Biography

Nicola Alaimo

Current as of July 2019

Italian bass Nicola Alaimo is one of the leading singers of his generation. His recent successes include Fra Melitone (La forza del destino), Taddeo (L’italiana in Algeri), Falstaff and Belcore (L’elisir d’amore) at the Metropolitan Opera in New York; Falstaff, Raimbaud (Le Comte Ory), Neri Chiaramantesi in Giordano’s La cena delle beffe, Don Pasquale, Ernesto (Il pirata) and Dandini (La Cenerentola) at La Scala, Milan; Dandini at the 2014 Salzburg Festival; Rossini’s Guillaume Tell at La Monnaie in Brussels, at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and at the Chorégies d’Orange; Fra Melitone, Dandini, Bartolo (Il barbiere di Siviglia) and Paolo (Simon Boccanegra) at the Paris Opéra; Don Pasquale and Gianni Schicchi at the Teatro Real in Madrid; and Francesco (I masnadieri) and Falstaff in Monte Carlo. Other recent highlights have been his Arena di Verona debut as Bartolo, Germont (La traviata) in Toulouse, Geronio (Il turco in Italia) and Marcello (La bohème) in Bologna and his role debut as Rigoletto in Marseille.

Nicola Alaimo can look back on a long and fruitful collaboration with Riccardo Muti, under whose baton he made his Salzburg Festival debut at Whitsun 2008 in Paisiello’s Il matrimonio inaspettato in a production subsequently seen at the Ravenna Festival. Other performances under Muti include Iago (Otello) at the 2008 Salzburg Festival and in Rome, Pharaon (Moïse et Pharaon) at the 2009 Salzburg Festival, at La Scala and in Rome and Don Pasquale at the Vienna Musikverein, in Liège and Cologne, at the Salle Pleyel in Paris, at the Ravenna Festival, on the island of Malta and in Moscow and St Petersburg.

Since making his debut as Dandini at the Rossini Opera Festival, Nicola Alaimo has been closely associated with Pesaro as a leading Rossinian and has been heard there as Bartolo, Aliprando (Matilde di Shabran), Guillaume Tell, Don Pomponio (La gazzetta) and Geronio and the Duke of Ordow (Torvaldo e Dorliska) as well as in a series of concerts.

Among the conductors with whom Nicola Alaimo regularly works are not only Muti but also Bruno Campanella, Ottavio Dantone, Gianluigi Gelmetti, James Levine, Michele Mariotti and Zubin Mehta.

Plans include Mustafà (L’italiana in Algeri), Belcore and Don Pasquale at the Vienna State Opera, Guillaume Tell in Lyon, Falstaff in Budapest, Hong Kong and Madrid, Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola) in Amsterdam and Madrid, where he will also be singing Germont, Malatesta (Don Pasquale) at the 2020 Salzburg Whitsun Festival, Belcore and Ezio (Attila) in Chicago, Mustafà in Zurich and a number of other important productions at the Met.

In 2016 Nicola Alaimo was awarded the prestigious Premio Abbiati by the Italian Music Critics’ Circle.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Adriana Lecouvreur Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Nicola Alaimo
open gallery
Adriana Lecouvreur Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Nicola Alaimo
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Nicola Alaimo

Stand: Juli 2019

Der italienische Bariton Nicola Alaimo ist einer führenden Sängern seiner Generation. Zu seinen Erfolgen der letzten Saisonen zählen Fra Melitone (La forza del destino), Taddeo (L’italiana in Algeri), Falstaff und Belcore (L’elisir d’amore) an der Metropolitan Opera in New York; Falstaff, Raimbaud (Le Comte Ory), Neri Chiaramantesi in Giordanos La cena delle beffe, Don Pasquale, Ernesto (Il pirata) und Dandini (La Cenerentola) an der Mailänder Scala; Dandini bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2014; Rossinis Guillaume Tell an der Monnaie in Brüssel, im Amsterdamer Concertgebouw und bei den Chorégies d’Orange; Fra Melitone, Dandini, Bartolo (Il barbiere di Siviglia) und Paolo (Simon Boccanegra) an der Pariser Opéra; Don Pasquale und Gianni Schicchi am Teatro Real in Madrid sowie Francesco (I masnadieri) und Falstaff in Monte Carlo. Weitere Höhepunkte der jüngeren Zeit waren sein Debüt in der Arena di Verona als Bartolo, Germont (La traviata) in Toulouse, Geronio (Il turco in Italia) und Marcello (La bohème) in Bologna sowie sein Rollendebüt als Rigoletto in Marseille.

Eine fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit verbindet Nicola Alaimo mit Riccardo Muti, unter dessen Leitung er in Paisiellos Il matrimonio inaspettato zu Pfingsten 2008 sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen und danach beim Ravenna Festival gab. Weitere Produktionen unter Muti waren Jago (Otello) bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2008 und in Rom, Pharaon (Moïse et Pharaon) bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2009, an der Scala und in Rom sowie Don Pasquale im Wiener Musikverein, in Liège, Köln, der Salle Pleyel in Paris, beim Ravenna Festival, auf Malta, in Moskau und St. Petersburg.

Seit seinem Debüt als Dandini beim Rossini Opera Festival, ist Nicola Alaimo Pesaro als herausragender Rossini-Interpret eng verbunden und war dort auch als Bartolo, Aliprando (Matilde di Shabran), Guillaume Tell, Don Pomponio (La gazzetta), Geronio und Herzog von Ordow (Torvaldo e Dorliska) sowie in einer Reihe von Konzerten zu erleben.

Zu den Dirigenten, mit denen Nicola Alaimo regelmäßig zusammengearbeitet hat, gehören neben Muti auch Bruno Campanella, Ottavio Dantone, Gianluigi Gelmetti, James Levine, Michele Mariotti und Zubin Mehta.

Zu seinen Plänen zählen Mustafà (L’italiana in Algeri), Belcore und Don Pasquale an der Wiener Staatsoper, Guillaume Tell in Lyon, Falstaff in Budapest, Hong Kong und Madrid, Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola) in Amsterdam und Madrid, wo er auch Germont singen wird, Dottor Malatesta (Don Pasquale) bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen 2020, Belcore und Ezio (Attila) in Chicago, Mustafà (L’italiana in Algeri) in Zürich sowie weitere wichtige Produktionen an der Met.

2016 wurde Nicola Alaimo von der italienischen Musikkritik mit dem renommierten Premio Abbiati ausgezeichnet.

 

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Adriana Lecouvreur Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Nicola Alaimo
Galerie öffnen
Adriana Lecouvreur Salzburger Festspiele 2019 Nicola Alaimo
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen