Biography

Kristina Hammer

Current as of February 2022

At the beginning of January 2022, Kristina Hammer became President of the world-famous Salzburg Festival, having been selected unanimously for this position by the Festival’s Supervisory Board in November 2021. Her high expertise – Kristina Hammer was a member of the board of the Friends of the Zurich Opera House – and international network as well as her long-standing connection with Salzburg were decisive factors for her appointment. The top manager holds German and Swiss citizenship and was given a contract that runs through 31 December 2026.

Born in Karlsruhe, Germany, in 1968, Kristina Hammer completed her law degree and bar exam, followed by a PhD degree in European business law in Vienna. In her earlier career, she worked for Gerngross, the largest department store chain in Austria in the 1990s. There she was in charge of concept development and later also managing director of “Steffls”, Vienna’s most prestigious luxury department store. From 2000 to 2006 she worked in Great Britain for the premium automotive brands Aston Martin, Jaguar, Land Rover of the parent Ford Motor Company. From 2007 to 2009 she headed the global marketing communications team at the Mercedes-Benz headquarters in Stuttgart.

At the end of the same year, she founded her own strategic brand consulting company, “HammerSolutions”, an international operating company headquartered in Zurich. Kristina Hammer was a non-executive board member of several boards and advisory councils, including the Stöckli Swiss Sports AG, the most well-known Swiss ski manufacturer. As an executive coach (certified at Insead/Fontainebleau), Kristina Hammer advised clients on leadership and change management. She was a visiting lecturer at the St. Gallen University and the ETH in Zurich. In 1998 the mother of two, who is married to an Austrian citizen, published the “Handbook on the Free Movement of Goods in the European Community”.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
Kristina Hammer Salzburg Festival President
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Kristina Hammer

Stand: Januar 2022

Anfang Januar 2022 übernahm Kristina Hammer als Präsidentin die Leitung der weltberühmten Salzburger Festspiele, nachdem sie im November 2021 vom Kuratorium einstimmig für diese Position ausgewählt wurde. Ihre hohe Expertise – Kristina Hammer gehörte zum Vorstand der Freunde des Opernhauses Zürich – und internationale Vernetzung sowie ihr langjähriger Bezug zu Salzburg waren für ihre Bestellung ausschlaggebend. Der Vertrag der Topmanagerin mit Deutscher und Schweizer Staatsbürgerschaft läuft bis zum 31. Dezember 2026.

Die 1968 in Karlsruhe, Deutschland geborene Kristina Hammer schloss ein Jus Studium mit beiden Staatsexamina in Mainz ab und promovierte im Europäischem Wirtschaftsrecht (summa cum laude) in Wien. In ihrer frühen Karriere arbeitete sie für Gerngross, der in den 1990er Jahren größten Kaufhauskette Österreichs. Dort war sie zunächst mit für die neue Konzeption und später auch für die Leitung von Wiens Luxusdepartmentstore, dem Kaufhaus Steffl, verantwortlich. Von 2000 bis 2006 arbeitete Kristina Hammer sieben Jahre in Großbritannien für die Premiummarken Aston Martin, Jaguar, Land Rover des Mutterkonzerns Ford Motor Company. Von 2007 bis 2009 leitete sie das globale Marketing Communications Team von Mercedes-Benz Personenwagen am Hauptsitz in Stuttgart.

Am Ende desselben Jahres erfolgte die Gründung ihrer eigenen Beratungsfirma „HammerSolutions“, einer international tätigen Markenberatung mit Sitz in Zürich. Hammer war Mitglied mehrerer Verwaltungsräte und Beiräte, unter anderem bei der Stöckli Swiss Sports AG, dem bekanntesten Schweizer Skihersteller. Als Executive Coach (Insead/Fontainebleau) beriet Kristina Hammer zu den Themen Leadership und Change-Management und lehrte als Gastdozentin an der Universität St. Gallen sowie der ETH Zürich. 1998 veröffentlichte die mit einem Österreicher verheiratete Mutter von zwei Kindern das „Handbuch zum freien Warenverkehr in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft“.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Kristina Hammer Präsidentin Salzburger Festspiele
Galerie öffnen
Kristina Hammer Präsidentin Salzburger Festspiele
Galerie öffnen
Kristina Hammer Präsidentin Salzburger Festspiele
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen