Biography

Philippe Herreweghe

Current as of July 2019

Philippe Herreweghe was born in Ghent and studied at both the university and music conservatory in his hometown. During his student years, in 1970, he founded and began conducting Collegium Vocale Gent.
Philippe Herreweghe’s energetic, authentic and rhetorical approach to Baroque music soon drew praise. In 1977 he founded La Chapelle Royale in Paris, with whom he performed French music of the 17th century. He also founded several other ensembles, making historically appropriate interpretations of repertoire stretching from the Renaissance to the present day, including Ensemble Vocal Européen, specializing in Renaissance polyphony, and the Orchestre des Champs-Élysées, founded in 1991 with the aim of playing pre-Romantic and Romantic repertoire on original instruments.
Since 1997 Philippe Herreweghe has been attached to the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra. He is also in great demand as a guest conductor with orchestras such as the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra.
The 2018/19 season saw him perform Mozart’s Requiem at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Bach’s Mass in B Minor at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and at the Palau de la Música Catalana, Barcelona, as well as Dvořák’s Requiem at the Musikfest Berlin.
His forthcoming projects include appearances with the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra in London, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome and the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra. He is currently artist in residence at the Philharmonie in Luxembourg.
Over the years, an extensive discography of over 120 recordings was created with his various ensembles. Highlights include Bach’s Matthäus-Passion, all symphonies by Beethoven and Schumann, Mahler’s Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Schoenberg’s Pierrot lunaire and Stravinsky’s Symphonie de Psaumes.
Philippe Herreweghe has received numerous awards for his artistic inventiveness and commitment. In 1990 the European music press named him musical personality of the year. Philippe Herreweghe and Collegium Vocale Gent were appointed cultural ambassadors of Flanders in 1993. A year later, Philippe Herreweghe was awarded the Belgian order of Officier des Arts et Lettres and in 1997 was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Catholic University of Leuven. In 2003 he received the French title of Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur. In 2010 the City of Leipzig awarded him its Bach Medal for his services as a performer of Bach’s music. In 2017 Philippe Herreweghe received an honorary doctorate from the University of Ghent.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

conductor Philipp Herreweghe
open gallery
conductor Philipp Herreweghe
open gallery
conductor Philipp Herreweghe
open gallery
conductor Philipp Herreweghe
open gallery
conductor Philipp Herreweghe
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Philippe Herreweghe

Stand: Juli 2019

Philippe Herreweghe wurde in Gent geboren und kombinierte dort sein Universitätsstudium mit einer musikalischen Ausbildung am Konservatorium. Zur selben Zeit begann er zu dirigieren und gründete 1970 das Collegium Vocale Gent.
Schon bald wurde sein lebendiger, authentischer und rhetorischer Ansatz der Barockmusik gelobt. 1977 gründete er in Paris das Ensemble La Chapelle Royale, mit dem er französische Musik des 17. Jahrhunderts zur Aufführung brachte. Von 1982 bis 2002 war er Künstlerischer Leiter der Académies Musicales de Saintes. Zu dieser Zeit gründete er verschiedene weitere Ensembles, mit denen er jeweils ein bestimmtes Repertoire von der Renaissance bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik erarbeitete und präsentierte. So war das Ensemble Vocal Européen auf Renaissancepolyphonie spezialisiert und das 1991 gegründete Orchestre des Champs-Élysées widmet sich der Interpretation des romantischen und vorromantischen Repertoires auf Originalinstrumenten.
Seit 1997 ist Philippe Herreweghe Dirigent des Antwerp Symphony Orchestra. Darüber hinaus ist er ein gefragter Gastdirigent bei Orchestern wie dem Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra und dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich.
Die Saison 2018/19 führte ihn u. a. mit Mozarts Requiem ans Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, mit Bachs h-Moll-Messe ans Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und ans Palau de la Música Catalana, Barcelona, sowie mit Dvořáks Requiem zum Musikfest Berlin.
In den kommenden Spielzeiten sind Engagements bei der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden, beim Cleveland Orchestra, dem Philharmonia Orchestra London, den Wiener Symphonikern, dem Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia sowie beim Shanghai Symphony Orchestra und in Tokio geplant. Zudem ist Philippe Herreweghe Artist in Residence an der Philharmonie Luxembourg.
Im Laufe der Jahre entstand mit seinen verschiedenen Ensembles eine umfangreiche Diskografie von über 120 Aufnahmen. Zu den Höhepunkten zählen u. a. die Matthäus-Passion von Johann Sebastian Bach, sämtliche Symphonien von Ludwig van Beethoven und Robert Schumann, Gustav Mahlers Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Arnold Schönbergs Pierrot lunaire und die Symphonie de Psaumes von Igor Strawinsky.
Für seine künstlerischen Visionen und sein Engagement wurde Philippe Herreweghe verschiedentlich geehrt. 1990 wählte ihn die europäische Musikpresse zur „Musikpersönlichkeit des Jahres“. Zusammen mit dem Collegium Vocale Gent wurde Philippe Herreweghe 1993 zum „Kulturbotschafter Flanderns“ ernannt, ein Jahr später wurde ihm der belgische Orden des Officier des Arts et des Lettres verliehen und 2003 erhielt er in Frankreich den Titel eines Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur. Im Jahr 2010 verlieh ihm die Stadt Leipzig die Bach-Medaille für seine großen Verdienste als Bach-Interpret. Philippe Herreweghe ist Ehrendoktor der Universitäten Leuven und Gent.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Dirigent Philipp Herreweghe
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Philipp Herreweghe
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Philipp Herreweghe
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Philipp Herreweghe
Galerie öffnen
Dirigent Philipp Herreweghe
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen