Antony Gormley, Whole, 1986, black pigment, linseed oil and charcoal on paper, 38 × 28 cm, © the artist
About the Production

‘Give me back my beloved or at least let me die.’

A turbulent comedy laced with erotic intrigues: what was by no means a harmless comedy even in Mozart’s time evokes today experiences of patriarchal dependence and sexual exploitation. The world represented on stage promotes deceit and criminal behaviour, leaving people with feelings of emptiness, a longing for death and hopelessness.
Two employees wish to marry, but their boss tries to prevent them doing so, using more or less subtle methods. All in his own interest: the Count himself has designs on Susanna, something he as a married man can of course only show covertly. His love for his wife seems to have cooled, even though it is not long since he freed her from the clutches of her guardian. The cunning Figaro, whom he has now taken on as an employee in gratitude for his services, helped him. But no sooner has the daring conquest been achieved than the Count’s wife finds herself abandoned to her loneliness again, yearning for her husband’s love to return or for her own death. Once more, a good deal of cunning and intrigue is required, this time with the aim of exposing the Count in his sexualized claim to power and enabling the wedding of Figaro and Susanna to take place. But this goal recedes ever further from view, and instead the individuals involved are confronted with their unfulfilled longings, moral depravity and inner loneliness.
With Le nozze di Figaro of 1786 Lorenzo Da Ponte and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote the first of their three operas about attempts at human relationships. It is based on a play that was banned at the time when the opera was conceived: with its direct criticism of aristocratic privileges, Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais’ La Folle Journée ou Le Mariage de Figaro was a thorn in the side of the French king and the Austrian emperor. However, Mozart got hold of an anonymous German translation and suggested it to Da Ponte as material for a collaboration, despite there being no commission for the opera initially.
In order to get round the censor, Mozart concealed the explosive political message in his music: the manservant Figaro appropriates the courtly minuet for his struggle against the Count, to whose dance he will now call the tune. The agitation he sets in motion gives all the more impetus to the imaginations of the Countess and Susanna, stimulating them to join in Figaro’s scheming with their own intrigues. It is the women who bring about the night-time confusions in the garden; the men walk unswervingly into the traps they have laid for them. The Count’s final supplication for forgiveness may restore the order that previously held sway, but the other characters are damaged and will remain so. Operating between all the figures is Cherubino, a role Mozart entrusts to a female singer in order to give musical emphasis to the sexual nuances of the various disguises perpetrated in the opera.
Ensemble scenes that spiral into absurdity contrast with profound avowals of human emotions. Death pervades both of the Countess’s arias — in her second aria Mozart adopted the tone of the Agnus Dei from his Coronation Mass. Whether it is the pompous Bartolo or the furious Count — aggrieved male vanity endangers all those present. Mozart reserves the only aria in a minor key for the young Barbarina, soon after she has casually revealed that the Count has often taken sexual advantage of her.

Following Don Giovanni in 2002 and La clemenza di Tito in 2003, the director Martin Kušej now continues his radical exploration of Mozart’s operas at the Salzburg Festival with Le nozze di Figaro. Having made his Festival debut in 2018, the French conductor and expert in historically informed performance Raphaël Pichon is leading his first opera production at Salzburg.

Olaf A. Schmitt
Translation: Sophie Kidd

read more collapse

Videos

12. January 2023
Figaro | Salzburg Festival 2023_1

Programme Navigator

Antony Gormley, Whole, 1986, black pigment, linseed oil and charcoal on paper, 38 × 28 cm, © the artist
ZUR PRODUKTION

„Gib mir meinen Liebsten zurück, oder lass mich wenigstens sterben.“

Turbulente Komödie mit erotischen Verwicklungen — was bereits zu Mozarts Zeiten kein harmloses Lustspiel war, ruft heute Erfahrungen patriarchalischer Abhängigkeit und sexueller Ausbeutung hervor. Die dargestellte Welt befördert Betrug und kriminelles Handeln, sie hinterlässt Menschen mit Gefühlen der Leere, Todessehnsucht und Ausweglosigkeit. Zwei Angestellte möchten heiraten, doch ihr Vorgesetzter versucht mehr oder weniger geschickt, sie davon abzuhalten. Aus eigenem Interesse: Der Graf selbst hat ein Auge auf Susanna geworfen, was er als verheirateter Mann natürlich nur im Verborgenen zeigen kann. Die Liebe zu seiner eigenen Frau scheint erkaltet, dabei hat er sie selbst vor nicht allzu langer Zeit aus den Fängen ihres Vormunds entführt. Geholfen hat ihm dabei der schlaue Figaro, den er zum Dank nun bei sich beschäftigt. Doch kaum hat die abenteuerliche Eroberung stattgefunden, findet sich die Gattin vernachlässigt in ihrem Alleinsein wieder und sehnt entweder die Liebe ihres Mannes zurück oder den eigenen Tod herbei. Es bedarf erneut jeder Menge List und Intrigen, diesmal um den Grafen in seinem sexualisierten Machtanspruch vorzuführen und die Voraussetzungen für die Hochzeit von Figaro und Susanna zu schaffen. Dieses Ziel gerät dabei immer weiter aus dem Blick, stattdessen werden die einzelnen Menschen mit ihren unerfüllten Sehnsüchten, verworfenen Moralvorstellungen und gefühlter Einsamkeit konfrontiert.
Mit Le nozze di Figaro schrieben Lorenzo Da Ponte und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 1786 die erste ihrer drei gemeinsam geschaffenen Opern über Versuche von zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen. Sie beruht auf einem zur Entstehungszeit verbotenen Theaterstück: Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais’ La Folle Journée ou Le Mariage de Figaro war wegen der offen ausgesprochenen Kritik an aristokratischen Privilegien dem französischen König und dem österreichischen Kaiser ein Dorn im Auge. Mozart gelangte jedoch an eine anonym verfasste deutsche Übersetzung und schlug Da Ponte den Stoff für ihre Zusammenarbeit vor, ohne dass es zunächst einen Auftrag für die Oper gegeben hatte.
Um der Zensur standzuhalten, verbarg Mozart den politischen Sprengstoff in der Musik: Der Diener Figaro eignet sich das höfische Menuett für seinen Kampf gegen den Grafen an, zu dessen Tanz er nun den Ton angeben wird. Die von ihm entfachte Aufregung treibt die Fantasie der Gräfin und Susannas umso mehr an, sich mit eigenen Intrigen an Figaros Spielchen zu beteiligen. Es sind die Frauen, die die Verwirrungen im nächtlichen Garten anstiften. Die Männer tappen zielstrebig in die Fallen. Das finale Flehen des Grafen um Verzeihung mag eine zuvor gültige Ordnung wieder herstellen, doch die anderen Charaktere bleiben beschädigt zurück. Zwischen sämtlichen Figuren agiert Cherubino, den Mozart einer Sängerin überantwortet, um in mehreren Verkleidungsaktionen die sexuellen Zwischentöne in den Vordergrund holen zu können. Ins Absurde gesteigerte Ensembleszenen stehen tiefen Bekenntnissen menschlicher Gefühle gegenüber. Beide Arien der Gräfin sind vom Tod durchdrungen — im Tonfall ihrer zweiten Arie knüpfte der Komponist an das Agnus Dei seiner Krönungsmesse an. Sei es der sich aufplusternde Bartolo oder der wütende Graf: Die gekränkte männliche Eitelkeit gefährdet alle Anwesenden. Der jungen Barbarina behält Mozart die einzige Arie in einer Molltonart vor, nachdem sie kurz zuvor beiläufig offenbart hat, dass der Graf sich schon oft an ihr vergangen habe.

Seine radikale Auseinandersetzung mit Mozarts Opern bei den Salzburger Festspielen setzt der Regisseur Martin Kušej nach Don Giovanni 2002 und La clemenza di Tito 2003 nun mit Le nozze di Figaro fort. Der französische Dirigent und Experte für historisch informierte Aufführungspraxis Raphaël Pichon leitet nach seinem Festspieldebüt 2018 seine erste Salzburger Opernproduktion.

Olaf A. Schmitt

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Videos

12. Januar 2023
Figaro | Salzburger Festspiele 2023_1

Programm Navigator