Biography

Sonya Yoncheva

Current as of August 2021

Soprano Sonya Yoncheva is one of the leading singers of her generation. With an extensive repertoire that includes Baroque operas, as well as Mozart, Verdi and Puccini, she is a regular guest at the world’s leading opera houses. She is also much in demand on the concert platform and as a song recitalist.
Over the past few seasons, Sonya Yoncheva has earned a reputation for being the current leading interpreter of Violetta (La traviata), a role she has recently sung in places such as Berlin, Munich, Paris and at the Metropolitan Opera, New York. She has also enjoyed great success as Desdemona (Otello), Mimì (La bohème) and in the title roles in Tosca, Iolanta and Luisa Miller at the Met, Iolanta, Élisabeth (Don Carlos) and Mimì at the Paris Opéra, Mimì, Norma and Antonia (Les Contes d’Hoffmann) at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Mimì and Imogene (Il pirata) at La Scala, Milan, Imogene at the Teatro Real in Madrid, Cherubini’s Médée and Tosca at the Berlin State Opera, Desdemona in Baden-Baden and at the Philharmonie in Berlin and Tatyana (Eugene Onegin) at the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

In the summer of 2020 she performed in the Concert de Paris and as Violetta in the Cavea of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, as well as opera galas in Lucca, Caserta, Plovdiv and the Arena di Verona.

Performances during the 2020/21 season include concerts in Paris, Berlin, Munich, Baden-Baden, Madrid, Valencia, Bilbao and Antwerp, the Gala A riveder le stelle at the opening of the La Scala season and Christmas with the Federal President, broadcast by ZDF. Other appearances include Tosca at the Bavarian State Opera, her role debut as Aida as well as Violetta in Verona and as Stephana in Giordano’s Siberia in a new production at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino.

She is a graduate of William Christie’s Le Jardin des Voix. Early music continues to be a focus of her repertoire, including Phani and Zima (Les Indes galantes), as well as Dido (Dido and Aeneas) on tour with Christie, with whom she also appeared to great acclaim as Poppea (L’incoronazione di Poppea) at the 2018 Salzburg Festival. In 2017 she toured a Baroque programme that was released by Sony Classical.

Born in Plovdiv in Bulgaria in 1981, she studied the piano and singing with Nelly Koitcheva in her hometown and in Geneva. In 2010 she won Plácido Domingo’s Operalia Competition and was also awarded the CulturArte Prize. In 2015 she received the Echo Klassik Award for young artist of the year.

She has also appeared alongside artists such as Sting and Elvis Costello and collaborated with renowned film composer Vladimir Cosma. Sonya Yoncheva is an exclusive artist with Sony Classical and an international ambassador for Rolex.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Sonya Yoncheva
open gallery
Sonya Yoncheva
open gallery
Sonya Yoncheva
open gallery
Sonya Yoncheva
open gallery
Sonya Yoncheva Singer Soprano
open gallery
Sonya Yoncheva Soprano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Sonya Yoncheva

Stand: August 2021

Die Sopranistin Sonya Yoncheva gilt als eine der führenden Sängerinnen ihrer Generation. Mit einem breitgefächerten Repertoire von Barockopern bis Mozart, Verdi und Puccini gastiert sie regelmäßig an den renommiertesten Opernhäusern der Welt. Ebenso gefragt ist sie als Konzert- und Liedsängerin.

Seit den letzten Saisonen gilt sie als gegenwärtig beste Interpretin der Violetta (La traviata) – eine Rolle, die sie u. a. in Berlin, München, Paris und an der Metropolitan Opera, New York, gesungen hat. Große Erfolge feierte sie auch als Desdemona (Otello), Mimì (La bohème) sowie in den Titelrollen in Tosca, Iolanta und Luisa Miller an der Met, als Iolanta und Élisabeth (Don Carlos) sowie Mimì an der Pariser Opéra, als Mimì, Norma und Antonia (Les Contes d’Hoffmann) am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, als Mimì und Imogene (Il pirata) an der Mailänder Scala, als Imogene am Teatro Real in Madrid, als Cherubinis Médée und als Tosca an der Berliner Staatsoper, als Desdemona im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und in der Berliner Philharmonie sowie als Tatjana (Eugen Onegin) an der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

Im Sommer 2020 war sie im Concert de Paris und als Violetta in der Cavea des Maggio Musicale Fiorentino zu erleben; Operngalas führten sie nach Lucca, Caserta, Plovdiv und in die Arena di Verona.

Auftritte der Saison 2020/21 umfassen neben Konzerten in Paris, Berlin, München, Baden-Baden, Madrid, Valencia, Bilbao und Antwerpen die Spielzeiteröffnung der Mailänder Scala in der Gala A riveder le stelle und Weihnachten mit dem Bundespräsidenten, übertragen vom ZDF. Auf der Opernbühne war sie als Tosca an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, in ihrem Rollendebüt als Aida und als Violetta in der Arena di Verona sowie als Stephana in Giordanos Siberia in einer Neuproduktion beim Maggio Musicale Fiorentino zu erleben.

Sie ist Absolventin von William Christies Akademie Le Jardin des Voix. Alte Musik bildet weiterhin einen Schwerpunkt ihres Repertoires: So sang sie Phani / Zima (Les Indes galantes) und Dido (Dido and Aeneas) auf einer Tournee mit Christie, unter dessen Leitung sie auch als Poppea (L’incoronazione di Poppea) bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2018 bejubelt wurde. 2017 unternahm sie eine Konzerttournee mit einem Barockprogramm, das bei Sony Classical erschien.

1981 in Bulgarien geboren, studierte sie Klavier und Gesang bei Nelly Koitcheva in ihrer Heimatstadt Plovdiv und in Genf. 2010 gewann sie Plácido Domingos Operalia-Wettbewerb, wo ihr auch der CulturArte-Preis verliehen wurde. 2015 erhielt sie den ECHO Klassik als Nachwuchskünstlerin des Jahres.

Sie ist auch an der Seite von Künstlern wie Sting und Elvis Costello aufgetreten und hat mit dem berühmten Filmkomponisten Vladimir Cosma zusammengearbeitet. Sonya Yoncheva ist Exklusivkünstlerin bei Sony Classical und internationale Repräsentantin für Rolex.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Sonya Yoncheva
Galerie öffnen
Sonya Yoncheva
Galerie öffnen
Sonya Yoncheva
Galerie öffnen
Sonya Yoncheva
Galerie öffnen
Sonya Yoncheva Sopran Sängerin
Galerie öffnen
Sonya Yoncheva Sängerin Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen