Biography

Joana Mallwitz

Current as of August 2021

Joana Mallwitz was voted Conductor of the Year in a poll of critics undertaken by Opernwelt magazine in 2019. At least since the time of her Salzburg Festival debut with Così fan tutte in 2020 she has been numbered among the most outstanding conductors of her generation. In the Festival’s one-hundred-year- history she was the first woman to be entrusted with the task of conducting a new production and an entire run of performances.

Joana Mallwitz has been general music director of the Nuremberg State Theatre since the 2018/19 season. In 2021/22 she will be the subject of a portrait by the Vienna Musikverein, in the course of which she will conduct concerts with both the Vienna Symphony and the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra. Further debuts are planned with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre National de France and the Dresden Semperoper, where she will conduct a new production of Rusalka. Other companies with which she has appeared in recent years include the Bavarian State Opera in Munich (Eugene Onegin and L’elisir d’amore), the Frankfurt Opera (Salome and Die lustige Witwe), the Royal Danish Opera in Copenhagen (Der fliegende Holländer and Madama Butterfly), the Norwegian National Opera in Oslo (Der Rosenkavalier) and the Zurich Opera (Macbeth). Concert engagements have taken her to the Berlin Konzerthaus Orchestra, the hr Symphony Orchestra in Frankfurt, the SWR Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra in London, the Munich Philharmonic, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra.

After working as a staff conductor at the Heidelberg Theatre for a number of years, Joana Mallwitz became the youngest general music director in Europe when she joined the Erfurt Theatre in 2014/15. Here she founded the Orchestral Academy of the Philharmonic Orchestra, established a composer in residence programme under the title Erfurts Neue Noten and devised a series of Expedition Concerts. This format has proved a huge success also in her new artistic home, the Nuremberg State Theatre, and online. Her first two productions in Nuremberg, Prokofiev’s War and Peace and Wagner’s Lohengrin, brought her name to national and international attention. In 2021/22 she will conduct two new productions in Nuremberg: Pelléas et Mélisande and Der Rosenkavalier.

Joana Mallwitz was born in Hildesheim and studied at the University of Music and Theatre in Hanover, where her teachers included Martin Brauß and Eiji Oue (conducting) and Karl-Heinz Kämmerling and Bernd Goetzke (piano).

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Joana Mallwitz
open gallery
Joana Mallwitz Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Joana Mallwitz

Stand: August 2021

Joana Mallwitz wurde 2019 bei der Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift Opernwelt zur Dirigentin des Jahres gewählt und zählt spätestens seit ihrem Salzburger Festspieldebüt mit Così fan tutte im Jahr 2020 zu den herausragendsten Dirigentenpersönlichkeiten ihrer Generation. In der 100-jährigen Festspielgeschichte war sie die erste Frau, der eine Neuproduktion und eine gesamte Aufführungsserie anvertraut wurde.

Seit der Spielzeit 2018/19 ist Joana Mallwitz Generalmusikdirektorin am Staatstheater Nürnberg. In der Saison 2021/22 widmet ihr der Wiener Musikverein ein Porträt, in deren Rahmen sie am Pult der Wiener Symphoniker und des ORF Radio-Symphonieorchesters Wien stehen wird. Weitere Debüts sind beim Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und dem Orchestre National de France sowie an der Semperoper Dresden geplant, wo sie eine Neuproduktion von Rusalka leiten wird. In den vergangenen Jahren war sie bereits an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München (Eugen Onegin und L’elisir d’amore), der Oper Frankfurt (Salome und Die lustige Witwe), der Königlichen Dänischen Oper in Kopenhagen (Der fliegende Holländer und Madama Butterfly), der Norwegischen Nationaloper in Oslo (Der Rosenkavalier) und dem Opernhaus Zürich (Macbeth) zu Gast. Konzertengagements führten sie zum Konzerthausorchester Berlin, dem hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, dem SWR Symphonieorchester, dem Philharmonia Orchestra in London, zu den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra und den Göteborger Symphonikern.

Nach ihrem langjährigen Engagement als Kapellmeisterin am Theater Heidelberg trat Joana Mallwitz zur Spielzeit 2014/15 als jüngste Generalmusikdirektorin Europas ihr erstes Leitungsamt am Theater Erfurt an. Dort rief sie die Orchester-Akademie des Philharmonischen Orchesters ins Leben und begründete das Composer in Residence-Programm „Erfurts Neue Noten“. Ihre ebenfalls in dieser Zeit konzipierten „Expeditionskonzerte“ sind inzwischen auch an ihrer Hauptwirkungsstätte am Staatstheater Nürnberg und als Online-Format ein durchschlagender Erfolg. Nach dem überregional beachteten Einstand in Nürnberg mit Produktionen von Prokofjews Krieg und Frieden und Wagners Lohengrin wird Joana Mallwitz dort in der Spielzeit 2021/22 Neuproduktionen von Pelléas et Mélisande und Der Rosenkavalier einstudieren.

In Hildesheim geboren, studierte Joana Mallwitz an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hannover Dirigieren bei Martin Brauß und Eiji Oue sowie Klavier bei Karl-Heinz Kämmerling und Bernd Goetzke.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Joana Mallwitz Dirigentin
Galerie öffnen
Joana Mallwitz Dirigentin
Galerie öffnen
Joana Mallwitz Dirigentin
Galerie öffnen
Joana Mallwitz Dirigentin
Galerie öffnen
Joana Mallwitz Dirigentin
Galerie öffnen
Joana Mallwitz Dirigentin
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen