Biography

Kirill Petrenko

Current as of August 2022

Kirill Petrenko has been chief conductor and artistic director of the Berliner Philharmoniker since the 2019/20 season. He was general music director at the Bavarian State Opera from 2013 to 2020, following posts at the Volksoper in Vienna, the Meiningen State Theatre and the Komische Oper Berlin during the early part of his career. He has also conducted at venues such as the Vienna State Opera, the Semperoper Dresden, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Metropolitan Opera, New York, the Paris Opéra and the Salzburg Festival. From 2013 to 2015 he conducted Der Ring des Nibelungen at the Bayreuth Festival.

For the opening concert of his first season as head of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Kirill Petrenko conducted Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, offering a programmatic declaration of intent to explore the core Classical and Romantic repertoire.

He makes guest appearances with the world’s most prestigious orchestras, among them the Vienna Philharmonic, the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome and the Israel Philharmonic.

Unjustly neglected composers such as Josef Suk and Erich Wolfgang Korngold also play an important role in his concerts. In addition to important works from the 20th century, Kirill Petrenko has conducted numerous symphonic and operatic world premieres. His commitment to contemporary music continues in Berlin. Russian works are also highlighted, with performances of Tchaikovsky’s operas Mazeppa, Iolanta and The Queen of Spades attracting particular attention recently.

Through his direction of projects for the Karajan Academy and concerts with the National Youth Orchestra of Germany, he is committed to the education of young musicians and teaching various aspects of music to young people.

Born in Omsk (Siberia), Kirill Petrenko received his training first in his home town and later in Austria.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Kirill Petrenko Conductor
open gallery
Kirill Petrenko Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Kirill Petrenko

Stand: August 2022

Kirill Petrenko ist seit der Saison 2019/20 Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter der Berliner Philharmoniker. Zuvor war er von 2013 bis 2020 Generalmusikdirektor der Bayerischen Staatsoper, nachdem ihn erste Stationen seiner Laufbahn an die Wiener Volksoper, das Meininger Staatstheater und die Komische Oper Berlin geführt hatten. Zudem gastierte er an Häusern wie der Wiener Staatsoper, der Semperoper Dresden, dem Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Metropolitan Opera in New York und der Pariser Opéra sowie bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Von 2013 bis 2015 leitete er bei den Bayreuther Festspielen den Ring des Nibelungen.

Im Eröffnungskonzert seiner ersten Saison an der Spitze der Berliner Philharmoniker dirigierte Kirill Petrenko Beethovens 9. Symphonie – nicht zuletzt als programmatische Absichtserklärung zur Auseinandersetzung mit dem klassisch-romantischen Kernrepertoire.

Er gastierte bei den bedeutendsten Orchestern der Welt, darunter die Wiener Philharmoniker, das Concertgebouworkest in Amsterdam, das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, das Chicago Symphony Orchestra, das Orchestra dell’Accademia di Santa Cecilia in Rom und das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra.

Eine wesentliche Rolle in seinen Konzerten spielen außerdem zu Unrecht vernachlässigte Komponisten wie Josef Suk und Erich Wolfgang Korngold. Kirill Petrenko hat neben zentralen Werken des 20. Jahrhunderts zahlreiche Uraufführungen symphonischer Werke und abendfüllender Opern dirigiert und setzt sich auch in Berlin für die zeitgenössische Musik ein. Ebenfalls im Fokus stehen russische Werke, zuletzt sorgten die Aufführungen von Tschaikowskis Opern Mazeppa, Jolanthe und Pique Dame für besondere Aufmerksamkeit.

Mit der Leitung von Projekten der Karajan-Akademie und Konzerten des Bundesjugendorchesters setzt sich Kirill Petrenko für die Ausbildung junger Musikerinnen und Musiker ein und widmet sich der Vermittlung von verschiedenen Aspekten der Musik an Heranwachsende.

Geboren im sibirischen Omsk, erhielt Kirill Petrenko seine Ausbildung zunächst in seiner Heimatstadt und später in Österreich.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Kirill Petrenko Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Kirill Petrenko Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen