Biography

Maurizio Pollini

Current as of August 2019

The name Maurizio Pollini evokes a unique career and the story of a man and artist known all over the world, who has been cherished by generations of audiences and critics alike.

A major figure in all the major European, US and Japanese concert halls and festivals for more than 40 years, Maurizio Pollini has performed with the most celebrated conductors and orchestras. He has been awarded many international prizes, including the Vienna Philharmonic’s Ring of Honour in 1987, the Goldenes Ehrenzeichen of the City of Salzburg in 1995, the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize in 1996, the Artur Rubinstein ‘A Life for Music’ Prize in Venice in 1999 and the Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli Prize in Milan in 2000. In October 2010 Maurizio Pollini was awarded the Praemium Imperiale in Tokyo and in 2012 the Royal Philharmonic Society Award. The Universidad Complutense of Madrid gave him the Laurea honoris causa in 2013.

In 1995 and 1999 the Salzburg Festival invited him to devise and present his own cycle of concerts (‘Progetti Pollini’), featuring works from different eras and in a variety of styles. Between 1995 and 2003 Maurizio Pollini employed the same philosophy with cycles at Carnegie Hall (1999/2000 and 2000/01), at the Cité de la Musique in Paris (2002), in Tokyo (1995 and 2002) and in Vienna and Rome (2003). These programmes included symphonic and chamber works, reflecting Maurizio Pollini’s broad musical interests, with repertoire ranging from Gesualdo and Monteverdi to the present day. In 2004 he was artiste étoile at the Lucerne Festival, where he performed in recital and in orchestral concerts conducted by Claudio Abbado and Pierre Boulez. Between 2008 and 2013 he mounted new cycles at the Lucerne Festival, the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, the Cité de la Musique in Paris, La Scala, Milan and in Tokyo and Berlin.

Maurizio Pollini’s repertoire ranges from Bach to the present day, giving the premieres of works by Manzoni, Nono and Sciarrino, as well as the complete Beethoven sonatas, which he has performed in Berlin, Munich, Milan, New York, London, Vienna and Paris.

Maurizio Pollini’s recordings of Classical, Romantic and contemporary works have received numerous international accolades and prizes, including the Grammy, the Echo Klassik Award, the Choc du Monde de la Musique, the Victoires de la Musique and the Diapason d’Or. Reflecting his love of 20th-century music, he has recorded Schoenberg’s complete works for piano, as well as music by Berg, Webern, Manzoni, Nono, Boulez and Stockhausen. His latest album with the works op. 55–58 by Chopin was released in January 2019.

 

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Piano player Maurizio Pollini
open gallery
Piano player Maurizio Pollini
open gallery
Piano player Maurizio Pollini
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Maurizio Pollini

Stand: August 2019

Der Name Maurizio Pollini steht für eine einzigartige Musikerlaufbahn, für die Geschichte eines Menschen und Künstlers, der schon seit mehreren Generationen von Kritik und Publikum auf der ganzen Welt bewundert wird.

Seit über 40 Jahren ist der Pianist bei allen großen Festivals und in den bedeutenden Konzertsälen Europas, Amerikas und Japans präsent. Er arbeitete mit den berühmtesten Dirigenten und Orchestern zusammen. Viele internationale Auszeichnungen wurden ihm verliehen: 1987 der Ehrenring der Wiener Philharmoniker, 1995 das Goldene Ehrenzeichen der Stadt Salzburg, 1996 der Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis, 1999 der Preis „A Life for Music – Artur Rubinstein“ in Venedig sowie 2000 der Preis Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli in Mailand. Im Oktober 2010 erhielt Maurizio Pollini den renommierten japanischen Praemium Imperiale in Tokio und 2012 den Preis der Royal Philharmonic Society. 2013 verlieh ihm die Universidad Complutense de Madrid die Ehrendoktorwürde.

1995 und 1999 luden ihn die Salzburger Festspiele ein, eine eigene Konzertreihe – die „Progetti Pollini“ – mit Werken verschiedener Epochen und Stile zu gestalten. Zwischen 1995 und 2003 verwirklichte Maurizio Pollini Konzertzyklen nach ähnlichem Konzept unter dem Namen „Perspektiven“ in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall (1999/2000 und 2000/01), in der Cité de la Musique Paris (2002) und in Tokio (1995 und 2002), in Wien und in Rom (2003). Im Sommer 2004 gab er als Artiste étoile beim Lucerne Festival sowohl ein Rezital als auch Konzerte unter der Leitung von Claudio Abbado und Pierre Boulez. Zwischen 2008 und 2013 gestaltete er neue Konzertreihen beim Lucerne Festival, an der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom, in der Cité de la Musique in Paris, an der Mailänder Scala sowie in Tokio und in Berlin.

Das Repertoire des Künstlers reicht von Bach bis zu zeitgenössischen Komponisten – einschließlich Uraufführungen von Werken Manzonis, Nonos und Sciarrinos – und umfasst auch sämtliche Sonaten Beethovens, die er in Berlin, München, Mailand, New York, London, Wien und Paris zur Aufführung brachte.

Maurizio Pollinis Einspielungen klassischer, romantischer und zeitgenössischer Werke wurden international hochgelobt und mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter mit dem Grammy Award, dem ECHO Klassik, dem Choc du Monde de la Musique, den Victoires de la Musique und dem Diapason d’Or. Von seiner Leidenschaft für die Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts zeugen seine Gesamteinspielung der Klavierwerke Schönbergs sowie seine Aufnahmen mit Werken von Berg, Webern, Manzoni, Nono, Boulez und Stockhausen. Sein neuestes Album mit Chopins Werken op. 55–58 erschien im Januar 2019.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Pianist Maurizio Pollini Klavierspieler
Galerie öffnen
Pianist Maurizio Pollini Klavierspieler
Galerie öffnen
Pianist Maurizio Pollini Klavierspieler
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen