Biography

Romeo Castellucci

Current as of August 2019

Romeo Castellucci was born in Cesena, Italy, in 1960 and studied painting and scenography at the Academy of Fine Arts in Bologna. In 1981 he founded the theatre collective Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio with Claudia Castellucci and Chiara Guidi. He has directed numerous productions which he has authored himself and for which he also designed the sets, costumes and lighting.

Romeo Castellucci is well known as a the­atre artist whose work is based on the totality of the arts and aims at creating an integral, holistic perception. He has also written several theoretical essays on dir­ecting, drawing on his own experience of the theatre. His productions are character­ized by dramatic lines that are not subject to the primacy of literature, but rather make of theatre a plastic, complex art, rich with visions.

Since 2011 he has undertaken several projects independently of the Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio. His work is regularly pre­sented and commissioned by the most pres­t­igious theatres, opera houses and inter­national festivals. Among his most recent productions are Sul concetto di volto nel figlio di Dio with the Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio (2011), Wagner’s Parsifal (2011), The Four Seasons Restaurant with the Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio (2012), Hyperion: Briefe eines Terroristen after Hölderlin (2013), Gluck’s Orfeo et Euridice (2014), Morton Feldman’s Neither (2014) and Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps (2014), Schoenberg’s Moses und Aron at the Paris Opéra (2015, revived at Madrid’s Teatro Real in 2016), Honegger’s Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher at the Opéra de Lyon (2017), Tannhäuser at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich (2017), Henze’s Das Floß der Medusa at the Dutch National Opera in Amsterdam (2018), Salome at the Salzburg Festival (2018), Die Zauberflöte at La Monnaie in Brussels (2018), Alessandro Scarlatti’s Il primo omi­cidio at the Paris Opéra (2019) and Mozart’s Requiem at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence (2019).

In 2005 Romeo Castellucci was the dir­ector of the theatre section of the Venice Biennale and in 2008 he was an associate artist of the 62nd edition of the Festival d’Avignon.

Romeo Castellucci has received numer­ous prizes and awards. In 2000 he received the European Theatre Prize for New The­atrical Realities and in 2002 was appointed Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the French minister of culture. In 2013 the Venice Biennale awarded him its Golden Lion for his life’s work. In 2014 he was awarded an honorary doctorate in music and theatre by the University of Bologna and was nominated Director of the Year by Opernwelt magazine. In 2017 his produc­tion of Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher was named Production of the Year.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Romeo Castellucci Director Direction
open gallery
Romeo Castellucci Director Direction
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Romeo Castellucci

Stand: Juli 2021

Romeo Castellucci, 1960 in Cesena (Italien) geboren, studierte Malerei und Bühnenbild an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Bologna. 1981 gründete er gemeinsam mit Claudia Castellucci und Chiara Guidi das Theaterkollektiv Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio. Er hat zahlreiche Produktionen inszeniert, die er als Autor, Regisseur, Bühnen- und Kostümbildner sowie Lichtdesigner verantwortete.

Castellucci ist als Theaterkünstler bekannt, dessen Arbeiten auf eine ganzheitliche Wahrnehmung der Gesamtheit der Künste abzielen, und hat auf Grundlage seiner eigenen Theatererfahrung auch mehrere theoretische Essays über Regie verfasst. Die dramatische Struktur seiner Produktionen folgt nicht dem Primat der Literatur, sondern wurzelt im Verständnis von Theater als komplexer und bildgewaltiger plastischer Kunst.

Seit 2011 hat Castellucci auch unabhängig von der Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio individuelle Projekte realisiert. Seine Arbeiten führen ihn regelmäßig an die renommiertesten Theater und Opernhäuser sowie zu internationalen Festivals. Zu seinen jüngsten Produktionen zählen Sul concetto di volto nel figlio di Dio (mit der Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio, 2011), Wagners Parsifal (2011), The Four Seasons Restaurant (mit der Socìetas Raffaello Sanzio, 2012), Hyperion – Briefe eines Terroristen nach Hölderlin (2013), Glucks Orfeo ed Euridice (2014), Feldmans Neither (2014), Strawinskys Le Sacre du printemps (2014), Schönbergs Moses und Aron an der Pariser Opéra (2015, mit Wiederaufnahme am Teatro Real in Madrid, 2016), Honeggers Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher an der Opéra de Lyon (2017, mit Wiederaufnahme am Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel, 2019), Tannhäuser an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München (2017), Henzes Das Floß der Medusa an der Niederländischen Nationaloper in Amsterdam (2018), Salome bei den Salzburger Festspielen (2018 und 2019), Die Zauberflöte an der Monnaie (2018, in Koproduktion mit der Opéra de Lille), Alessandro Scarlattis Il primo omicidio an der Pariser Opéra (2019, mit Wiederaufnahme an der Berliner Staatsoper), A Paixão (Bachs Matthäus-Passion) am Centro Cultural de Belém in Lissabon (2019) und Mozarts Requiem beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence (2019).

2005 leitete Castellucci die Theatersektion der Biennale von Venedig, und 2008 war er „artiste associé“ der 62. Ausgabe des Festival d’Avignon.

Castellucci erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen. 2000 wurde ihm der Europäische Theaterpreis für Neue Theaterrealitäten verliehen. 2002 ernannte ihn der französische Kulturminister zum Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. 2013 erhielt er bei der Biennale von Venedig den Goldenen Löwen für sein Lebenswerk. 2014 wurde ihm von der Universität Bologna das Ehrendoktorat in Musik und Theater verliehen. Von der Zeitschrift Opernwelt wurde er 2014 als Regisseur des Jahres (für Orfeo ed Euridice), 2017 als Bühnenbildner des Jahres (für Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher) und 2019 als Regisseur sowie Bühnenbildner des Jahres (für Salome) ausgezeichnet.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Romeo Castellucci Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Romeo Castellucci Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Romeo Castellucci Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen