Biography

Daniel Ottensamer

Current as of August 2021

As a soloist and chamber musician, as well as in his position as principal clarinettist of the Vienna Philharmonic, Daniel Ottensamer performs with renowned orchestras and artistic personalities in the world’s most important music centres. He has been a prizewinner at several prestigious international competitions, including the Carl Nielsen International Clarinet Competition in Denmark in 2009.

Highlights of recent seasons include Daniel Ottensamer’s solo debut with the Vienna Philharmonic performing Nielsen’s Clarinet Concerto, as well as appearances as a soloist with Lorin Maazel, Gustavo Dudamel, Andris Nelsons, Ádám Fischer and Ivor Bolton.

His chamber music partners include artists such as Daniel Barenboim, Angelika Kirchschlager, Thomas Hampson, Barbara Bonney, Juliane Banse, Bobby McFerrin, Bernarda Fink, Krassimira Stoyanova, Julian Rachlin, Heinrich Schiff, Mischa Maisky, the Hagen Quartet, the Signum Quartet and daniel ottensamer music (with Noah Bendix-Balgley, Christoph Traxler and Stephan Koncz). He is a founding member of the Clarinotts and The Philharmonix, who won the Opus Klassik in 2018, covering a wide range of repertoire from classical to jazz and klezmer to pop and swing.

His debut CD Mein Wien – My Vienna was released by Sony Classical in 2015 and featured a recording of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto with the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg. Daniel Ottensamer has also recorded sonatas by Brahms and Weber on Classics Concert Records. Deutsche Grammophon released the Clarinotts’ debut CD in 2016. His most recent recordings include La Vie en Rose, a collection of French works for clarinet and orchestra, Luciano Berio’s orchestration of Brahms’s First Clarinet Sonata op. 120/1 and a disc of music by Schubert with Regula Mühlemann, all for Sony Classical.

Daniel Ottensamer has conceived concert cycles for MuTh, the concert hall of the Vienna Boys’ Choir, and for the Main Hall of the Konzerthaus in Vienna.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Daniel Ottensamer
open gallery
Daniel Ottensamer clarinettist
open gallery
Daniel Ottensamer
open gallery
Daniel Ottensamer clarinettist
open gallery
Daniel Ottensamer
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Daniel Ottensamer

Stand: August 2021

Sowohl als Solist und Kammermusiker als auch in seiner Position als Soloklarinettist der Wiener Philharmoniker konzertiert Daniel Ottensamer mit namhaften Orchestern und bedeutenden Künstlerpersönlichkeiten in den wichtigsten Musikzentren der Welt. Zahlreiche Preise bei internationalen Wettbewerben, darunter die Carl Nielsen International Clarinet Competition in Dänemark im Jahr 2009, begleiteten seinen künstlerischen Werdegang.

Höhepunkte der letzten Jahre umfassen sein Solo-Debüt mit den Wiener Philharmonikern in Carl Nielsens Klarinettenkonzert sowie seine Auftritte als Solist unter Lorin Maazel, Gustavo Dudamel, Andris Nelsons, Ádám Fischer und Ivor Bolton.

Zu seinen Kammermusikpartnern zählen Künstlerinnen und Künstler wie Daniel Barenboim, Angelika Kirchschlager, Thomas Hampson, Barbara Bonney, Juliane Banse, Bobby McFerrin, Bernarda Fink, Krassimira Stoyanova, Julian Rachlin, Heinrich Schiff, Mischa Maisky, das Hagen Quartett, das Signum Quartett und das Ensemble daniel ottensamer music (mit Noah Bendix-Balgley, Christoph Traxler und Stephan Koncz). Daniel Ottensamer ist Gründungsmitglied von The Clarinotts sowie des Ensembles Philharmonix, das ein breit gefächertes Repertoire von Klassik über Jazz und Klezmer bis hin zu Pop und Swing abdeckt und 2018 den Opus Klassik gewann.

2015 erschien seine Debüt-CD Mein Wien – My Vienna bei Sony Classical, das u. a. eine Einspielung von Mozarts Klarinettenkonzert mit dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg beinhaltet. Darüber hinaus hat Daniel Ottensamer die Klarinettensonaten von Brahms und Weber bei Classics Concert Records eingespielt. 2016 erschien die Debüt-CD der Clarinotts bei der Deutschen Grammophon. Seine jüngsten Einspielungen für Sony Classical umfassen La Vie en Rose, eine Sammlung französischer Werke für Klarinette und Orchester, eine Aufnahme der Sonate op. 120/1 von Brahms in einer Orchestrierung von Luciano Berio sowie eine CD mit Werken von Franz Schubert zusammen mit Regula Mühlemann.

Daniel Ottensamer gestaltet eigene Konzert-Zyklen im MuTh, dem Konzertsaal der Wiener Sängerknaben, sowie im Großen Saal des Wiener Konzerthauses.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Daniel Ottensamer
Galerie öffnen
Daniel Ottensamer Klarinettist
Galerie öffnen
Daniel Ottensamer
Galerie öffnen
Daniel Ottensamer Klarinettist
Galerie öffnen
Daniel Ottensamer
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen