Perner-Insel, Hallein

About the venue

Perner-Insel, Hallein

“White Gold” (salt) was extracted for four thousand years near Hallein and this is what gave the region and the capital of the province its name. In 1989 the salt works were closed down. Various influential people involved in cultural life took the initiative to have the brine hall on the island in the middle of the River Salzach transformed into a theatre which is now used regularly by the Salzburg Festival. The conversion work in 1992 needed only an 80-day building period; six years later, new, more elaborate seating arrangements were installed as well as an interval area.

The hall is especially suitable for experimental theatre and concerts of contemporary music whereby the performance and audience areas can be adapted to the scenic concept of the production in question. In 1999 the marathon performances entitled Schlachten!, Luc Perceval’s interpretation of Shakespeare’s history plays, on the Perner Island achieved cult status.

How to get there

Adress & contact

Perner-Insel, Hallein
Pernerinsel, 5400 Hallein

Show on Google Maps >

The foyers are opened to Festival visitors one hour before the beginning of each performance.

Tel.: +43 662 8045 0
info@salzburgerfestspiele.at

Public transport

Bus stop Heidebrücke
Lines 41, 160, 170

Trip planner >

FREE BUS SHUTTLE SERVICE
Departure in front of Reichenhaller Strasse 4
(Buses depart to Perner-Insel, Hallein, 1h before the performance begins and return directly after the performance.)

Parking

Parking place Perner-Insel
Perner-Insel, 5400 Hallein

Further Information >

Opening hours: daily 0-24 h

You can purchase a parking ticket for 2€ in the courtyard. By purchasing your parking ticket there, you save yourself the way to the ticket machine and can immediately drive out the parking lot following the end of the performance.

Further information

How do I get to the Perner-Insel in Hallein?
On performance days, a free shuttle service from Salzburg to the Perner-Insel in Hallein and back is available for visitors. The bus leaves at the Reichenhaller Straße Number 4 one hour before the start of the performance. Tickets are available free of charge upon boarding the bus. The return bus leaves directly after the end of the performance. The bus departs from the frontyard of the Saline, in front of the Verdampferturm (former evapolation tower).

If you are driving, there is a fee-paying parking lot on the Perner-Insel. You can purchase a parking ticket for EUR 2, - in the courtyard. The tickets are sold next to the stall selling programmes and is signposted. By purchasing your parking ticket there, you save yourself the way to the ticket machine and can immediately drive out the parking lot following the end of the performance.
When does the box office open on the Perner-Insel?
The box office opens one hour before the start of the performance.
What food is there on offer at the Perner-Insel?
In the courtyard as well as around the Perner-Island, spoil yourself with culinary delights by local restaurateurs before the performance as well as during the performance break.

Venues of the Salzburg Festival

Perner-Insel, Hallein

Über die Spielstätte

Perner-Insel, Hallein

Nachdem vier Jahrtausende lang in Hallein Salz gewonnen wurde, das dem Land und auch der Landeshauptstadt ihren Namen gab, stellte die Saline 1989 ihren Betrieb ein. Auf Initiative verschiedener Kulturschaffender wurde die Sudhalle auf der Salzachinsel in eine Theaterspielstätte verwandelt, die inzwischen regelmäßig von den Salzburger Festspielen genutzt wird. Die Umgestaltung im Jahr 1992 beanspruchte nur achtzig Tage Bauzeit; sechs Jahre später erfolgte eine neue, großzügigere Bestuhlung sowie die Gestaltung eines Pausenraumes.

Die Halle dient insbesondere für experimentelles Theater und Konzerte zeitgenössischer Musik, wobei sich die Aufführungs- und Publikumsflächen dem szenischen Konzept der jeweiligen Produktion anpassen lassen. Kultstatus erreichten die Marathon-Aufführungen von Luk Percevals Deutung der Shakespeare’schen Rosenkriege unter dem Titel Schlachten! (1999).

So kommen Sie dorthin

Adresse & Kontakt

Perner-Insel
Perner-Insel, 5400 Hallein

auf Google Maps anzeigen >

Tel.: +43 662 8045 0
info@salzburgerfestspiele.at

Öffentlich erreichbar

Haltestelle Heidebrücke
Linie 41, 160, 170

Zum Fahrplan >

GRATIS BUS-SHUTTLE / PERNER-INSEL, HALLEIN
Anfang Reichenhaller Straße, Höhe Haus Nr. 4
(Abfahrt zur Perner-Insel: 1 Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Rückfahrt: direkt nach Vorstellungsende am Vorplatz der Saline, vor dem Verdampferturm)

Parkmöglichkeiten

Parkplatz Perner-Insel
Perner-Insel, 5400 Hallein

Weitere Informationen >

Öffnungszeiten: täglich 0-24 Uhr

An der Verkaufsstelle im Innenhof können Sie ein Ausfahrtticket zum Sonderpreis von 2€ erwerben. Sie ersparen sich somit den Weg zum Kassenautomaten und können nach der Vorstellung direkt ausfahren.

Fotos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Weitere Informationen

FAQ

Wie komme ich zur Perner-Insel nach Hallein?
Ein Gratis Bus-Shuttle steht von Salzburg nach Hallein auf die Perner-Insel und retour zur Verfügung. Der Bus fährt eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Anfang Reichenhaller Straße, auf Höhe Haus Nr. 4 ab. Kostenlose Bustickets sind im Bus erhältlich. Die Rückfahrt erfolgt direkt nach Vorstellungsende. Die Abfahrt in Hallein ist am Vorplatz der Saline, vor dem Verdampferturm.

Das Parken auf dem Parkplatz der Perner-Insel ist kostenpflichtig. Sie können ein Ausfahrtticket um EUR 2,- im Innenhof erwerben. Die Verkaufsstelle ist ausgeschildert und befindet sich neben dem Programm-Verkauf. Sie ersparen sich somit den Weg zum Kassenautomaten und können nach der Vorstellung direkt ausfahren.
Wann öffnet die Vorstellungskasse auf der Perner-Insel?
Die Vorstellungskasse öffnet eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn.
Gibt es Gastronomieangebote auf der Perner-Insel?
Im Innenhof wie auch um die Perner-Insel werden Sie vor der Vorstellung sowie in der Pause kulinarisch von lokalen Gastronomen verwöhnt.

Alle Spielstätten