Rebecca Horn, Geburt der Umarmung, 2006 · Ei, Löffel, Zahnradkonstruktion · Privatbesitz, Foto: Heinz Hefele, © Bildrecht Wien, 2021
About the production

‘A man rules in his home and in war, And in a foreign land he finds recourse; Possessions gladden him, victory crowns him, He lives assured of honourable death. But strict and narrow is a woman’s fortune!’

Who is Iphigenia today? – A figure rooted in myth, who we encounter in numerous enigmatic representations from various centuries. Can she emancipate herself from the gaze of her authors?
For Euripides, writing in the 5th century BC, Iphigenia is the ideal sacrificial offering. Cruelly deceived by her father Agamemnon, she believed she was to be married to Achilles, but instead agrees to be sacrificed so that the Trojan War can go ahead. The goddess Artemis rescues her at the last minute and takes her far away from home, to the land of the Taurians, where she serves for many years as a priestess.
From there, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe sends Iphigenia – as a woman – to fight for the soul of humanity. In his 1779 play Iphigenie auf Tauris she wants to interrupt the never-ending cycle of violence. She succeeds in ending the barbaric custom of sacrificing strangers, but as soon as she refuses to marry King Thoas, the sacrifices – which she is obliged to perform – are reintroduced. The leverage she uses to save herself and her brother Orestes can be ascribed not only to the persuasive power of German idealism in Goethe’s writing, but also to the feelings she arouses in Thoas. Another factor is undoubtedly her ability to reason with the love-struck ruler rather than deceiving him with a trick, as she does in Euripides’ plot.
In Richard Wagner’s 1847 revision of Christoph Willibald Gluck’s opera Iphigénie en Aulide, Iphigenia is a completely blank slate for projections: a woman who saves her father and all the Greeks by offering herself as a sacrifice.

‘Get to grips with your narratives’, demands Joan of Arc in Ewelina Marciniak’s production at the Schillertage 2021. For long enough as it is, female characters in literature have only loved and suffered. By splitting Iphigenia into a younger self and a retrospective older self, as well as by placing the story in a modern family setting, Marciniak aims again to take stock from within the present. Iphigenia has many obligations to fulfil as daughter, a sister and a priestess, and is subjected to numerous expectations by others. But what does she want? Caught between work and family, what does a woman sacrifice herself for in this day and age? And what about Clytemnestra, her mother? In the antique world, her story has a clear logic – Clytemnestra’s murder of Iphigenia’s father avenges the sacrifice of her daughter. But does she genuinely have no idea of how to protect herself and her daughter without one sacrifice inevitably leading to another?
Marciniak’s work is detailed and thorough in its approach to canonical material, uncovering possibilities and injecting them into current discourses with playful relish. In 2015 the Polish director gained recognition as a principled theatre maker when she managed to prevent the indirect censorship by conservative nationalist forces of a Jelinek production she directed in her native country. In solidarity with fellow artists at home, she steadfastly continues to resist the reshaping of the Polish cultural landscape. Marciniak has also been working in German-language theatres for several years, most recently directing Die Jakobsbücher (The Books of Jacob) at the Thalia Theater. In this staging of the novel by Nobel Prize laureate Olga Tokarczuk, she provocatively confronted a right-wing understanding of history and politics decreed from above.
As an important innovative force in contemporary European theatre, she has been awarded numerous prizes for her visually powerful and sensual productions. In 2020 Marciniak received the FAUST Theatre Prize in the directing category for her adaptation of Der Boxer, based on Szczepan Twardoch’s novel Król. For this co-production with the Salzburg Festival, she is working with the ensemble of the Thalia Theater for the third time.

Susanne Meister
Translation: Sebastian Smallshaw

read more collapse

Video

22. December 2021
Iphigenia | Salzburg Festival 2022

Programme Navigator

Rebecca Horn, Geburt der Umarmung, 2006 · Ei, Löffel, Zahnradkonstruktion · Privatbesitz, Foto: Heinz Hefele, © Bildrecht Wien, 2021
Zur Produktion

„Zu Haus und in dem Kriege herrscht der Mann,

Und in der Fremde weiß er sich zu helfen.

Ihn freuet der Besitz, ihn krönt der Sieg, Ein ehrenvoller Tod ist ihm bereitet. Wie eng gebunden ist des Weibes Glück!“

Wer ist Iphigenie heute? – Eine im Mythos verwurzelte Figur, die uns in vielen Vexierbildern aus verschiedensten Jahrhunderten entgegenkommt. Kann sie sich emanzipieren vom Blick ihrer Autoren? Bei Euripides, im 5. Jahrhundert vor Christus, ist Iphigenie das perfekte Opfer. Böse getäuscht von ihrem Vater Agamemnon wird sie nicht mit Achill verheiratet, sondern willigt in ihre eigene Opferung ein – damit der große Krieg gegen Troja beginnen kann. In letzter Minute durch die Göttin Artemis von der Schlachtbank gerettet, muss sie lange Jahre fern der Heimat im Land der Taurer als Priesterin dienen.
Von dort schickt Johann Wolfgang von Goethe sie 1779 – als Frau – in den Kampf um Humanität. Seine Iphigenie auf Tauris will den ewigen Kreislauf der Gewalt unterbrechen. Zwar gelingt es ihr, den barbarischen Brauch des Fremdenopfers abzuschaffen, doch kaum weist sie den Herrscher Thoas zurück, wird erneut von ihr verlangt zu töten. Dass sie sich und ihren Bruder Orest retten kann, verdankt sie bei Goethe nicht nur der Überzeugungskraft des deutschen Idealismus, sondern auch den Gefühlen, die sie bei Thoas weckt. Und wohl auch dem Umstand, dass sie es versteht, den verliebten Herrscher umzustimmen statt ihn mit einer List zu hintergehen, wie Euripides das noch für sie vorgesehen hatte.
Bei Richard Wagner – in seiner Bearbeitung von Christoph Willibald Glucks Oper Iphigénie en Aulide aus dem Jahr 1847 – bleibt Iphigenie ganz und gar Projektionsfläche: Eine Frau rettet den Vater – und das ganze griechische Volk, indem sie sich selbst opfert.

„Kommt mal klar mit euren Narrativen“, forderte Johanna von Orléans in Ewelina Marciniaks Inszenierung bei den Schillertagen 2021. Frauenfiguren haben in der Literatur schließlich lange genug nur geliebt und gelitten. Mit der Aufspaltung ihrer Iphigenia in ein junges und ein sich erinnerndes älteres Selbst und der Verortung der Geschichte in einem modernen Familienkosmos versucht Marciniak eine weitere Standortbestimmung in der Gegenwart. Als Tochter, Schwester und Priesterin hat Iphigenia viele Verpflichtungen, ist vielen fremden Erwartungen ausgesetzt. Aber was will sie selbst? Wofür opfert sich eine Frau in unserer Zeit, eingespannt zwischen Beruf und Familie? Und Klytämnestra, ihre Mutter? In der antiken Welt ist die Geschichte der Herrscherin klar – ihr Mord an Iphigenies Vater rächt die Opferung der Tochter. Aber hat sie nicht doch eine Vorstellung davon, wie sie sich und ihre Tochter schützen kann, ohne dass ein Opfer das andere nach sich zieht?
Präzise und konsequent legt die polnische Regisseurin in ihren Arbeiten das Potenzial tradierter Stoffe frei, um es lustvoll und spielerisch in aktuelle Diskurse einzuspeisen. 2015 machte sich Marciniak einen Namen als engagierte Theatermacherin, als es ihr im nationalkonservativen Polen gelang, eine indirekte Zensur ihrer Jelinek-Inszenierung zu verhindern. Im Schulterschluss mit Künstler*innen ihres Heimatlandes wehrt sie sich auch weiterhin konsequent gegen die Umgestaltung der polnischen Kulturlandschaft. Seit mehreren Jahren inszeniert Marciniak auch im deutschsprachigen Theater. Zuletzt setzte sie sich in der Inszenierung Die Jakobsbücher der Nobelpreisträgerin Olga Tokarczuk am Thalia Theater provokant mit einem rechten, von oben verordneten Geschichts- und Politikverständnis auseinander.
Als wichtige innovative Kraft des europäischen Gegenwartstheaters wurden ihre bildstarken, sinnlichen Inszenierungen bereits mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet. 2020 bekam Marciniak für ihre Adaption Der Boxer nach dem Roman von Szczepan Twardoch den FAUST Theaterpreis in der Kategorie Regie. Für die Koproduktion Iphigenia mit den Salzburger Festspielen arbeitet sie zum dritten Mal mit dem Ensemble des Thalia Theater zusammen.

Susanne Meister

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Video

22. Dezember 2021
Iphigenia | Salzburger Festspiele 2022

Programm Navigator