Biography

Camerata Salzburg

Current as of May 2024

Camerata Salzburg is one of the world’s leading chamber orchestras and is regularly invited to perform at the most important venues, from Paris to Beijing. At home, the chamber orchestra is one of the core ensembles at the Salzburg Festival and the Mozartwoche Festival and has its own subscription cycle in the Great Hall of the Mozarteum Foundation. The core of its repertory is the work of Salzburg’s genius loci Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, as well as Haydn, Beethoven and Schubert. Above all, it is the characteristic ‘Salzburg Mozart sound’ that has made Camerata a cultural ambassador and international figurehead for Mozart’s hometown for years.

In the 2023/24 season, along with appearances at the Salzburg Festival and Mozartwoche Festival, the orchestra will perform at international festivals such as the Gstaad Menuhin Festival, the Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence, the George Enescu Festival in Bucharest, the Festival of Nations, and festivals in Hong Kong and Shanghai.
When Bernhard Paumgartner founded the orchestra in 1952, the artistic credo of each individual member was clear: making music independently with a sense of community, a maxim the orchestra and its members live by today. As its greatest inspirers and most longstanding directors, Bernhard Paumgartner and Sándor Végh shaped the sound of Camerata. After Végh’s death, Roger Norrington had a lasting influence as chief conductor of the orchestra, and he remains its director laureate.

Since 2016, the musicians of Camerata have governed their own artistic direction. The orchestra is led by its two concertmasters, Gregory Ahss and Giovanni Guzzo, as firsts among equals. The ensemble has also worked with guest conductors including Franz Welser-Möst, John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Andrew Manze and Teodor Currentzis.

Over the course of more than 70 years, Camerata has made numerous recordings. Its latest CD, The Messenger, with pianist Hélène Grimaud, was released in 2020 by Deutsche Grammophon and features works by Mozart and Valentin Silvestrov.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Camerata Salzburg

Stand: Mai 2024

Die Camerata Salzburg zählt weltweit zu den führenden Kammerorchestern und erhält regelmäßig Einladungen in die bedeutendsten Spielstätten von Paris bis Peking. Hierzulande ist es eines der Stammensembles der Salzburger Festspiele und der Mozartwoche und hat einen eigenen Abonnementzyklus im Großen Saal der Stiftung Mozarteum. Im Zentrum des Repertoires stehen das Schaffen des Genius loci Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart sowie die Werke von Haydn, Beethoven und Schubert. Es ist vor allem der typische „Salzburger Mozart-Klang“, der die Camerata über viele Jahre hinweg zu einem Kulturbotschafter und internationalen Aushängeschild der Mozartstadt Salzburg werden ließ.

Neben den Salzburger Festspielen und der Mozartwoche tritt das Orchester in der Saison 2023/24 bei internationalen Festivals wie dem Gstaad Menuhin Festival, dem Festival de Pâques in Aix-en-Provence, dem George Enescu Festival in Bukarest, dem Festival der Nationen sowie in Hongkong und Shanghai auf.

Schon bei der Gründung im Jahr 1952 durch Bernhard Paumgartner war das künstlerische Credo klar: Musizieren in Eigenverantwortung mit Gemeinschaftssinn – eine Maxime, die bis heute gelebt wird. Als große Inspiratoren und langjährige Leiter prägten Bernhard Paumgartner und Sándor Végh den Klang der Camerata. Nach dessen Tod beeinflusste Roger Norrington als Chefdirigent das Orchester nachhaltig und ist heute Ehrendirigent.
Seit 2016 übernehmen die Musiker·innen der Camerata die künstlerische Leitung selbst. So wird das Orchester alternierend von seinen beiden Konzertmeistern, Gregory Ahss und Giovanni Guzzo, als jeweiligem Primus inter Pares geleitet. Darüber hinaus arbeitet das Ensemble mit Gastdirigent·innen wie Franz Welser-Möst, John Eliot Gardiner, Philippe Herreweghe, Andrew Manze und Teodor Currentzis.

Im Laufe von über 70 Jahren legte die Camerata viele Platten- und CD-Einspielungen vor. Zuletzt erschien 2020 bei der Deutschen Grammophon das Album The Messenger mit Werken von Mozart und Valentin Silvestrov gemeinsam mit der Pianistin Hélène Grimaud.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos und Videos

Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen