Biography

Philippe Jaroussky

Current as of June 2019

French countertenor Philippe Jaroussky has established a reputation for himself as one of the leading singers currently before the public. He was named Young Singer of the Year at the French Victoires de la Musique in 2004 and Singer of the Year in 2007 and 2010. In 2008 and 2016 he was named Singer of the Year at the Echo Klassik Awards.

Philippe Jaroussky’s singing is notable for its technical mastery that allows him to impress audiences with subtle nuances as much as with vocal acrobatics. In the field of Baroque music his extraordinarily wide-ranging repertoire extends from Monteverdi, Giovanni Felice Sances and Luigi Rossi to Handel and above all Vivaldi. Tireless in his research, he has played a significant role in the rediscovery of composers such as Caldara, Porpora, Steffani, Telemann and Johann Christian Bach.

More recently Philippe Jaroussky has joined forces with the pianist Jérôme Ducros to explore the world of the French mélodie and has performed Berlioz’s Les Nuits d’été in the Auditorio Nacional in Madrid and in the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg. He has also taken an increasing interest in contemporary music. In 2008 he premiered Marc-André Dalbavie’s song cycle Sonnets de Louise Labé and in March 2016 appeared in the world premiere of Kaija Saariaho’s opera Only the Sound Remains with the Dutch National Opera, the principal role in which was written for him.

Philippe Jaroussky has worked with all the leading ensembles in the world of early music and performed to great acclaim in the most prestigious concert halls and at major international festivals. In 2002 he founded Ensemble Artaserse, with which he has appeared all over Europe.

His extensive discography includes a number of recordings of Vivaldi’s works made with Ensemble Matheus under Jean-Christophe Spinosi and released as part of Naïve’s Vivaldi Edition. He has for many years been an exclusive Erato / Warner Classics artist and received numerous awards for his recordings.

He recently realized a project that had long been close to his heart, his Académie Musicale Philippe Jaroussky, the aim of which is to support young musicians from every sociocultural milieu, especially those who are culturally isolated, and provide them with an original, wide-ranging and challenging education. The Académie is housed at La Seine Musicale, a new cultural centre at Boulogne-Billancourt.

Philippe Jaroussky was named a Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres in 2009.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Singer Philippe Jaroussky Tenor
open gallery
Philippe Jaroussky Singer Countertenor
open gallery
Philippe Jaroussky Singer Countertenor
open gallery
Philippe Jaroussky Singer Countertenor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Philippe Jaroussky

Stand: April 2019

Der Countertenor Philippe Jaroussky hat sich als einer der bedeutendsten Sänger der internationalen Musikwelt etabliert. Bei den französischen Victoires de la Musique wurde er 2004 als sängerische Entdeckung des Jahres, 2007 und 2010 dann als Sänger des Jahres ausgezeichnet; 2008 und 2016 erhielt er den Echo Klassik als Sänger des Jahres.

Dank seiner meisterhaften Technik beeindruckt Philippe Jaroussky mit feinen Nuancierungen ebenso wie mit virtuoser Stimmakrobatik. Im Bereich der barocken Musik reicht sein außerordentlich breites Repertoire von Monteverdi, Giovanni Felice Sances und Luigi Rossi bis zu Händel und vor allem Vivaldi. Als unermüdlicher Forscher hatte er auch bedeutenden Anteil an der Wiederentdeckung von Komponisten wie Caldara, Porpora, Steffani, Telemann und Johann Christian Bach.

In jüngerer Zeit erkundete Philippe Jaroussky gemeinsam mit dem Pianisten Jérôme Ducros ein vielfältiges französisches Liedrepertoire und sang Berlioz’ Les Nuits d’été im Auditorio Nacional in Madrid und in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie. Mit zunehmender Faszination widmet er sich auch der zeitgenössischen Musik. 2008 brachte er Marc-André Dalbavies Liederzyklus Sonnets de Louise Labé zur Uraufführung. Im März 2016 folgte an der Niederländischen Nationaloper Kaija Saariahos Oper Only the Sound Remains, deren Hauptrolle für seine Stimme komponiert wurde.

Philippe Jaroussky arbeitet mit den führenden Ensembles für Alte Musik zusammen und feiert in den renommiertesten Konzerthäusern und bei namhaften Festivals Erfolge. 2002 gründete er das Ensemble Artaserse, mit dem er in ganz Europa auftritt.

Seine umfangreiche Diskografie umfasst u.a. mehrere Einspielungen im Rahmen der bei Naïve erschienenen Vivaldi-Edition mit Jean-Christophe Spinosi und dem Ensemble Matheus. Philippe Jaroussky ist seit vielen Jahren Exklusivkünstler von Erato/Warner Classics und wurde für seine Aufnahmen mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Kürzlich verwirklichte er ein Projekt, das ihm besonders am Herzen liegt: die Académie Musicale Philippe Jaroussky. Sie verfolgt das Ziel, junge Musiker aus allen – insbesondere isolierten – soziokulturellen Milieus durch originellen, breitgefächerten und anspruchsvollen Unterricht zu fördern. Die Akademie hat ihren Sitz im neuen Kulturzentrum La Seine Musicale in Boulogne-Billancourt.

2009 wurde Philippe Jaroussky zum Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres ernannt.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Sänger Philippe Jaroussky Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Philippe Jaroussky Sänger Countertenor
Galerie öffnen
Philippe Jaroussky Sänger Countertenor
Galerie öffnen
Philippe Jaroussky Sänger Countertenor
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen