Salzburg Festival 2020

Summer Festival

25.5.2020
The 2020 Salzburg Festival will take place from 1 to 30 August, but in a modified and shortened form, due to coronavirus containment measures.
This decision was made by the Salzburg Festival’s Supervisory Board in its special meeting on Monday afternoon.
The Festival directorate of Helga Rabl-Stadler, Markus Hinterhäuser and Lukas Crepaz as well as Bettina Hering, director of drama, and Florian Wiegand, director of concerts, presented a draft programme covering 30 days as well as the outline of a security concept for all performance venues.

Half an hour before the meeting of the Supervisory Board, Minister of Health Rudolf Anschober and Undersecretary of State for Culture Andrea Mayer presented the decree determining important parameters for all presenters in Austria. This gives the Salzburg Festival concrete indications of how to proceed.

Landeshauptmann Wilfried Haslauer commented: “It is a great relief that this decree has provided greater clarity for all presenters of cultural events. This enables us to present the Festival, which is the artistic and economic motor of our region, after all. Fortunately, it also gives the many smaller initiatives which constitute the cultural diversity of our State a chance.”

The decree and the decision of the Supervisory Board have enabled the Festival directorate to announce the decision on the presentation of the Festival, originally scheduled for 30 May, at this earlier point in time.
The summer of 2020 will not see the implementation of the centenary programme announced with such joy and received with such empathy by the audience throughout the world this past autumn. However, it will be possible to implement a programme which is artistically meaningful and economically justifiable. Instead of 200 events over 44 days at 16
performance venues, there will be approximately 90 performances over 30 days at a maximum of 6 venues.

All the productions of the anniversary programme which cannot be shown in 2020 will be postponed to 2021. The centenary programme is to begin with the opening of the State Exhibition at the end of July 2020 and end with the closing of the Festival on 31 August 2021.
Of course, the centenary of the founding play Jedermann will be celebrated on 22 August 2020. The details of the modified programme will be presented by Artistic Director Markus Hinterhäuser at the beginning of June.

After the cancellation of the Salzburg Whitsun Festival and the refunding this necessitated, the Ticket Office of the Festival now faces an even greater challenge. At the beginning of this year, the Festival was proud to celebrate a new record in ticket sales. 180,000 tickets with a total value of 24.5 million Euros have already been sold.

The modified programme will feature completely different dates and a significantly reduced number of performances, which now forces the Festival to reverse and refund its entire ticket sales. When assigning new tickets, those in possession of tickets for the original programme will have priority. All customers will be informed personally and in detail on the procedure during the coming days.

Markus Hinterhäuser: “It pains me to be forced to cancel so many artists’ appearances for this year, as we had developed special programme constellations with many of them. Still, I am glad to have the opportunity to send a vibrant and powerful signal for the arts with this new Festival programme.”

read more collapse

15.5.2020
The Salzburg Festival’s directorate – President Helga Rabl-Stadler, Artistic Director Markus Hinterhäuser and Executive Director Lukas Crepaz – comments on initial announcements by Vice Chancellor Werner Kogler and Federal Minister Rudolf Anschober, according to which regulations for cultural events are to be gradually loosened in significant ways from June onwards. According to their statements, in August events with up to 1,000 audience members may be possible if the presenter in question presents an adequate security concept.

The Salzburg Festival is pleased that after long weeks without live events, this means that artists can once again invite their audiences to experience art together.

What exactly will become possible can only be explored after the ordinance has been published. After all, the old saying that “the devil is in the detail” applies particularly to the current situation. In particular, clarification is needed on the conditions under which stage rehearsals and performances by orchestras and choruses will be permissible.

The only thing that is certain is that the new health regulations mean that the Festival cannot take place as planned before the outbreak of the pandemic, both in terms of programming and duration. Therefore, the Festival will present an alternative for this extremely challenging year to the Supervisory Board on 25 May 2020. A modified Festival seems possible.

The Festival aims to publish the newly arranged programme for the summer in early June. Details on the further procedure for tickets previously purchased will be communicated to all our customers shortly and will also be published on our website.

This demonstrates that the directorate was justified to pursue a strategy of not cancelling the Festival too early, but waiting and observing the development of the pandemic, setting 30 May as the goal for decision-making.

The Festival is optimistic that despite the coronavirus, it will be able to send a strong signal for the power of the arts, especially in difficult times.

read more collapse

Videos

20. May 2020
Statement Helga Rabl-Stadler
A modified festival seems possible, but the devil is in the details. Learn more in the statement of Festival President Helga Rabl-Stadler.

Corona News

15 May 2020
A modified Festival seems possible. Learn more

6 April 2020

As announced in the press conference of the Austrian government on April 6, 2020, it is necessary to prohibit performances of all kind in Austria until the end of June, in order not to imperil the containment of the coronavirus, which has been successful so far.

To our deep regret, we are thereby also prohibited from presenting the performances of this year’s Whitsun Festival.

The Salzburg Festival considers it its responsibility to do everything it can to prevent the coronavirus from spreading further:

  •  Plan for the Salzburg Festival
    1.) Since 16 March 2020: All offices and workshops of the Salzburg Festival will remain closed for the time being until 13 April 2020.
    2.) By 30 May 2020: Decision whether the Summer Festival will take place.
  • Our ticket office for personal customer service is open during the usual opening hours
  • Of course our online ticket shop is available 24 hrs at www.salzburgfestival.at and the ticket office team can be contacted by phone (+43-662-8045-500) and e-mail (info@salzburgfestival.at) as usual from Monday to Friday from 9:00 – 12:30 and 13:00 – 16:30.
  • Public guided tours and group tours at the Festival Halls are not taking place until further notice.
  • The planned start of direct ticket sales for the Summer Festival on 27.03.2020 will be postponed to 14.04.2020 and will then be handled exclusively via our online ticket shop.
  • The Salzburg State Exhibition “Great World Theatre – 100 Years Salzburg Festival” cannot start on the scheduled date (25.4.). The artistic intervention “The Dream of a Fairy Temple” will also be postponed indefinitely.

We understand the general confusion and insecurity and have therefore added a page to our website with Frequently Asked Questions and information on the coronavirus.

Questions & Answers

If a performance is cancelled, will my money be refunded?
In the event that a performance is cancelled, ticket holders receive a refund of the ticket price, regardless of the reason for the cancellation. This is part of our General Terms and Conditions and would also apply to cancellations of performances due to the coronavirus.
How is the Salzburg Festival preparing for the coronavirus?
The Salzburg Festival engages in continuous exchange with the relevant authorities. In addition, a task force led by a physician has been established. This task force has developed crisis plans in case the virus spreads further as well as prevention plans.

So far, the following measures have been implemented:

- As a contribution to the urgently needed containment of the coronavirus, we have decided to close all offices and workshops of the Salzburg Festival for the time being until 14.04.2020 We hope this will help us to celebrate our 100th anniversary. Thank you for your understanding.

- Naturally, we, the Salzburg Festival, want to take responsibility for our customers, our staff and our fellow citizens of Salzburg and make every contribution to preventing the coronavirus from spreading further: we are following the orders and recommendations of the Austrian government and are in permanent contact with the relevant authorities.

- We keep our ticket office closed for personal customer service, until End of April. Of course our online ticketshop is available 24 hrs at www.salzburgfestival.at and the ticket office team can be contacted by phone (+43-662-8045-500) and e-mail (info@salzburgfestival.at). Please find the opening hours here.

- In addition, no public guided tours and group tours will take place at the Festival Halls.

- Information and recommendations for all employees regarding hygiene, travel, actions to take in case of illness

- Training of sales and front-of-house staff regarding information for the public, behaviour in cases of crisis

- Training of cleaning staff: special and regular cleaning of all surfaces, handrails, bars, toilets, dressing rooms, tables, etc… at all Festival theatres and offices.

- Provision of disinfectant: all restrooms and gastronomic areas as well as crucial entrance and exit points have been fitted with disinfectant dispensers

- Regular exchange of information with all artists and ensembles and, if necessary, support for them as prevention measures take effect

- Establishment of one central information point for all customers and visitors to the Salzburg Festival:
Tel.: +43-662-8045-500
E-Mail: info@salzburgfestival.at
https://www.salzburgerfestspiele.at/en/faq-coronavirus
Where can I find information?
As a contribution to the urgently needed containment of the coronavirus, we have decided to close all offices and workshops of the Salzburg Festival for the time being until 13.04.20.

We hope this will help us to celebrate our 100th anniversary with Whitsun and summer festivals. Thank you for your understanding.

In addition, news will always be published on our website:
https://www.salzburgerfestspiele.at/en/faq-coronavirus
As well as on our Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/salzburg.festival/

The State of Salzburg has established a website especially for this issue. Here is the link:
https://www.salzburg.gv.at/themen/gesundheit/corona-virus/corona-english

The State of Salzburg also informs its citizens via Facebook:
www.facebook.com/LandSalzburg

General information on the coronavirus in Austria:
https://www.sozialministerium.at/en.html
Are there currently cases of the coronavirus in Salzburg?
Current information on the spread of the coronavirus in Salzburg can be found here: http://www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-english
Can I still travel to Salzburg?
For travel matters please go to the information site of the Federal Ministry
Are there restrictions on public life in Salzburg and the State of Salzburg?
There are restrictrions on public life in Austria. More Information: https://www.sozialministerium.at/en.html
What should I do if I suspect I may be infected?
Should you seriously suspect that you or someone in your close proximity might be infected and you are within Austria, please immediately contact the Health Services by calling the number 1450. Please make sure to make initial contact only by phone. Outside of Austria, please contact the local health authorities.
How can I protect myself from infection?
The links below offer an overview of how to prevent infection with the coronavirus – but of course also with other diseases, such as seasonal flu. www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-virus resp. www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-english  
I still have a question
We could not answer your question? Our ticket office will be happy to help you.

Salzburger Festspiele 2020

Sommerfestspiele

25.5.2020
Die Salzburger Festspiele werden 2020 vom 1. August bis 30. August stattfinden, allerdings wegen der Corona-Sicherheitsmaßnahmen in modifizierter und verkürzter Form.
Das beschloss das Kuratorium der Salzburger Festspiele in seiner außerordentlichen Sitzung am Montagnachmittag.

Das Festspieldirektorium Helga Rabl-Stadler, Markus Hinterhäuser und Lukas Crepaz sowie Bettina Hering als Chefin des Schauspiels und Florian Wiegand als Verantwortlicher für die Konzerte präsentierten ein Programmraster für die geplanten 30 Tage, sowie die Grundlinien eines Sicherheitskonzepts für alle Spielstätten.

Eine halbe Stunde vor Beginn der Kuratoriumssitzung wurde von Gesundheitsminister Rudolf Anschober und Kulturstaatssekretärin Andrea Mayer jene Verordnung präsentiert, mit der wichtige Parameter für alle Veranstalter festgelegt wurden. Dies gibt nun auch den Festspielen konkrete Anhaltspunkte für die weitere Vorgangsweise.

Dazu Landeshauptmann Wilfried Haslauer: „Wir sind sehr erleichtert, dass durch diese Verordnung mehr Klarheit für alle Kulturveranstalter geschaffen wurde. Das macht Festspiele, die künstlerisch und wirtschaftlich Motor unserer Region sind, doch möglich. Das gibt aber glücklicherweise auch den vielen kleineren Initiativen eine Chance, die die kulturelle Vielfalt unseres Bundeslandes ausmachen.“

Die Verordnung sowie der Beschluss des Kuratoriums ermöglichen es dem Festspieldirektorium die erst für 30. Mai angekündigte Entscheidung über die Abhaltung der Festspiele bereits auf den heutigen Tag vorzuverlegen.

Es wird zwar 2020 nicht jenes Jubiläumsprogramm verwirklicht werden, das vergangenen Herbst mit so viel Freude und Empathie in aller Welt angekündigt und vom Publikum auch aufgenommen wurde. Aber es soll gelingen, ein künstlerisch sinnvolles und wirtschaftlich vertretbares Programm zu realisieren. Statt 200 Vorstellungen an 44 Tagen an 16 Spielstätten wird es etwa 90 Vorstellungen an 30 Tagen auf höchstens 6 Spielstätten geben.

Alle Produktionen des Jubiläumsprogramms, die 2020 nicht zur Aufführung kommen, sollen 2021 gezeigt werden. Das 100 Jahr Programm soll quasi mit der Eröffnung der Landesausstellung Ende Juli 2020 beginnen und erst im Jahr darauf am 31. August 2021 enden.

Die 100 Jahre des Gründungsstücks Jedermann sollen selbstverständlich am 22. August 2020 gefeiert werden. Das modifizierte Programm wird Intendant Markus Hinterhäuser im Detail Anfang Juni vorstellen.

Das Kartenbüro steht nach der Absage der Pfingstfestspiele und der dadurch notwendigen Rückabwicklung vor einer noch größeren Herausforderung. Die Festspiele durften sich zu Beginn dieses Jahres über einen neuen Rekord beim Kartenverkauf freuen. 180.000 Karten im Wert von 24,5 Mio. Euro wurden bereits verkauft.

Das modifizierte Programm mit völlig anderen Terminen und einer deutlich reduzierten Anzahl von Vorstellungen zwingt die Festspiele nun zur Rückabwicklung des gesamten Verkaufs. Bei der Vergabe der neuen Karten werden jene Vorrang haben, die ursprünglich bereits Karten besaßen. Über das konkrete Procedere werden die Kunden in den nächsten Tagen persönlich informiert.
Markus Hinterhäuser: „Es schmerzt mich, so vielen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern für dieses Jahr absagen zu müssen, mit denen wir besondere Programmkonstellationen erdacht haben. Dennoch freue ich mich, dass wir doch die Möglichkeit bekommen, mit diesen Festspielen ein kraftvolles Zeichen für die Kunst zu setzen.“

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

15.5. 2020
Das Direktorium der Salzburger Festspiele, Präsidentin Helga Rabl-Stadler, Intendant Markus Hinterhäuser und Kaufmännischer Direktor Lukas Crepaz, nimmt zu den ersten Ankündigungen von Vizekanzler Werner Kogler und Bundesminister Rudolf Anschober Stellung, wonach es ab Juni schrittweise zu maßgeblichen Lockerungen der Vorschriften für Kulturveranstaltungen kommen soll. Demnach sollen im August Veranstaltungen mit bis zu 1.000 Zuschauern möglich werden, wenn der betreffende Veranstalter ein adäquates Sicherheitskonzept vorlegen kann.

Die Festspiele freuen sich, dass dadurch nach langen Wochen ohne Live-Erlebnisse Künstlerinnen und Künstler das Publikum wieder zu gemeinsamen Kunsterlebnissen einladen können.
Was allerdings wirklich möglich sein wird, kann erst nach Vorliegen der Verordnung ausgelotet werden. Denn das Sprichwort „Der Teufel steckt im Detail“ trifft auf die jetzige Situation besonders zu. Es muss insbesondere geklärt werden, unter welchen Bedingungen szenische Proben und Auftritte von Orchestern und Chören ermöglicht werden.

Sicher ist aber, dass es aufgrund der neuen Gesundheitsvorschriften die Festspiele nicht in dem programmatischen und zeitlichen Umfang, wie vor Ausbruch der Pandemie vorgesehen, geben kann. Die Festspiele werden daher am 25. Mai 2020 dem Kuratorium eine Alternative für dieses extrem fordernde Jahr vorlegen. Modifizierte Festspiele scheinen möglich.

Das neu zusammengestellte Programm für den Sommer soll im Juni veröffentlicht werden. Details zum weiteren Prozedere der bereits erworbenen Karten werden in Kürze an alle Kunden kommuniziert, sowie auf unserer Website bekanntgegeben.

Es zeigt sich, wie richtig die Strategie des Direktoriums war, die Festspiele nicht vorzeitig abzusagen, sondern die Entwicklung der Pandemie abzuwarten und sich selbst den 30. Mai als Zielpunkt für die Entscheidung zu setzen.
Die Festspiele sind guten Mutes, dass sie trotz Corona ein Zeichen für die Kraft der Kunst gerade in schwierigen Zeiten setzen können.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Videos

20. Mai 2020
Statement Helga Rabl-Stadler
Modifizierte Festspiele scheinen möglich, der Teufel steckt im Detail. Erfahren Sie mehr im Statement unserer Festspielpräsidentin Helga Rabl-Stadler.

Aktuelles zu Corona

15. Mai 2020
Modifizierte Festspiele scheinen möglich. Alle Infos dazu finden Sie hier

6. April 2020
Wie in der Pressekonferenz der Bundesregierung vom 6. April 2020 verkündet, ist es aber, um die bisherigen Erfolge zur Eindämmung des Coronavirus nicht zu gefährden, notwendig Veranstaltungen aller Art bis Ende Juni in Österreich zu untersagen.

Daher ist auch die Abhaltung der diesjährigen Pfingstfestspiele zu unserem großen Bedauern untersagt.

Darüber hinaus gilt:
Die Salzburger Festspiele wollen weiterhin Ihre Verantwortung wahrnehmen und alles dazu beitragen, dass sich das Coronavirus nicht weiterverbreitet:

  • Stufenplan für die Salzburger Festspiele
    1.) Seit 16. März 2020: Alle Büros und Werkstätten der Salzburger Festspiele bleiben vorerst bis zum 13.04.2020 geschlossen.
    2.) Bis 30. Mai 2020: Entscheidung ob Sommerfestspiele stattfinden
  • Unser Kartenbüro (Salzburger Festspiele Pfingsten & Sommer) am Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 11 ist für den persönlichen Kundenverkehr wieder zu den gewohnten Öffnungszeiten erreichbar
  • Unser Online-Ticketshop www.salzburgfestival.at sowie unser Kartenbüro-Team, telefonisch unter +43-662-8045-500 und per E-Mail info@salzburgfestival.at, steht Ihnen selbstverständlich weiterhin zu den bekannten Öffnungszeiten, Montag bis Freitag 9:00 -12:30 und 13:00 – 16:30, zur Verfügung.
  • Der für den 27.03.2020 geplante Beginn des Kartendirektverkaufs für die Sommerfestspiele wird auf den 14.04.2020 verschoben und wird dann ausschließlich über unseren Online-Ticketshop abgewickelt.
  • Vorerst finden keine öffentlichen Führungen und Gruppenführungen durch die Festspielhäuser statt.
  • Die Salzburger Landesausstellung „Großes Welttheater – 100 Jahre Salzburger Festspiele“ kann nicht zum vorgesehenen Zeitpunkt (25.4.) starten.
    Ebenso wird die künstlerische Intervention „Der Traum von einem Feentempel“ auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben.

Wir verstehen die allgemeine Verunsicherung und haben daher eine eigene Seite mit häufigen Fragen, Informationen über das Coronavirus eingerichtet.

Fragen & Antworten

Bekomme ich im Falle einer Vorstellungs-Absage einer Veranstaltung mein Geld zurück?
Im Fall einer Vorstellungs-Absage erhalten Sie als Karteninhaber unabhängig vom Grund der Absage den Eintrittskartenpreis zurück. Dies ist in unseren AGBs festgehalten und würde auch bei einer Vorstellungs-Absage im Zusammenhang mit dem Coronavirus zutreffen.
Welche Vorkehrungen treffen die Salzburger Festspiele bezüglich des Coronavirus?
Die Salzburger Festspiele sind im ständigen Austausch mit den zuständigen Behörden. Zudem wurde eine Arbeitsgruppe unter ärztlicher Leitung eingerichtet. Diese hat sowohl Krisenpläne bei einer weiteren Ausbreitung des Virus sowie auch Pläne zur Prävention ausgearbeitet.

Ad hoc wurden Anfang März folgende Maßnahmen in Kraft gesetzt:

- Alle Büros und Werkstätten der Salzburger Festspiele bleiben vorerst bis zum 13.04.2020 geschlossen.

- Wir schließen unser Kartenbüro (Salzburger Festspiele Pfingsten & Sommer) am Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 11 für den persönlichen Kundenverkehr voraussichtlich bis Ende April.

- Unser Online-Ticketshop www.salzburgfestival.at sowie unser Kartenbüro-Team, telefonisch unter +43-662-8045-500 und per E-Mail info@salzburgfestival.at, steht Ihnen selbstverständlich zur Verfügung. Öffnungszeiten des Kartenbüros erfahren Sie hier.

- Zudem finden vorerst keine öffentlichen Führungen und Gruppenführungen durch die Festspielhäuser statt.

- Der für den 27.03.2020 geplante Beginn des Kartendirektverkaufs für die Sommerfestspiele ist auf den 14.04.2020 verschoben.

- Die Salzburger Landesausstellung „Großes Welttheater – 100 Jahre Salzburger Festspiele“ kann nicht zum vorgesehenen Zeitpunkt (25.4.) starten. Ebenso wird die künstlerische Intervention „Der Traum von einem Feentempel“ auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben.

Im Falle, dass wieder Veranstaltungen stattfinden können:
- Information und Handlungsempfehlungen für alle Mitarbeiter bezüglich: Hygiene, Reisen, Verhalten im Krankheitsfall

- Schulung unseres Publikums- und Verkaufspersonals bezüglich: Informationsverhalten gegenüber dem Publikum, Verhalten im Krisenfall

- Schulung unseres Reinigungspersonals: Spezielle und regelmäßige Reinigung aller Flächen, Handläufe, Bars, Toiletten, Garderoben, Tische, etc… in allen Festspielhäusern und Büros.

- Ausstattung mit Desinfektionsmitteln: Alle Sanitär- und Gastronomiebereich sowie neuralgische Ein- und Austrittspunkte werden mit Desinfektionsmittel-Spendern ausgestatte.

- Regelmäßiger Austausch mit allen Künstlern und Ensembles und ggf. Unterstützung dieser bei präventiven Maßnahmen
Wo kann ich mich informieren ?
Als Beitrag zur dringend notwendigen Eindämmung des Coronavirus haben wir uns dazu entschlossen, alle Büros und Werkstätten der Salzburger Festspiele vorerst bis zum 13.04.20 zu schließen.

Wir hoffen, damit dazu beizutragen, unser 100-Jahr Jubiläum mit Pfingst- und Sommerfestspielen feiern zu können. Danke für Ihr Verständnis.

Wir informieren über Neuigkeiten auf unserer Website
https://www.salzburgerfestspiele.at/faq-coronavirus
Sowie auf unserer Facebook-Seite: https://www.facebook.com/salzburg.festival/

Das Land Salzburg informiert stets aktuell auf einer eigens für dieses Thema eingerichteten Seite. Der Link: www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-virus

Auch auf Facebook hält das Land Salzburg seine Bürgerinnen und Bürger auf dem Laufenden: www.facebook.com/LandSalzburg

Allgemeine Informationen zum Coronavirus in Österreich:
https://www.ages.at/themen/krankheitserreger/coronavirus/
https://www.sozialministerium.at/Informationen-zum-Coronavirus/Coronavirus---Haeufig-gestellte-Fragen.html
Gibt es aktuelle Coronavirus-Fälle in Salzburg?
Aktuelle Infos über die Ausbreitung in Salzburg entnehmen Sie bitte hier: www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-virus
Kann ich jetzt noch anreisen?
Bitte beachten Sie die Reisebestimmungen des Bundesministeriums.
Ist das öffentliche Leben in Salzburg und dem Salzburger Land beeinträchtigt?
Es kommt derzeit in ganz Österreich zu Einschränkungen des öffentlichen Lebens in vielen Bereichen. Nähere Informationen:
https://www.oesterreich.gv.at/ 
Wie verhalte ich mich bei Verdacht auf eine Infektion?
Sollten Sie bei Ihnen selbst oder in ihrem unmittelbaren Umfeld den seriösen Verdacht einer Infektion haben, wenden Sie sich bitte unmittelbar und ausschließlich telefonisch innerhalb Österreichs an die Gesundheitsberatung unter der Nummer 1450. Außerhalb Österreichs wenden Sie sich bitte an die zuständige Gesundheitsbehörde.
Wie schütze ich mich vor einer Infektion?
Einen schnellen Überblick, wie man eine Infektion mit dem Coronavirus – aber natürlich auch andere Krankheiten wie etwa der saisonalen Grippe – vermeidet, bieten beispielsweise die Seiten des Land Salzburg: www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-virus bzw. www.salzburg.gv.at/corona-english
Ich habe noch eine Frage
Wir konnten Ihre Frage nicht beantworten? Bitte wenden Sie sich an unser Kartenbüro.