Biography

Maxime Pascal

Current as of July 2022

Maxime Pascal is a passionate advocate of French, 20th-century and new music. His operatic projects include the premiere of Salvatore Sciarrino’s Ti vedo, ti sento, mi perdo at La Scala, Milan, and the Berlin State Opera and Luca Francesconi’s Quartett, also at La Scala. In August 2021, he conducted Alban Berg’s Lulu at the Tokyo Nikikai Opera Theatre.

He has appeared several times at the Paris Opéra, conducting Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé, Boléro and L’Heure espagnole as well as Puccini’s Gianni Schicchi. He also conducted Pelléas et Mélisande at the Malmö Opera in 2016 and made his successful BBC Proms debut in 2019 with Berlioz’s L’Enfance du Christ. In the 2021/22 season, he conducted Peter Eötvös’s opera Sleepless at the Berlin State Opera and the Grand Théâtre de Genève and the premiere of Sivan Eldar’s Like Flesh at the Opéra de Lille and the Opéra National Montpellier.

In 2008, while he was still a student, Maxime Pascal founded the orchestra Le Balcon, named after the work by Jean Genet, along with composers Pedro García-Velásquez, Juan-Pablo Carreño and Mathieu Costecalde, pianist Alphonse Cemin and sound engineer Florent Derex. The speciality of this multifaceted orchestra, playing all types of repertoire, is the complete integration of music with advanced technical sound systems.

In 2013 the Athénée Louis-Jouvet Theatre became Maxime Pascal’s artistic home, where he has conducted Le Balcon in Ariadne auf Naxos in a production by Benjamin Lazar, a video spectacle on Pierrot lunaire created by Colombian artist Luis Nieto, Britten’s The Rape of Lucretia and Peter Eötvös’s opera Le Balcon in a production by Damien Bigourdan. His fascination with the operas of Stockhausen led to a seven-year collaboration with the Philharmonie de Paris on Stockhausen’s complete Licht-cycle. Recent streamed programmes include music by Boulez, Gesualdo and Grisey, as well as Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde.

He has worked with orchestras such as the Hallé Orchestra, the Norrköping and the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestras, the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine, the Orchestre National de Lille, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra and the Tokyo Philharmonic.

Maxime Pascal and Le Balcon are artistes associés at the Singer-Polignac Foundation. The Academy of Fine Arts awarded him the music prize of the Simone and Cino Del Duca Foundation to honour his emerging career at the French Institute in November 2011. In March 2014 he became the first Frenchman to win the Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Maxime Pascal conductor
open gallery
Maxime Pascal conductor
open gallery
Maxime Pascal Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Maxime Pascal

Stand: Juli 2021

Maxime Pascal ist ein leidenschaftlicher Verfechter der französischen Musik, der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Neuen Musik.

Zu seinen Opernprojekten zählen die Premiere von Salvatore Sciarrinos Ti vedo, ti sento, mi perdo an der Mailänder Scala und der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin sowie Luca Francesconis Quartett, ebenfalls an der Scala. Ende August 2021 dirigiert er Alban Bergs Lulu am Nikikai Opera Theatre in Tokio.

Er trat mehrfach an der Pariser Opéra auf, wo er Ravels Daphnis et Chloé, Boléro, L’Heure espagnole sowie Puccinis Gianni Schicchi dirigierte. Außerdem dirigierte er 2016 Pelléas et Mélisande im Musiktheater Malmö und gab 2019 sein erfolgreiches Debüt bei den BBC Proms mit Berlioz’ L’Enfance du Christ. Zukünftige Projekte umfassen u. a. Peter Eötvös’ Oper Sleepless an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin und am Grand Théâtre de Genève sowie die Premiere von Sivan Eldars Like Flesh an der Opéra de Lille.

Noch während seines Studiums gründete Maxime Pascal 2008 gemeinsam mit den Komponisten Pedro García-Velásquez, Juan Pablo Carreño sowie Mathieu Costecalde, dem Pianisten Alphonse Cemin und dem Sounddesigner Florent Derex das Orchester Le Balcon, benannt nach einem Werk von Jean Genet. Das Repertoire des Ensembles zeichnet sich nicht nur durch stilistische Vielfalt, sondern auch durch das Einbeziehen moderner Klangkunst und akustischer Technologien aus.

Seit 2013 arbeitet er regelmäßig am Pariser Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, wo er mit Le Balcon Ariadne auf Naxos in einer Produktion von Benjamin Lazar, das Videospektakel des kolumbianischen Künstlers Luis Nieto zu Schönbergs Pierrot lunaire, Brittens The Rape of Lucretia und Peter Eötvös’ Oper Le Balcon in einer Produktion von Damien Bigourdan zur Aufführung brachte. Seine Faszination für die Opern Stockhausens führten zu einer siebenjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit der Philharmonie de Paris für Stockhausens kompletten Licht-Zyklus. Aktuelle Streaming-Programme umfassen Musik von Boulez, Gesualdo und Grisey sowie Mahlers Das Lied von der Erde.

Zu den Orchestern, mit denen er zusammengearbeitet hat, zählen u. a. das Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, das Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi, die Göteborger Symphoniker, das Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine, das Orchestre National de Lille, das Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, das Tokyo Symphony Orchestra und das Philharmonieorchester Tokio.

Maxime Pascal ist seit 2010 Resident der Fondation Singer-Polignac. 2011 wurde er mit dem Musikpreis der Fondation Simone et Cino Del Duca von der Académie des Beaux-Arts ausgezeichnet. Im März 2014 gewann er als erster Franzose den Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Maxime Pascal dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Maxime Pascal dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Maxime Pascal Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen