Biography

Vienna Philharmonic

Current as of August 2021

There is perhaps no other musical en­semble more closely associated with the history and traditions of European classical music than the Vienna Philharmonic. Over the past 179 years, the orchestra has ex­perienced and influenced musical history around the world.
The fascination that the orchestra has held since its foundation by Otto Nicolai in 1842 for prominent composers and con­ductors, as well as for audiences all over the world, is based upon the maintenance of a homogenous musical style which is care­fully bequeathed from one generation to the next, as well as a unique history and administrative structure. The basic pillars are a democratic organization that places the entire artistic and management decision-­making processes in the hands of the mu­sicians, as well as a close symbiosis with the Orchestra of the Vienna State Opera. The statutes of the Vienna Phil­harmonic state that only musicians from the opera orches­tra can become members of the Vienna Philharmonic.

The Vienna Philharmonic’s touring activities started at the beginning of the 20th century and have since taken the orchestra to all continents on the globe. In recent years, this has included regularly scheduled concerts in Germany, Japan, the USA and China. Its relationship with Japan and Japanese audiences is so close that even during the pandemic year of 2020 the orchestra’s tour of the country took place following the implementation of extensive security measures and a tour-long quarantine. Since the beginning of the pandemic, the Vienna Philharmonic has taken a leading role through testing and studies and became the first orchestra in the world to play concerts for live audiences after the initial lockdown in June.

The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra Aca­demy was founded in 2018. The Academy students are selected according to a strict, internationally-oriented audition process and trained at the highest level over a two-year course of study. The first 12 aca­demicians started their studies in Vienna on 1 September 2019.
The Vienna Philharmonic has made it its mission to impart music’s humanitarian message into the daily lives and conscious­ness of its listeners. From the very beginn­ing, the orchestra has displayed a strong social conscience, characterized by its commitment to individuals in need and the fostering of young musicians. To this day, the orchestra performs numerous benefit concerts and develops initiatives for the disadvantaged.

The Vienna Philharmonic gives more than 40 concerts in Vienna every year, includ­ing the New Year’s Day Concert and the Sum­mer Night Concert at Schönbrunn, both of which are broadcast around the world. The orchestra has also had an annual summer residency at the Salzburg Festival since 1922 and with more than 50 international concerts a year the Vienna Philharmonic is established as one of the world’s finest orchestras.
The orchestra has been the recipient of numerous prizes and awards over the course of its history. It has been supported by its exclusive sponsor Rolex since 2008.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

orchestra Vienna Philharmonic
open gallery
Vienna Philharmonic orchestra Helga Rabl-Stadler Markus Hinterhäuser
open gallery
Vienna Philharmonic orchestra Helga Rabl-Stadler Markus Hinterhäuser Florian Wiegand
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Wiener Philharmoniker

Stand: August 2021

Kaum ein anderer Klangkörper wird enger mit der Geschichte und Tradition der euro­päischen klassischen Musik in Verbindung gebracht als die Wiener Philharmoniker. Im Laufe seines nunmehr 179-jährigen Beste­hens prägte das Orchester das musikalische Weltgeschehen.

Die Faszination, die die Wiener Philharmoniker seit ihrer Gründung durch Otto Nicolai im Jahre 1842 auf die größten Komponisten und Dirigenten sowie auf das Publikum in aller Welt ausüben, beruht auf der bewusst gepflegten, von einer Generation auf die nächste weitergegebenen Homogenität des Musizierens und auch auf der einzigartigen Geschichte und Struktur des Orchesters. Tragende Säulen sind bis heute die demokratische Grundstruktur, die die gesamten künstlerischen und organisato­rischen Entscheidungen in die Hand der Orchestermitglieder legt, sowie die enge Symbiose mit dem Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper. Die Statuten der Wiener Philharmoniker legen fest, dass nur ein Mitglied des Orchesters der Wiener Staatsoper Mitglied der Wiener Philharmoniker werden kann.

Die internationale Konzerttätigkeit der Wiener Philharmoniker setzte Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts ein. Sie brachte das Orchester quer durch alle Kontinente mit regelmäßigen Gastspielen in Deutschland, Japan, den USA und China. Die Beziehungen zu Japan und dem japanischen Publikum sind so eng, dass das Orchester selbst im Jahr der Pandemie 2020 seine Japan-Tournee unter besonderen Sicherheitsvorkehrungen und in Quarantäne abhalten konnte. Die Wiener Philharmoniker nahmen seit Beginn der Pandemie mit Testungen und Studien eine Vorreiterrolle ein und waren das erste Orchester weltweit, das nach dem ersten Lockdown schon Anfang Juni Konzerte vor Publikum spielen durfte.

2018 wurde die Orchesterakademie der Wiener Philharmoniker gegründet. Die Akademistinnen und Akademisten werden mittels Probespiel in einem strengen, international ausgerichteten Verfahren ausgewählt und zwei Jahre lang auf höchstem Ni­veau ausgebildet. Seit 1. September 2019 absolvieren die ersten zwölf Musikerinnen und Musiker ihre Ausbildung in Wien.

Die Wiener Philharmoniker haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die stets aktuelle ­humanitäre Botschaft der Musik und die gesellschaftliche Verpflichtung in den Alltag und in das Bewusstsein der Menschen zu bringen. Seit jeher zählt ein soziales und karitatives Bewusstsein, der Einsatz für Menschen in Not und die Förderung des musikalischen Nachwuchses zum Selbstverständnis des Orchesters. Bis heute veranstaltet es mehrere Benefizkonzerte und setzt darüber hinaus weltweit zahlreiche Initiativen für Bedürftige.

Mit seinen jährlich mehr als 40 Konzerten in Wien, darunter das Neujahrskonzert und das Sommernachtskonzert im Schloss­park von Schönbrunn, die in viele Länder der Welt übertragen werden, mit seinen seit 1922 stattfindenden alljährlichen Aufführungen bei den Salzburger Festspielen und mit mehr als 50 Konzerten im Rahmen internationaler Gastspiele zählen die Wiener Philharmoniker zu den führenden Orchestern der Welt.

Das Orchester wurde im Laufe seines Be­stehens mit zahlreichen Preisen und Ehrungen ausgezeichnet. Seit 2008 wird es von Rolex als Exklusivsponsor unterstützt

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Orchester Wiener Philharmoniker
Galerie öffnen
Wiener Philharmoniker Orchester Helga Rabl-Stadler Markus Hinterhäuser Florian Wiegand
Galerie öffnen
Wiener Philharmoniker Orchester Helga Rabl-Stadler Markus Hinterhäuser
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen