international Anerkennung. Gastspiele führen ihn regelmäßig in die bedeutenden Metropolen Europas sowie an die Carnegie Hall und zum Lincoln Center in New York und zu den großen Musikfestivals, darunter die BBC Proms, das Musikfest Berlin, Lucerne Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Beethovenfest Bonn und Grafenegg Festival. Eine enge Verbindung besteht zum Musikverein in Wien, die im Rahmen der nächsten großen Tournee durch europäische Städte im Herbst 2019 weiter vertieft wird.

Manfred Honecks erfolgreiche Tätigkeit in Pittsburgh wird durch zahlreiche Einspielungen dokumentiert. Nach zwei früheren Grammy-Nominierungen wurde die Aufnahme mit Schostakowitschs Symphonie Nr. 5 im Januar 2018 mit einem Grammy als „Best Orchestral Performance“ ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt erschien im August 2019 Bruckners Symphonie Nr. 9.

Der gebürtige Österreicher absolvierte seine musikalische Ausbildung an der Hochschule für Musik in Wien. Seine Dirigentenlaufbahn begann er als Assistent von Claudio Abbado in Wien sowie als Leiter des Wiener Jeunesse Orchesters. Zu wichtigen Stationen seiner frühen Karriere zählen Zürich, Leipzig und Oslo, wo er die musikalische Leitung der Norwegischen Nationaloper übernahm und mehrere Jahre lang Erster Gastdirigent des Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra war. Von 2000 bis 2006 war er Chefdirigent des Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra Stockholm, von 2008 bis 2011 sowie erneut von 2013 bis 2016 wirkte er als Erster Gastdirigent der Tschechischen Philharmonie in Prag.

Von 2007 bis 2011 war Manfred Honeck Generalmusikdirektor der Oper Stuttgart. Gastspiele führten ihn an die Semperoper Dresden, an die Komische Oper Berlin, an die Königliche Oper in Kopenhagen, zum White Nights Festival nach Sankt Petersburg und zu den Salzburger Festspielen. Er ist darüber hinaus seit über 20 Jahren Künstlerischer Leiter der Internationalen Wolfegger Konzerte.

Als Gastdirigent stand Manfred Honeck am Pult der führenden internationalen Klangkörper, darunter das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, die Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, das Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, das London Symphony Orchestra, das Orchestre de Paris, das Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, die Wiener Philharmoniker sowie alle großen Orchester der USA. Er ist darüber hinaus gern gesehener Gast beim Verbier Festival.

Manfred Honeck wurde von mehreren US-amerikanischen Universitäten zum Ehrendoktor ernannt. Im Auftrag des österreichischen Bundespräsidenten wurde er 2016 mit dem Berufstitel Professor gewürdigt. Die Fachjury der International Classical Music Awards zeichnete ihn 2018 als „Artist of the Year“ aus.

 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Manfred Honeck Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Manfred Honeck Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen