Biography

Tilmann Rönnebeck

Current as of August 2019

German bass Tilmann Rönnebeck was born in Magdeburg and initially studied composition before training as a singer with Reiner Goldberg at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin. He subsequently received advice and encouragement from Franz Crass and Kurt Moll.

He was still a student when he took part in the world premiere of Die Comedian Harmonists at Berlin’s Theater am Kurfürstendamm and received a Berliner Zeitung Culture Prize for his performances, which were followed by numerous concert tours both at home and abroad and by CDs and television appearances.

Tilmann Rönnebeck’s first full-time professional engagement was at the Cottbus State Theatre, where he sang many leading bass roles and received the Max Grünebaum Prize as Young Singer of the Year. He enjoyed great personal acclaim as Pimen (Boris Godunov), Wotan (Das Rheingold) and Philip II (Don Carlo), among other roles. His next permanent contract was with the Komische Oper in Berlin, where he was heard as Figaro (Le nozze di Figaro), Rocco (Fidelio) and Don Pasquale. Since 2010/11 he has been a member of the Dresden State Opera, where his roles have included Sarastro (Die Zauberflöte), Seneca (L’incoronazione di Poppea), Landgrave Hermann (Tannhäuser) and Arkel (Pelléas et Mélisande). Among the conductors with whom he has worked are Christian Thielemann, Franz Welser-Möst and Peter Schneider, while the directors in whose productions he has sung include Peter Konwitschny, Hans Neuenfels, Àlex Ollé / La Fura dels Baus, Keith Warner and Romeo Castellucci.

Tilmann Rönnebeck made his Salzburg Festival debut in 2017 singing the King of France in Aribert Reimann’s Lear. He returns this summer for Achim Freyer’s production of Enescu’s Œdipe and the Festival’s revival of Salome.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Tilmann Rönnebeck Singer bass
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Tilmann Rönnebeck

Stand: August 2019

Der in Magdeburg geborene Bass Tilmann Rönnebeck begann seine musikalische Ausbildung zunächst mit Kompositionsunterricht, bevor er Gesang bei Reiner Goldberg an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin studierte. Wichtige Impulse für seine sängerische Laufbahn erhielt er später von Franz Crass und Kurt Moll.

Noch während seines Studiums wirkte Tilmann Rönnbeck in der Berliner Uraufführung von Die Comedian Harmonists am Theater am Kurfürstendamm mit und erhielt dafür den B. Z.-Kulturpreis. Zahlreiche Konzerttourneen im In- und Ausland sowie diverse CD- und TV-Produktionen folgten.

Im Rahmen seines ersten Festengagements am Staatstheater Cottbus sang Tilmann Rönnebeck bereits wichtige Partien seines Fachs und erhielt dort als bester Nachwuchssänger den Max-Grünebaum-Preis. Große Erfolge feierte er u.a. als Pimen (Boris Godunow), Wotan (Das Rheingold) und Filippo II (Don Carlo). Es folgte ein Festengagement an die Komische Oper Berlin, wo er Figaro (Le nozze di Figaro), Rocco (Fidelio) und die Titelrolle in Don Pasquale verkörperte. Seit der Saison 2010/11 ist Tilmann Rönnebeck festes Ensemblemitglied an der Semperoper Dresden und stand dort u.a. als Sarastro (Die Zauberflöte), Seneca (L’incoronazione di Poppea), Landgraf Hermann (Tannhäuser) und Arkel (Pelléas et Mélisande) auf der Bühne. Er sang unter Dirigenten wie Christian Thielemann, Franz Welser-Möst und Peter Schneider und arbeitete mit Regisseuren wie Peter Konwitschny, Hans Neuenfels, Àlex Ollé / La Fura dels Baus, Keith Warner und Romeo Castellucci.

Tilmann Rönnebeck gab sein Salzburger Festspieldebüt im Sommer 2017 als König von Frankreich in Aribert Reimanns Lear. Diesen Sommer ist er in Salzburg in Achim Freyers Inszenierung von George Enescus Œdipe und in der Wiederaufnahme von Salome zu hören.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Tilmann Rönnebeck Sänger bass
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen