Biography

Piersandra Di Matteo

Current as of August 2019

Piersandra Di Matteo is an Italian per­form­ing arts theorist, dramaturge and freelance curator. She is currently a research fellow at Venice’s IUAV University working on the project ‘INCOMMON: In Praise of Com­mu­nity. Shared Creativity in Arts and Politics in Italy (1959–79)’. The project is funded by the European Research Council. Her the­oretical interests range from post-dramatic theatre to the praxis of curating and from linguistics to contemporary philosophy. Her research in the field of the contemporary performing arts has led to invitations to attend conferences and hold seminars at inter­national research centres and uni­ver­sities in Hong Kong, Rome, Shanghai, London, Singapore, Montréal, Amsterdam, New York, Philadelphia and elsewhere. She was recently a visiting lecturer at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center at New York’s City University. Her articles have been published in specialist journals, art catalogues and anthologies as well as in the context of multimedia projects.

For more than ten years she has been Romeo Castellucci’s closest theoretical as­sistant and dramaturge, working with him at Europe’s foremost theatres and museums as well as at international festivals, including the Festival d’Avignon, the Ruhrtriennale, the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels, the Schaubühne in Berlin, the Vienna Festival, the Paris Opéra, the Hamburg State Opera, the Opéra de Lyon, the Bavarian State Opera, the Dutch National Opera, the Salzburg Festival, BOZAR in Brussels and Lisbon’s Belém Cultural Centre.

She has also developed projects in asso­ciation with international theatre festi­vals, theatres and galleries and acted as theor­etical consultant for various artists and per­formers. Among her numerous projects as a curator is the multi-format project E la volpe disse al corvo, which was awarded the Premio UBU in 2014 as the Best Cura­torial-Organizational Project of the Year. She is currently curating the Atlas of Tran­sitions Biennale for the Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione (Bologna, 2018–20).

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Piersandra Di Matteo Dramaturgy
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Piersandra Di Matteo

Stand: August 2019

Die Theatertheoretikerin, Dramaturgin und freie Kuratorin Piersandra Di Matteo ist derzeit Forschungsstipendiatin im Rahmen des vom Europäischen Forschungsrat (ERC) finanzierten Projekts „INCOMMON. In ­praise of community. Shared creativity in arts and politics in Italy (1959–1979)“ an der Universität IUAV in Venedig. Ihre theoretischen Interessen reichen vom postdramatischen Theater bis zur Praxis des Kuratierens, von der Linguistik bis zur zeitgenössischen Philosophie. Aufgrund ihrer Forschungen im Bereich der darstellenden Künste der Gegenwart erhielt sie Einladungen zu Konferenzen und zur Abhaltung von Seminaren an internationalen Forschungszentren und Universitäten, u.a. in Hongkong, Rom, Shanghai, London, Singapur, Montréal, Amsterdam, New York und Philadelphia; kürzlich war sie Gastdozentin am Martin E. Segal Theatre Center der City University of New York. Ihre Aufsätze erschienen in internationalen Fachmagazinen, Kunstkatalogen und Aufsatzsammlungen sowie im Rahmen von Multimediaprojekten.

Seit über zehn Jahren ist Piersandra Di Matteo die engste theoretische Mitarbeiterin und Dramaturgin von Romeo Castellucci, mit dem sie an führenden europäischen Theatern und Museen sowie bei internationalen Festivals zu Gast war, darunter das Festival d’Avignon, die Ruhrtriennale, das Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel, die Schau­bühne in Berlin, die Wiener Festwochen, die Pariser Opéra, die Staatsoper Hamburg, die Opéra de Lyon, die Bayerische Staats­oper in München, die Niederländische Nationaloper in Amsterdam, die Salzburger Festspiele, BOZAR in Brüssel und das Kulturzentrum von Belém (CCB) in Lissabon.

Außerdem entwickelte sie Projekte in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Theaterfestivals, Theatern und Galerien und fungierte als theoretische Beraterin für verschiedene Künstler und Performer. Zu ihren zahlreichen Projekten als Kuratorin zählt das Multiformat-Projekt E la volpe disse al corvo, das mit dem Premio UBU als „bestes kuratorisch-organisatorisches Projekt“ des Jahres 2014 ausgezeichnet wurde. Zurzeit kuratiert sie für die Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione die Atlas of Transitions Biennale (Bologna 2018–2020).

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Piersandra Di Matteo Dramaturgie
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen