Zum Fest

Centenary Events

100 years young was to be the guiding motto for a packed programme of celebrations to mark the centenary of the Salzburg Festival in summer 2020. However, the pandemic intervened and led to the most momentous challenge that has faced our society since the end of World War II. Never before has cultural life been so severely restricted in democratic countries during times of peace. In light of the crisis, the Festival took the decision to realize a modified and shortened version of the centenary programme. As it did in its inaugural season 100 years ago, the Festival was able to set another bold example for the arts. The projects that could not take place in the 2020 centenary will now be realized in summer 2021 — thereby extending the Festival’s centennial season until autumn 2021.

Salzburg City

Salzburg Festival Opening Party

The traditional celebration in the magnificent setting of Salzburg’s old town, which was postponed last year, will now again be held at the beginning of the 2021 Salzburg Festival. In our Festival venues, in the churches and on the city squares, artists will entice onlookers to watch and listen.

Altstadt Salzburg · 18 July 2021

Tickets available free of charge from 3 July in the Salzburg Festival SHOP · TICKETS, Hofstallgasse 1

Felsenreitschule

Speeches about the century

From the beginning, the Salzburg Festival had an extraordinary mission: to create meaning in times of crisis. The Festival’s 2021 programme will again feature lectures about the century, devoted to exploring the question of whether the belief in the power of the arts — of which our founding fathers were convinced — still endows the Festival with meaning in our changed times. In doing so, the lectures will invoke the world of yesterday, today and tomorrow.

The participants and the 2021 dates will be announced later.

Watch the Speeches about the century 2020 stream here. The streams are available in German only.

DAS KINO

Theater in the cinema

Theater in the cinema — a journey through the filmmaking world of the Festival’s co-founder Max Reinhardt as well as the family of his wife Helene Thimig — began in summer 2020 and will be continued in August 2021. A wonderful opportunity to rediscover cinematic history from 1910 onwards and Reinhardt’s key actors.

July /August 2021 · In cooperation with the Filmarchiv Austria

Remembering Festival Stories

Festival Dialogues

‘More than ever before, putting on a festival in the 21st century means confronting the realities of a rapidly changing world.’ — A special edition of the Festival Dialogues (in memoriam Michael Fischer) will be revived on the occasion of our centenary, providing critical discussion about the phenomenon of the Festival and exploring the question of whether theatre can still be a utopian place and the arts a counterpoint
to crisis.

Location to be announced later · 26 and 27 August 2021

Art & Ethos

Panel Discussion

In light of its centenary, the Salzburg Festival engaged with the ongoing debate about the painter and graphic artist Poldi Wojtek. In 1928, Wojtek designed an emblem for the Salzburg Festival that has since — with the exception of the Nazi era — served as the Festival’s logo. The tension between the moral responsibility of artists and the artistic merit of their work is forcefully illustrated by the figure of Poldi Wojtek, who later ingratiated herself with the Nazi regime. In a panel discussion we want to drive forward the extensive debate about how artworks of high aesthetic quality by politically questionable artists should be evaluated.

Grosse Universitätsaula · 12 August 2021
The participants will be announced later

In memoriam Gerard Mortier

Mortier Award

The Mortier Award for music theatre and the Mortier Next Generation Award were established to draw inspiration for music theatre’s present and future from the legacy of Gerard Mortier, the opera and festival administrator who died in 2014. The award honours figures who, like Mortier, pursue a historically informed and interdisciplinary approach to renewing the art form of opera for today’s world. Previous recipients of the Award include Gerard Mortier himself and Markus Hinterhäuser. The Mortier Next Generation Award was first presented in 2019 and will be sponsored by the Friends of the Salzburg Festival in 2021. On the occasion of its centenary, the Salzburg Festival — where many ideas promoted during Gerard Mortier’s artistic directorship (1991—2001) are still relevant today — and the ‘Friends’ Association are supporting the Mortier
Awards and will name the next laureates as part of the Festival’s 2021 programme.

The award winners and the place and date of the ceremony will be announced later.

Artistic Interventions on Festival Theatres Never Built

The Dream of a Fairytale Temple

Numerous plans for a festival theatre were mooted over the last 130 years and went unrealized. For the centenary of the Salzburg Festival, four of these unbuilt architectural designs were made visible in public spaces. Three of these artistic projects can be experienced and explored until the end of August 2021: Esther Stocker’s Three-Part Wrinkle Sculpture, conceived for the Mönchsberg; Werner Feiersinger’s Panel, 2019/20, an installation for the Kapuzinerberg; and Isa Rosenberger’s Portal Frame, created for the Mirabellgarten. The projects document how the festival theatres would have made their mark on the city or its surrounding countryside.
(Concept: Norbert Mayr)

Mönchsberg, Kapuzinerberg, Mirabellgarten
until End of August 2021

The Salzburg Festival Centenary · State Exhibition

Great World Theatre

The state exhibition Great World Theatre — 100 Years of the Salzburg Festival can be visited until the end of October 2021. The rich history of the Salzburg Festival and its artists — shown through video and audio material, letters, photos, costumes and stage props — is on display in the Neue Residenz. We have brought our archives to life and aim to engage visitors with artistic interventions, acted-out stories, film screenings and much more.
The festival ticket is valid as a ticket for the state exhibition.

26 July 2020 to 31 October 2021, State Exhibition at the Salzburg Museum – Neue Residenz

A Dialogue with the Visual Arts

The Centenary Poster Series of the Salzburg Festival

A poster series commemorating the Salzburg Festival’s centenary can be viewed since Friday and through the end of August on the Makartsteg bridge in Salzburg. Five international artists with a close connection to the Salzburg Festival have designed one poster each, exploring the founding idea of the Festival. “To awaken the ear, the eyes, human thought and intelligence,” this quote by the composer Luigi Nono could be called an imaginary inscription on the posters. The Spanish sculptor and artist Jaume Plensa, the German painter and sculptor Anselm Kiefer, the American stage director, playwright, painter, lighting designer, stage designer, video artist and architect Robert Wilson, the South African artist William Kentridge and the Austrian artist Eva Schlegel have each designed one poster.

The Salzburg Festival has always had a strong connection with the visual arts. This dialogue between the dramatic and the visual arts was continuously intensified from the 1950s onwards. Suffice it to mention Die Zauberflöte of 1955, to which Oskar Kokoschka contributed the set designs. Fritz Wotruba designed the sets for Oedipus in 1965. Jean Tinguely and Jean-Paul Chambas also designed major productions for the Salzburg Festival. Under the artistic leadership of Gerard Mortier, this dialogue with the visual arts grew even more intense, including Achim Freyer, Jörg Immendorff and Bob Wilson – and it continues to contribute to the dialogue of the arts to this day: Daniel Richter, Jonathan Meese, Rebecca Horn, Alfred Hrdlicka, Shirin Neshat and William Kentridge are only a few of the luminaries involved. Therefore, the idea of inviting outstanding artists to design posters for the Festival’s centenary suggested itself.

read more collapse

Zum Fest

100 Jahre Salzburger Festspiele

100 Jahre jung — unter diesem Motto sollte im Sommer 2020 das 100-Jahr-Jubiläum der Salzburger Festspiele mit zahlreichen Fest-Programmen begangen werden. Dann jedoch stellte die Pandemie die Gesellschaft vor die größte Herausforderung seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Noch nie zuvor wurde das Kulturleben in Friedenszeiten und in demokratischen Ländern so einschneidend eingeschränkt. In dieser krisenhaften Zeit haben die Festspiele die Entscheidung getroffen, das Jubiläumsprogramm in modifizierter und verkürzter Form durchzuführen. Damit gelang es, 100 Jahre nach der Gründung wieder ein mutiges Zeichen für die Kunst zu setzen. Jene Projekte, die im Jubiläumsjahr 2020 nicht zur Ausführung kamen, werden nun im Sommer 2021 realisiert — und damit wird die Jubiläumssaison bis in den Herbst 2021 hinein verlängert.

Salzburg Stadt

Fest zur Festspieleröffnung

Im zweiten Jubiläumssommer wollen wir auch das traditionelle Fest zur Eröffnung der Salzburger Festspiele in der prächtigen Kulisse der Salzburger Altstadt wieder feiern. In unseren Festspielstätten, in den Kirchen und auf den Plätzen animieren Künstlerinnen und Künstler zum Zuschauen und Zuhören.

Altstadt Salzburg · 18. Juli 2021

Kostenlose Zählkarten ab 3. Juli im Salzburger Festspiele SHOP · KARTEN / TICKETS, Hofstallgasse 1

Felsenreitschule

Reden über das Jahrhundert

Die Salzburger Festspiele hatten von Beginn an eine außerordentliche Mission: Sinn zu stiften in einer Zeit der Krise. Reden über das Jahrhundert bereichern auch 2021 das Programm der Salzburger Festspiele und gehen der Frage nach, ob der Glaube an die Kraft der Kunst, von der unsere Gründerväter überzeugt waren, den Festspielen auch in einem veränderten Jetzt noch Sinn gibt. Sie beschwören die Welt von gestern, von heute und von morgen.

Die Teilnehmer und die Termine 2021 werden später bekannt gegeben.

Sehen Sie sich hier die Reden über das Jahrhundert 2020 im Stream an.

DAS KINO

Theater im Kino

Theater im Kino — jener im Sommer 2020 begonnene Streifzug durch den Filmkosmos von Festspielgründer Max Reinhardt sowie der Familie seiner Ehefrau Helene Thimig erfährt im August 2021 seine Fortsetzung: eine herrliche Möglichkeit, die Filmgeschichte ab 1910 sowie Reinhardts zentrale Darstellerpersönlichkeiten wiederzuentdecken.

Juli /August 2021 · In Kooperation mit dem Filmarchiv Austria

(Festspiel-)Geschichte erinnern

Festspiel-Dialoge

„Festspiele im 21. Jahrhundert zu veranstalten bedeutet mehr denn je, sich den Realitäten einer sich in dramatischem Tempo verändernden Welt zu stellen.“ — Anlässlich des 100-Jahr-Jubiläums setzen wir uns in einer einmaligen Neuauflage der Festspiel-Dialoge (in memoriam
Michael Fischer) mit dem Phänomen Fest-Spiel auseinander und gehen der Frage nach, ob das
Theater noch ein utopischer Ort sein kann und die Kunst ein Kontrapunkt zur Krise.

Ort wird später bekannt gegeben · 26. und 27. August 2021

Kunst & Ethos

Podiumsgespräch

Die Salzburger Festspiele stellten sich angesichts ihres 100-Jahr-Jubiläums der laufenden Diskussion zu der Malerin und Grafikerin Poldi Wojtek, die 1928 das Emblem für die Salzburger Festspiele gestaltete, das seither — mit Ausnahme der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus — das Festspiellogo ist. An ihrer Person, die sich später dem Nationalsozialismus angedient hat, zeigt sich geradezu exemplarisch der Konflikt zwischen der moralischen Verantwortung des Künstlers und dem künstlerischen Wert seiner Werke. In einem Podiumsgespräch gehen die Salzburger Festspiele der Frage nach, wie qualitativ hochstehende Kunstwerke von politisch bedenklich handelnden Künstlern einzuordnen sind.

Große Universitätsaula · 12. August 2021
Die Teilnehmer werden später bekannt gegeben

In memoriam Gerard Mortier

Mortier Award

Der Mortier Award für Musiktheater und der Förderpreis Mortier Next Generation wurden ins Leben gerufen, um das Vermächtnis des 2014 verstorbenen Intendanten Gerard Mortier für die Gegenwart und Zukunft des Musiktheaters fruchtbar zu machen. Er wird an Persönlichkeiten verliehen, die sich im Geist Mortiers um eine geschichtsbewusste, interdisziplinäre Erneuerung des Kunstwerks Oper auf der Höhe unserer Zeit bemühen. Bisherige Träger des Mortier Awards für Musiktheater sind Gerard Mortier selbst und Markus Hinterhäuser. Der Förderpreis Mortier Next Generation wurde 2019 erstmals vergeben und wird 2021 vom Verein der Freunde und Förderer der Salzburger Festspiele gestiftet. Anlässlich ihres 100-Jahr-Jubiläums unterstützen die Salzburger Festspiele — denen Gerard Mortier während seiner Intendanz (1991—2001) viele bis heute wirkende Impulse bescherte — und der „Freunde“-Verein die Mortier Awards und präsentieren die nächsten Preisträger im Rahmen des Festspielprogramms 2021.

Die Preisträger sowie Ort und Termin der Verleihung werden später bekannt gegeben.

Interventionen der Kunst zu nie gebauten Festspielhäusern

Der Traum von einem Feentempel

Von den zahlreichen in den vergangenen 130 Jahren angedachten Bauvorhaben für ein Festspielhaus machten die Salzburger Festspiele anlässlich des 100-Jahr-Jubiläums vier nicht gebaute Architekturprojekte durch künstlerische Interventionen ab Juli 2020 im öffentlichen Raum sichtbar und erlebbar. Drei der Kunstprojekte sind noch bis Ende August 2021 zu erkunden: Am Mönchsberg schuf Esther Stocker eine Dreiteilige Knitterskulptur, am Kapuzinerberg zeigt Werner Feiersinger seine Installation Tafel, 2019/20, und für den Mirabellgarten kreierte Isa Rosenberger einen Portalrahmen. Sie alle dokumentieren, wie sich die Festspielhäuser in die Stadt- beziehungsweise Naturlandschaft eingeschrieben hätten.
(Konzeption: Norbert Mayr)

Mönchsberg, Kapuzinerberg, Mirabellgarten, bis Ende August 2021

100 Jahre Salzburger Festspiele · Landesausstellung

Großes Welttheater — 100 Jahre Salzburger Festspiele

Die Landesausstellung Großes Welttheater — 100 Jahre Salzburger Festspiele ist noch bis Ende Oktober 2021 zu erleben. In der Neuen Residenz begegnen Sie der vielgestaltigen Geschichte der Salzburger Festspiele und ihren Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in Bild- und Tondokumenten, Briefen, Fotos, Kostümen und Requisiten. Wir haben unser Archiv zum Leben erweckt, präsentieren Ihnen künstlerische Interventionen, inszenierte Erzählungen, Filmvorführungen und vieles mehr.
Das Festspielticket gilt als einmalige Eintrittskarte für die Landesausstellung.

26. Juli 2020 bis 31. Oktober 2021, Landesausstellung im Salzburg Museum – Neue Residenz

Im Dialog mit der bildenden Kunst

Die Jubiläums-Plakatserie der Salzburger Festspiele

Eine Plakatserie zum 100-jährigen Bestehen der Salzburger Festspiele war bis Ende August 2020 am Makartsteg zu sehen. Fünf international tätige Künstler und Künstlerinnen, die in enger Verbindung mit den Salzburger Festspielen stehen, gestalteten jeweils ein Plakat, das dem Gründungsgedanken der Festspiele nachspürt. „Das Ohr aufwecken, die Augen, das menschliche Denken“, dieses Zitat des Komponisten Luigi Nono ist den fünf Plakaten imaginär eingeschrieben. Der spanische Bildhauer und Künstler Jaume Plensa, der deutsche Maler und Bildhauer Anselm Kiefer, der US-amerikanischer Regisseur, Theaterautor, Maler, Lichtdesigner, Bühnenbildner, Videokünstler und Architekt Robert Wilson, der südafrikanische Künstler William Kentridge und die österreichische Künstlerin Eva Schlegel haben jeweils ein Plakat entworfen.

Die Salzburger Festspiele haben und hatten schon immer einen starken Bezug zur bildenden Kunst. Dieser Dialog zwischen dramatischer und bildender Kunst verstärkte sich ab den 1950er-Jahren kontinuierlich. Man denke nur an die Zauberflöte 1955, die Oskar Kokoschka ausstattete. Fritz Wotruba gestaltete die Bühnenbilder zu Ödipus 1965. Auch Jean Tinguely und Jean-Paul Chambas kreierten wichtige Produktionen für die Salzburger Festspiele. Während der Intendanz von Gerard Mortier wurde dieser Dialog mit den bildenden Künsten weiter intensiviert: etwa durch Achim Freyer, Jörg Immendorff oder Bob Wilson – und er wird bis heute außerordentlich befruchtend fortgesetzt: Daniel Richter, Jonathan Meese, Rebecca Horn, Alfred Hrdlicka, Shirin Neshat und William Kentridge sind nur einige der klingenden Namen. Daher lag der Gedanke nahe, anlässlich des 100-Jahr-Jubiläums herausragende Künstlerinnen und Künstler einzuladen, Plakate zu gestalten.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen