Biography

Evgeny Kissin

Current as of August 2019

Evgeny Kissin is one of the most outstanding virtuosos of our time. Born in Moscow in 1971, he began to play by ear and improvise on the piano at the age of two. Aged six, he started to study at the Gnessin School of Music in Moscow, where he became a pupil of Anna Pavlovna Kantor, his only teacher. He came to international attention in 1984, at the age of 12, when he played Chopin’s piano concertos with the Moscow State Philharmonic under Dmitrij Kitajenko at the Moscow Conservatory.

Since 1985 Evgeny Kissin has worked with the most renowned conductors worldwide, including Claudio Abbado, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Daniel Barenboim, Christoph von Dohnányi, Carlo Maria Giulini, James Levine, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Riccardo Muti, Seiji Ozawa and Yuri Temirkanov.

In 1987 Evgeny Kissin made his debut with the London Symphony Orchestra under Valery Gergiev. The following year he performed at the Berlin Philharmonic’s New Year Concert under Herbert von Karajan and made his debut at the Salzburg Festival. In 1990 he made his first appearance at the BBC Proms and his US debut playing both Chopin piano concertos with the New York Philharmonic. Shortly afterwards he performed at Carnegie Hall as part of the venue’s 100th-anniversary celebrations.

He has received many international prizes and honours including the Crystal Prize of the Osaka Symphony Hall in 1987 and artist of the year from the Accademia Musicale Chigiana Siena in 1991. He has been guest of honour at the Grammy Awards and in 1995 was chosen as instrumentalist of the year by Musical America. In 1997 he was awarded the Triumph Prize, one of the greatest distinctions in Russia, for his outstanding contribution to Russian culture.

Evgeny Kissin holds honorary doctorates from the Manhattan School of Music, the University of Hong Kong, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Ben-Gurion University of the Negev and is an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Music in London. In 2003 he won the Shostakovich Prize, followed by the Herbert von Karajan Music Prize in 2005 and the Premio Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli in 2007. In 2008 he was the inaugural winner of the Atlantic Council’s award for distinguished artistic leadership.

Evgeny Kissin’s work can be heard on over 50 CDs, many of which have won awards such as the Grammy Award, the Echo Klassik, the Edison Award, the Diapason d’or and the Grand Prix de la Nouvelle Académie du Disque.

 

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Evgeny Kissin Piano Player Piano
open gallery
Evgeny Kissin Piano Player
open gallery
Evgeny Kissin Piano Player
open gallery
Evgeny Kissin Piano Player Piano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Evgeny Kissin

Stand: August 2019

Evgeny Kissin zählt zu den herausragenden Virtuosen unserer Zeit. 1971 in Moskau geboren, begann er im Alter von zwei Jahren nach Gehör auf dem Klavier zu spielen und zu improvisieren. Mit sechs Jahren wurde er an der Moskauer Gnessin-Musikschule aufgenommen. Hier war er Schüler von Anna Pawlowna Kantor, die seine einzige Lehrerin blieb. 1984 erregte er internationales Aufsehen, als er mit zwölf Jahren am Moskauer Konservatorium mit der Staatsphilharmonie Moskau unter Dmitri Kitajenko die Klavierkonzerte von Frédéric Chopin spielte.

Seit 1985 arbeitet Evgeny Kissin weltweit mit den renommiertesten Dirigenten zusammen, u.a. mit Claudio Abbado, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Daniel Barenboim, Christoph von Dohnányi, Carlo Maria Giulini, James Levine, Lorin Maazel, Riccardo Muti, Zubin Mehta, Seiji Ozawa und Yuri Temirkanov.

1987 gab Evgeny Kissin unter der Leitung von Valery Gergiev sein Debüt beim London Symphony Orchestra. Im darauffolgenden Jahr trat er unter Herbert von Karajan beim Silvesterkonzert der Berliner Philharmoniker auf und debütierte bei den Salzburger Festspielen. 1990 gastierte er zum ersten Mal bei den BBC Proms in London und gab mit den New Yorker Philharmonikern sein USA-Debüt mit den beiden Chopin-Klavierkonzerten. Anlässlich der 100-Jahr-Feier der Carnegie Hall in New York trat er kurz darauf auch erstmals in diesem bedeutenden Konzertsaal auf.

Zu den zahlreichen internationalen Preisen und Ehrungen, die Evgeny Kissin zuteilwurden, zählen der Crystal Prize der Osaka Symphony Hall 1987 und die Auszeichnung Künstler des Jahres 1991 der Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena. In den USA war er Ehrengast bei der Grammy Awards Ceremony. 1995 wählte ihn Musical America zum Instrumentalisten des Jahres. In seinem Heimatland wurde dem Pianisten 1997 für seinen herausragenden Beitrag zur russischen Kultur der Triumph-Preis verliehen, eine der höchsten Auszeichnungen, die Russland zu vergeben hat.

Evgeny Kissin ist Ehrendoktor der Manhattan School of Music, der University of Hong Kong, der Hebrew University of Jerusalem und der Ben-Gurion-Universität des Negev sowie Ehrenmitglied der Royal Academy of Music in London. 2003 erhielt er den Schostakowitsch-Preis, 2005 den Herbert von Karajan Musikpreis, 2007 den Premio Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli und 2008 den zum ersten Mal vergebenen Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award des Atlantic Council der Vereinigten Staaten.

Das pianistische Schaffen von Evgeny Kissin ist mittlerweile auf mehr als 50 CD-Einspielungen dokumentiert, viele davon wurden mit Preisen wie dem Grammy Award, dem ECHO Klassik, dem Edison Award, dem Diapason d’Or und dem Grand Prix de la Nouvelle Académie du Disque ausgezeichnet.

 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Evgeny Kissin Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Evgeny Kissin Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Evgeny Kissin Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Evgeny Kissin Pianist Klavier
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen