Biography

Lea Desandre

Current as of May 2021

French-Italian mezzo-soprano Lea Desandre was 20 when she was awarded a place to study at William Christie’s Academy, Le Jardin des Voix. In 2017 she was named Vocal Discovery of the Year at the Victoires de la Musique Classique Awards in Paris. She studied with Sara Mingardo in Venice and can also look back on a 12-year period of training as a ballet dancer.

Since 2015 Lea Desandre has been acclaimed in various roles, including Urbain (Les Huguenots), Rosina (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Annio (La clemenza di Tito), Sesto (Giulio Cesare), Dido (Dido and Aeneas), Messaggera (L’Orfeo), Flerida in Cavalli’s Erismena and the title role in Marais’ Alcione. She made her Salzburg Festival debut at Whitsun 2018 in Offenbach’s La Périchole under Marc Minkowski, returning that same summer as Amore and Valletto in L’incoronazione di Poppea under Christie and at Whitsun 2019 for Caldara’s oratorio La morte d’Abel and for a gala concert, Farinelli & Friends, with Cecilia Bartoli. In the summer of 2019 she was heard as Vénus in Orphée aux enfers, and in the summer of 2020 she sang Despina (Così fan tutte) under Joana Mallwitz. In November 2020 she appeared in Hippolyte et Aricie at the Opéra Comique in Paris. After her appearance in a concert performance of La clemenza di Tito at the 2021 Salzburg Whitsun Festival, she will be returning to the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence in June as Cherubino (Le nozze di Figaro).

In 2018 Lea Desandre delighted her audiences at the Opéra Comique in a fully-staged one-woman show, Et in Arcadia ego, with music by Rameau. Concert appearances and song recitals have taken her to London’s Wigmore Hall, the Vienna Musikverein, the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées and the Philharmonie de Paris, the Opéra National de Bordeaux, the Grand Théâtre de Genève, the Sydney Opera House, the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow and Shanghai Symphony Hall. As a committed chamber recitalist she also appears regularly with the lutenist Thomas Dunford and his Ensemble Jupiter. In addition to the above-mentioned conductors, she has also worked with John Eliot Gardiner, Louis Langrée, Raphaël Pichon, Jordi Savall, Emmanuelle Haïm and Leonardo García Alarcón.

Lea Desandre’s CDs include Barricades with Jean Rondeau, Vivaldi with the Jupiter ensemble, Handel: Italian Cantatas with Sabine Devieilhe, Berenice, che fai? with Opera Fuoco and Cities with Thibault Cauvin. To mark the release of her first solo album, Amazones, by Erato, she will embark on a concert tour with the Ensemble Jupiter that will include performances at the Philharmonie de Paris, the Berlin Philharmonie and London’s Wigmore Hall.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Lea Desandre
open gallery
Lea Desandre
open gallery
Lea Desandre Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
Lea Desandre Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
Lea Desandre Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
Lea Desandre Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Lea Desandre

Stand: August 2022

Die französisch-italienische Mezzosopranistin Lea Desandre wurde mit 20 Jahren in William Christies Akademie Le Jardin des Voix aufgenommen und 2017 bei den Victoires de la Musique Classique als Sängerische Entdeckung ausgezeichnet. Sie studierte bei Sara Mingardo in Venedig und kann auch auf eine zwölfjährige Ballettausbildung zurückblicken.

Seit 2015 feierte Lea Desandre Erfolge in Rollen wie Urbain (Les Huguenots), Rosina (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Annio (La clemenza di Tito), Sesto (Giulio Cesare), Dido (Dido and Aeneas), Messaggera (L’Orfeo) und Flerida in Cavallis Erismena sowie in der Titelrolle in Marais’ Alcione. Zu Pfingsten 2018 gab sie in Offenbachs La Périchole unter Marc Minkowski ihr Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wohin sie im Sommer desselben Jahres als Amore und Valletto (L’incoronazione di Poppea) unter Christie zurückkehrte. 2019 war sie in Salzburg zu Pfingsten in Caldaras Oratorium La morte d’Abel sowie einer Farinelli-Gala mit Cecilia Bartoli und im Sommer als Vénus (Orphée aux enfers) zu erleben; im Sommer 2020 folgte Despina (Così fan tutte) unter Joana Mallwitz. Im November 2020 stand sie in Hippolyte et Aricie auf der Bühne der Opéra Comique in Paris. Sie sang die Rolle des Annio in einer konzertanten Aufführung von La clemenza di Tito bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen 2021 und kehrte im Juni 2021 als Cherubino (Le nozze di Figaro) zum Festival d’Aix-en-Provence zurück.

2018 begeisterte Lea Desandre an der Opéra Comique in dem szenischen Soloabend Et in Arcadia ego mit Musik von Rameau. Konzertauftritte und Rezitale führten sie u. a. in die Carnegie Hall und die Alice Tully Hall in New York, die Wigmore Hall in London, den Wiener Musikverein, die Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, das Théâtre des Champs-Élysées und die Philharmonie de Paris, die Opéra National de Bordeaux, das Sydney Opera House, die Tschaikowski-Konzerthalle in Moskau, die Shanghai Symphony Hall, die Opéra Royal de Versailles und den Großen Saal der Stiftung Mozarteum in Salzburg. Als engagierte Kammermusikerin tritt sie regelmäßig mit dem Lautenisten Thomas Dunford und dessen Ensemble Jupiter auf.

Neben den genannten Dirigenten hat Lea Desandre u. a. auch mit Gustavo Dudamel, John Eliot Gardiner, Myung-Whun Chung, Enrique Mazzola, Louis Langrée, Raphäel Pichon, Jordi Savall, Emmanuelle Haïm, Laurence Equilbey, Christophe Rousset und Leonardo García Alarcón sowie mit Regisseurinnen und Regisseuren wie Barrie Kosky, Christof Loy, Netia Jones, Lotte de Beer, Jan Lauwers, Jossi Wieler und Jean-Yves Ruf zusammengearbeitet.

Zu ihren CDs zählen Barricades mit Jean Rondeau, Vivaldi mit dem Ensemble Jupiter, Handel: Italian Cantatas mit Sabine Devieilhe, Berenice, che fai? mit Opera Fuoco und Cities mit Thibault Cauvin. Ihr erstes Soloalbum, Amazone (Erato), das sie mit dem Ensemble Jupiter und Thomas Dunford einspielte, wurde von der Zeitschrift Gramophone als „Editor’s Choice“ geehrt; es enthält Gastauftritte von Cecilia Bartoli, Véronique Gens und William Christie.

Für die Saison 2022/23 ist, neben Auftritten u. a. in Zürich, Salzburg, Paris, Madrid, Wien, Rom, London und Berlin, eine US-Tournee mit Thomas Dunford und dem Jupiter Ensemble geplant.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Lea Desandre Mezzo Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Lea Desandre Mezzo Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Lea Desandre
Galerie öffnen
Lea Desandre
Galerie öffnen
Lea Desandre
Galerie öffnen
Lea Desandre Mezzo Sopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen