Biography

Max Emanuel Cencic

Current as of May 2019

Max Emanuel Cencic began his musical training with the Vienna Boys’ Choir and has developed into an exceptionally versatile artist dedicated to the revival of forgotten music of the 18th century. He appears at the world’s leading opera houses and concert halls as well as major international festivals and works regularly with such distinguished conductors as William Christie, René Jacobs, Ottavio Dantone, Diego Fasolis, George Petrou, Emmanuelle Haïm and Riccardo Muti.

As the artistic director of Parnassus Arts Productions he has helped to revive neglected works from the Italian Baroque such as Vinci’s Artaserse and Catone in Utica. Recordings of both these operas garnered numerous awards, including the Echo Klassik Award, the German Record Critics’ Prize and the Diapason d’Or. Max Emanuel Cencic’s solo albums have proved equally impressive and include Venezia, featuring bravura arias from Venetian opera; Rokoko with arias from works by Johann Adolf Hasse; and Arie Napoletane. Many of his appearances have been documented by television channels such as Mezzo and Arte Concert. To mark the 250th anniversary of the death of Nicola Porpora in 2018, a CD recording of Germanico in Germania was released with Cencic in the title role as well as a solo album, Nicola Porpora: Opera Arias, which was awarded a Diapason d’Or and nominated for a 2019 International Opera Award.

Max Emanuel Cencic made his Salzburg debut at the 2017 Whitsun Festival with a recital of arias. Other highlights of recent seasons have included Nerone (L’incoronazione di Poppea) at the Berlin State Opera, Malcom (La donna del lago) in Lausanne, Zagreb and Wiesbaden (the first time the role had been performed by a countertenor) and Arsamene (Serse) at the Karlsruhe Handel Festival. During the 2018/19 season he has been heard at the Theater an der Wien in concert performances of Vinci’s Gismondo, re di Polonia and Vivaldi’s Orlando furioso, in both cases taking the title role. In November 2019 he will return to the Vienna State Opera after an absence of nine years to make his role debut as Polinesso (Ariodante).

Since making his directorial debut with Hasse’s Siroe at the Opéra Royal in Versailles in 2014, Max Emanuel Cencic has directed a number of other productions: not only revivals of Siroe in Wiesbaden and at the Margraves’ Opera House in Bayreuth but also Arminio and Serse at the Handel Festival in Karlsruhe and La donna del lago in Lausanne, Zagreb and Wiesbaden.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Max Emanuel Cencic Singer Countertenor Direction Director
open gallery
Max Emanuel Cencic Singer Countertenor Direction Director
open gallery
Max Emanuel Cencic Singer Countertenor Direction Director
open gallery
Max Emanuel Cencic Singer Countertenor Direction Director
open gallery
Max Emanuel Cencic Singer Countertenor Direction Director
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Max Emanuel Cencic

Stand: Mai 2019

Als äußerst vielseitiger Künstler setzt sich Max Emanuel Cencic, der seine musikalische Ausbildung bei den Wiener Sängerknaben begann, für die Wiederentdeckung der Musik des 18. Jahrhunderts ein. Er singt an den großen Opern- und Konzerthäusern sowie bei führenden Festivals auf der ganzen Welt und arbeitet regelmäßig mit so renommierten Dirigenten wie William Christie, René Jacobs, Ottavio Dantone, Diego Fasolis, George Petrou, Emmanuelle Haïm und Riccardo Muti zusammen.

Als künstlerischer Leiter von Parnassus Arts Productions bringt Max Emanuel Cencic in Vergessenheit geratene Werke des italienischen Barocks wieder zur Aufführung, etwa Vincis Artaserse und Catone in Utica. Die Einspielungen dieser beiden Opern wurden mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem Echo Klassik, dem Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik und dem Diapason d’or. Ebenso sehr überzeugte Max Emanuel Cencic mit seinen Solo-CDs, darunter Venezia mit Glanzstücken der venezianischen Oper, Rokoko mit Arien aus dem Œuvre von Johann Adolf Hasse und Arie Napoletane. Viele seiner Auftritte werden durch TV-Sender wie Mezzo und Arte Concert dokumentiert. Anlässlich des 250. Todestages von Nicola Porpora im Jahr 2018 erschienen eine CD-Aufnahme von Germanico in Germania mit Cencic in der Titelpartie und das Soloalbum Nicola Porpora – Opera Arias, das mit einem Diapason d’Or ausgezeichnet und für die International Opera Awards 2019 nominiert wurde.

2017 gab Max Emanuel Cencic mit einer Arienmatinee sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen. Weitere Höhepunkte der jüngsten Vergangenheit waren Nerone (L’incoronazione di Poppea) an der Berliner Staatsoper, Malcom (La donna del Lago) – in der erstmaligen Interpretation dieser Rolle durch einen Countertenor – in Lausanne, Zagreb und Wiesbaden und Arsamene (Serse) bei den Händel-Festspielen in Karlsruhe. Am Theater an der Wien war er in der Saison 2018/19 in konzertanten Aufführungen in den Titelrollen in Vincis Gismondo, re di Polonia und Vivaldis Orlando furioso zu hören. Im November 2019 wird er nach neun Jahren an die Wiener Staatsoper zurückkehren, um sein Rollendebüt als Polinesso (Ariodante) zu geben.

Seit seiner Inszenierung von Hasses Siroe an der Opéra Royal in Versailles im Jahr 2014 tritt Max Emanuel Cencic auch als Regisseur in Erscheinung. Neben Wiederaufnahmen von Siroe in Wiesbaden und am Markgräflichen Opernhaus in Bayreuth inszenierte er Arminio und Serse bei den Händel-Festspielen in Karlsruhe und La donna del lago in Lausanne, Zagreb und Wiesbaden.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Max Emanuel Cencic Sänger Countertenor Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Max Emanuel Cencic Sänger Countertenor Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Max Emanuel Cencic Sänger Countertenor Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Max Emanuel Cencic Sänger Countertenor Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Max Emanuel Cencic Sänger Countertenor Regie Regisseur
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen