Biography

Tugan Sokhiev

Current as of January 2020

Internationally renowned conductor Tugan Sokhiev divides his time between the symphonic and the operatic repertoires, appearing with orchestras all over the world and enjoying a particularly close working relationship with the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse (ONCT) and Moscow’s Bolshoi Theatre. He is currently the music director of both of these institutions.

As one of the last students of the legendary teacher Ilya Musin, Tugan Sokhiev is eager to share his expertise with others and in 2016 established a conducting academy in Toulouse. His interest in Franco-Russian relations in classical music is one that he has been able to pursue as artistic director of the festival Les Musicales franco-russes in Toulouse. Under his direction the Bolshoi Orchestra often appears not only at this festival but also at the Philharmonie in Paris.
As a guest conductor Tugan Sokhiev regularly conducts many of the world’s leading orchestras: the Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Vienna, Berlin and New York Philharmonics, the Boston and Chicago Symphony Orchestras, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester in Berlin, where he was principal conductor from 2012 to 2017. He has a rich and varied discography, while his work is also documented on a wide range of DVDs.

In 2019/20 Tugan Sokhiev’s guest engagements include appearances with the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Berlin Philharmonic, with whom he will be touring and appearing at the Baden-Baden Festival, the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester on Berlin. His appearances at the Bolshoi this season include Eugene Onegin, The Tale of Tsar Saltan, Mazeppa, Anna Bolena and Don Giovanni.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Tugan Sokhiev

Stand: Januar 2020

Der international angesehene Dirigent Tugan Sokhiev widmet sich gleichermaßen dem symphonischen wie dem Opernrepertoire. Er dirigiert Orchester aus aller Welt, eine besonders enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn aber mit dem Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse (ONCT) und dem Moskauer Bolschoi-Theater, denen er als Musikdirektor vorsteht.

Als einem der letzten Schüler des legendären Pädagogen Ilja Musin ist es Tugan Sokhiev ein Anliegen, sein Können weiterzugeben: So hat er 2016 in Toulouse eine Dirigierakademie ins Leben gerufen. Seinem Interesse für die französisch-russischen Beziehungen im Bereich der klassischen Musik geht er als künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals Les Musicales franco-russes in Toulouse nach. Unter seiner Leitung tritt das Bolschoi-Orchester häufig bei diesem Festival, aber auch in der Philharmonie de Paris auf.

Als Gastdirigent leitet Tugan Sokhiev regelmäßig so prominente Orchester wie das Amsterdamer Concertgebouw-Orchester, die Wiener und die Berliner Philharmoniker, das New York Philharmonic Orchestra, das Boston und das Chicago Symphony Orchestra, das Philadelphia Orchestra, das Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom, das Finnische Radio-Symphonieorchester sowie das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, dessen Chefdirigent er von 2012 bis 2017 war. Er kann eine umfangreiche und vielfältige Diskografie vorweisen, außerdem ist seine Arbeit auf einer Reihe von DVDs dokumentiert.

Gastengagements führen Tugan Sokhiev in der Saison 2019/20 zum Concertgebouw-Orchester, dem Orchestre de Paris, dem Philadelphia Orchestra, den Berliner Philharmonikern – mit denen er auf Tournee und bei den Festspielen Baden-Baden zu erleben ist –, dem Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia und dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. Am Bolschoi-Theater dirigiert er in dieser Spielzeit Eugen Onegin, Das Märchen vom Zaren Saltan, Mazeppa, Anna Bolena und Don Giovanni.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Tugan Sokhiev
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen