Kollegienkirche

About the venue

Kollegienkirche

Built between 1694 and 1707 as a university church, Salzburg owes the Kollegienkirche to the Baroque architect and sculptor Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach, who also designed the Holy Trinity Church and the Ursulinen Church in Salzburg. Max Reinhardt and Hugo von Hofmannsthal regarded the Kollegienkirche as the appropriate location for the production of their mystery play Das Salzburger Grosse Welttheater (The Great Salzburg World Theatre) in 1922. The church authorities allowed the performance to go ahead on condition that the church underwent restoration according to a schedule directly adjusted to the performance. Max Reinhardt waived his fee and Hugo von Hofmannsthal dedicated 50% of his royalties to the renovation and to the Festival House Community, so that ultimately the church was renovated with finance from Hofmannsthal’s royalties, funding from the Festival House Community and state subsidies, each contributor making up one third of the overall sum.

Nevertheless over the following years the Kollegienkirche was not used as a venue. Concerts of sacred music took place during the interwar years in the Cathedral and after 1945 in the Great Hall of the University. It was not until 1969 that a scenic performance again took place: Emilio de’ Cavalieri’s Rappresentazione di Anima e di Corpo in the adaptation by Bernhard Paumgartner. This was a kind of sacred opera that was first performed in 1600 in Rome and despite the fact that it was a spectacular production with small dance interludes it was well received by the cardinals. After Handel’s Jephtha (1984–1986) and Saul (1985), George Tabori’s interpretation of Franz Schmidt’s Das Buch mit sieben Siegeln was staged in 1987 in the Kollegienkirche. The highly controversial production was banned immediately after the premiere by order of the archbishop and the chancellor of the university, and it was then given only as a concert performance. From the 1970s the Kollegienkirche was repeatedly used for sacred and choral concerts of the Salzburg Festival.

From 1993 the Zeitfluss festival directed by Tomas Zierhofer-Kin and Markus Hinterhäuser revived the Kollegienkirche as a venue with works of contemporary music. Since 2007, when Markus Hinterhäuser took over the planning of the concert programme of the Salzburg Festival, the Kollegienkirche has become the central venue for the series known as Kontinente (Continents). In 2008, as part of this festival within a festival, Salvatore Sciarrino’s opera Luci mie traditrici was performed here in a highly acclaimed production directed and designed by the renowned visual artist Rebecca Horn.

read more collapse

How to get there

Adress & contact

Kollegienkirche
Wr.-Philharmonikergasse 2, 5020 Salzburg

Show on Google Maps >

The foyers are opened to Festival visitors one hour before the beginning of each performance.

Tel.: +43 662 8045 0
info@salzburgerfestspiele.at

Public transport

Trolley bus stop Herbert-v.-Karajan-Platz
Lines 1, 8, 10, A, 22, 23

Trip planner >

Further bus lines operate from the foot-accessible trolley bus stops Ferdinand-Hanusch-Platz and Rathaus.

Festival ticket = bus ticket
Comfortably and relaxed to the Salzburg Festival – three hours before the beginning of the performance until end of operation, your festival ticket is valid as city bus ticket in the so-called ‘core-zone’!

Parking

Underground car park Altstadtgarage A+B
Hildmannplatz 1, 5020 Salzburg

Further Information >

Opening hours: daily 0-24 h

Further possibility:
Rot-Kreuz-Parkplatz
Franz-Josef-Kai, 5020 Salzburg
Opening hours: daily 0-24 h

Seating plan

Further information

When do the doors open before a performance?
The foyers of the respective venues open one hour before the start of the performance. Doors to the performance venues themselves generally open 30 minutes before the start of the performance.    
What happens if I am late?
We recommend that you arrive at the respective venue approx. 30 minutes before the start of the performances. Despite this, should you arrive after the performance has started, please contact the staff service immediately, who will be able to assist you. We strive for the possibility of a late admittance, but there may be productions in which there is no late admittance because of excessive disturbances caused to the rest of the visitors.
Will I get a refund if a performance is canceled?
We do our utmost to ensure that all performances go ahead as planned. Nevertheless, should there be a cancellation, you will be refunded the full ticket price. Other refund claims on your part are excluded unless we are responsible for the reason for the cancellation of the event. The ticket must be redeemed within 3 months after the date of the canceled performance, and the original ticket returned. Thereafter, any refund claim expires.
May I take pictures and film performances?
All manners of audio and video recordings as well as the use of mobile phones are prohibited during the performances of the Salzburg Festival. In the case of official photography, TV and video recordings carried out by the Festival or third parties with the Festival's permission, visitors declare their consent to possible images of their person being recorded and used.  
Are there “house rules”?
The link to the current house rules can be accessed here
Are there standing room tickets?
Standing room tickets are available in the Felsenreitschule and in the Haus für Mozart. There are also standing room places at the Jedermann performances on the Domplatz. These are available starting one hour before the performance at the box office int the Franziskanergasse, but only if the performance takes place on the Domplatz (Cathedral Square). If the performance takes place in the Große Festspielhaus, no standing room tickets are available.

Venues of the Salzburg Festival

Kollegienkirche

Über die Spielstätte

Kollegienkirche

Zwischen 1694 und 1707 als Universitätskirche errichtet, verdankt Salzburg die Kollegienkirche dem Barockarchitekten und Bildhauer Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach, der in der Stadt u.a. auch die Dreifaltigkeitskirche und die Ursulinenkirche entwarf. Max Reinhardt und Hugo von Hofmannsthal sahen in der Kollegienkirche den geeigneten Ort für die Inszenierung ihres Mysterienspiels Das Salzburger große Welttheater (1922) – als Bedingung von kirchlicher Seite wurde eine Restaurierung des Gotteshauses „in unmittelbarer zeitlicher Verbindung mit der Aufführung“ gefordert. Max Reinhardt verzichtete auf sein Honorar und Hugo von Hofmannsthal widmete seine Tantiemen je zur Hälfte der Renovierung und der Festspielhaus-Gemeinde, so dass die Kirchenerneuerung letztlich zu je einem Drittel von Hofmannsthals Tantiemen, Mitteln aus der Festspielhaus-Gemeinde und Staatsgeldern finanziert wurde.

Dennoch diente die Kollegienkirche in den folgenden Jahren nicht mehr als Spielstätte. Konzerte geistlicher Musik fanden in der Zwischenkriegszeit im Dom und nach 1945 in der Aula der Universität statt. Eine szenische Aufführung gab es erst wieder 1969 mit Emilio de’ Cavalieris Rappresentazione di Anima e di Corpo in der Bearbeitung von Bernhard Paumgartner – einer Art geistlichen Oper, die im Jahre 1600 in Rom uraufgeführt worden war und bei den Kardinälen trotz spektakulärer Inszenierung mit kleinen Tanzeinlagen größten Anklang fand. Nach Händels Jephta (1984–1986) und Saul (1985) wurde 1987 George Taboris Interpretation von Franz Schmidts Das Buch mit sieben Siegeln in der Kollegienkirche inszeniert. Die sehr umstrittene Produktion wurde unmittelbar nach der Premiere auf Geheiß des Erzbischofs und des Rektors abgesetzt und nur noch konzertant dargeboten. Seit den siebziger Jahren wurde die Kollegienkirche für Kirchen- und Chorkonzerte der Salzburger Festspiele genutzt.

Das Festival Zeitfluss unter Tomas Zierhofer-Kin und Markus Hinterhäuser belebte ab 1993 die Spielstätte Kollegienkirche mit Werken zeitgenössischer Musik. Seit Markus Hinterhäuser 2007 die Konzertplanungen der Salzburger Festspiele übernommen hat, stellt die Kollegienkirche die zentrale Spielstätte der Reihe Kontinente dar. Im Jahr 2008 erfolgte im Rahmen des Kontinents Sciarrino die umjubelte Produktion von Salvatore Sciarrinos Oper Luci mie traditrici in der Regie und im Bühnenbild der großen bildenden Künstlerin Rebecca Horn.

mehr dazu collapse

So kommen Sie dorthin

Adresse & Kontakt

Kollegienkirche
Wr.-Philharmonikergasse 2, 5020 Salzburg

auf Google Maps anzeigen >

Tel.: +43 662 8045 0
info@salzburgerfestspiele.at

Öffentlich erreichbar

Obus-Haltestelle Herbert-v.-Karajan-Platz
Linie 1, 8, 10, A, 22, 23

Zum Fahrplan >

Zahlreiche weitere Buslinien verkehren von den fußläufig erreichbaren Obus-Haltestellen Ferdinand-Hanusch-Platz und Rathaus.

Festspielkarte = Busticket
Bequem und stressfrei zu den Salzburger Festspielen – drei Stunden vor Vorstellungsbeginn bis zu Betriebsende gilt Ihre Festspielkarte als Busticket!

Parkmöglichkeiten

Altstadtgarage A+B (Mönchsberg)
Hildmannplatz 1, 5020 Salzburg

Weitere Informationen >

Öffnungszeiten: täglich 0-24 Uhr

Weitere Parkmöglichkeit:
Rot-Kreuz-Parkplatz
Franz-Josef-Kai, 5020 Salzburg
Öffnungszeiten: täglich 0-24 Uhr

Fotos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Weitere Informationen

Wann beginnt der Einlass?
Die Foyers der jeweiligen Spielstätten sind ab einer Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn geöffnet. Der Zutritt zu den einzelnen Sälen wird in der Regel ab 30 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn freigegeben.
Was tue ich, wenn ich zu spät komme?
Wir empfehlen Ihnen genügend Zeit einzuplanen und ca. 30 Minuten vor den Vorstellungen in der jeweiligen Spielstätte einzutreffen. Sollte es dennoch vorkommen, dass Sie erst nach Vorstellungsbeginn eintreffen, wenden Sie sich bitte umgehend an die MitarbeiterInnen des Saaldienstes, die Sie über das weitere Vorgehen informieren werden. Wir bemühen uns um die Möglichkeit eines Nacheinlasses, es kann aber Produktionen geben, bei denen ein Nacheinlass aus künstlerischen Gesichtspunkten bzw. Störung des restlichen Publikums nicht möglich ist.
Bekomme ich mein Geld zurück, wenn eine Vorstellung abgesagt wird?
Wir unternehmen unser Möglichstes, um alle Veranstaltungen wie geplant durchzuführen. Sollte es dennoch zu dem außerordentlichen Fall einer Vorstellungs-Absage kommen, erhalten Sie den Eintrittskartenpreis zurück. Weitergehende Ansprüche Ihrerseits sind ausgeschlossen, sofern wir den Grund für den Ausfall der Veranstaltung nicht zu vertreten haben. Für die Refundierung muss die Original-Eintrittskarte binnen 3 Monaten nach dem Termin der abgesagten Vorstellung vorliegen.
Darf ich filmen und fotografieren?
Alle Arten von Bild- und Tonaufnahmen sowie die Benützung von Mobiltelefonen sind während der Aufführungen der Salzburger Festspiele untersagt. Im Falle von Foto-, Fernseh- und Videoaufnahmen durch die Festspiele oder durch berechtigte Dritte erklärt sich der Besucher mit eventuell entstehenden Aufnahmen seiner Person und der damit einhergehenden Verwertung einverstanden.
Gibt es eine Hausordnung?
Anbei finden sie den Link zur aktuell gültigen Hausordnung
Gibt es Stehplätze?
In der Felsenreitschule, im Haus für Mozart sowie am Domplatz (nur bei Schönwetter für Jedermann-Vorstellungen ab einer Stunde vor Beginn erhältlich) sind Stehplätze aufgelegt. An anderen Spielorten sind keine Stehplätze vorgesehen.

Alle Spielstätten