Biography

Peter Phillips

Current as of May 2019

Peter Phillips has dedicated his life’s work to the research and performance of Renaissance polyphony. Having won a scholarship to Oxford in 1972, he studied Renaissance music with David Wulstan and Denis Arnold and gained experience in conducting small vocal ensembles, already experimenting with the rarer parts of the repertoire.

He founded The Tallis Scholars in 1973, with whom he has appeared in over 2,500 concerts and made over 60 discs, encouraging interest in polyphony all over the world. As a result of his work, Renaissance music has come to be accepted for the first time as part of the mainstream classical repertoire. The Tallis Scholars celebrated their 40th anniversary in 2013, giving 99 concerts worldwide.

Peter Phillips also conducts other specialist ensembles. He is currently working with the BBC Singers, the Netherlands Chamber Choir, the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir and the Chœur de Chambre de Namur. He gives numerous masterclasses and choral workshops internationally every year, including in Rimini, Évora and Ávila. In 2014 he launched the London International A Cappella Choir Competition at St John’s Smith Square, which attracts choirs from all over the world and returned for the third time in June 2017.

In addition to his career as a conductor, Peter Phillips is a well-known writer. Until 2016, he wrote a regular music column for The Spectator for 33 years. In 1995 he became the owner and publisher of The Musical Times, the oldest continuously published music journal in the world. His first book, English Sacred Music 1549–1649, was published by Gimell in 1991, while his second, What We Really Do (published in 2003 and reissued in 2013) offers an unsentimental view of a life on concert tour as well as insights into the structure and performance of polyphonic music. In 2018 BBC Radio 3 broadcast his views on Renaissance polyphony in a series of six hour-long programmes.

In 2005 Peter Phillips was made a Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Minister of Culture. In 2008 he was appointed Reed Rubin director of music at Merton College, Oxford, where he helped establish a new choral foundation. Peter Phillips is now a patron of the Choir and a Bodley fellow of Merton College. In October 2011 this choir made its debut on BBC Radio 3 with a live Choral Evensong service.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Peter Phillips Conductor
open gallery
Peter Phillips Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Peter Phillips

Stand: Mai 2019

Peter Phillips hat sein künstlerisches Schaffen der Erforschung und Aufführung polyphoner Werke der Renaissance gewidmet. Nachdem er 1972 ein Stipendium für die Universität Oxford erhalten hatte, studierte Peter Phillips Renaissancemusik bei David Wulstan und Denis Arnold. Erste Erfahrung sammelte er durch Dirigate bei kleineren Vokalensembles, wobei er mit Raritäten des Repertoires experimentierte.

1973 gründete er The Tallis Scholars, mit denen er in der Zwischenzeit über 2500 Konzerte gegeben und über 60 Aufnahmen gemacht hat. Damit erweckte er auf der ganzen Welt Interesse an der Polyphonie. Als Ergebnis seiner Arbeit – zu der neben Konzerten und der Einspielung von Aufnahmen auch die Herausgabe neuer Editionen und das Verfassen von Artikeln zählt – wurde die Musik der Renaissance zum ersten Mal als zentraler Teil des Mainstream-Repertoires klassischer Musik wahrgenommen. 2013 feierten die Tallis Scholars ihr 40-jähriges Jubiläum mit einer Serie von 99 Konzerten auf der ganzen Welt.

Neben den Tallis Scholars verbindet Peter Phillips auch mit anderen spezialisierten Ensembles eine intensive Zusammenarbeit. Gegenwärtig arbeitet er auch mit den BBC Singers, dem Niederländischen Kammerchor, dem Estnischen Philharmonischen Kammerchor und dem Chœur de Chambre de Namur zusammen. Jedes Jahr leitet er zahlreiche Meisterklassen und Chorworkshops, u. a. in Rimini, Évora und Ávila. 2014 initiierte er den Internationalen A-cappella-Chorwettbewerb in St. John’s Smith Square in London, an dem Chöre aus aller Welt teilnehmen und der 2017 zum dritten Mal stattfand.

Neben seiner Karriere als Dirigent ist Peter Phillips ein bekannter Schriftsteller. Bis 2016 schrieb er 33 Jahre lang eine regelmäßige Musikkolumne für The Spectator. 1995 wurde er Besitzer und Herausgeber von The Musical Times, der ältesten durchgehend erscheinenden Musikzeitschrift der Welt. Sein erstes Buch, English Sacred Music 1549–1649, wurde 1991 von Gimell verlegt; das zweite, What We Really Do (erschienen 2003 in erster und 2013 in zweiter Auflage) gewährt einen unsentimentalen Blick auf ein Leben auf Konzerttournee sowie Einsichten in die Struktur und Aufführung polyphoner Musik. Im Jahr 2018 widmete BBC Radio 3 Peter Phillips und seinen Ansichten zur Renaissance-Polyphonie eine eigene mehrstündige Sendereihe.

2005 wurde Peter Phillips vom französischen Kulturminister zum Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt. Darüber hinaus ist er Reed Rubin Director of Music sowie Bodley Fellow am Merton College in Oxford, wo er einen neuen Chor aufbaute. Im Oktober 2011 gab dieser Chor sein Debüt im BBC Radio 3 mit einem live übertragenen „Choral Evensong“-Gottesdienst.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Peter Phillips Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Peter Phillips Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen