Biography

John Daszak

Current as of August 2019

Admired for his versatility, range and dramatic power, British tenor John Daszak made his operatic debut as Števa (Jenůfa) at the English National Opera. In addition to his acclaimed Bayreuth debut in 2015 as Loge (Das Rheingold) under Kirill Petrenko, he has made several important role debuts in recent seasons: Herod (Salome) under Henrik Nanasi at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Grishka Kuterma (The Leg­end of the Invisible City of Kitezh) under Marc Albrecht at the Dutch National Opera, the title role in Zemlinsky’s Der Zwerg under Kent Nagano at the Bavarian State Opera and the Drum Major (Wozzeck) for his debuts both at the Berlin State Opera under Daniel Barenboim and at the Salz­burg Festival under Vladimir Jurowski.

Highlights of the 2019/20 season in­clude Aron (Moses und Aron) in concert under Lothar Zagrosek at the George Enescu Fes­tival, the Drum major and the Witch (Hänsel und Gretel) at the Bavarian State Opera, Herod and Agrippa / Mephistopheles (The Fiery Angel) at the Theater an der Wien and Golitsin in a new production of Khovan­shchina under Vladimir Jurowski at the Berlin State Opera.

A leading interpreter of Britten’s operas, John Daszak made his role debut as Cap­tain Vere (Billy Budd) at the Frankfurt Opera, and the same role marked his debut at the Metropolitan Opera under David Robert­son. He sang Peter Grimes at La Scala, Milan, Male Chorus (The Rape of Lucretia) and Prologue / Quint (The Turn of the Screw) at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino and Gustav von Aschenbach (Death in Venice) at the Teatro Real in Madrid.

Boasting an extensive repertoire, other highlights of John Daszak’s recent career include Aron at the Vienna State Opera and the Komische Oper in Berlin, Sergey (Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District) at the English National Opera and at Moscow’s Bolshoi Theatre, Albrecht von Brandenburg (Mathis der Maler) at the Dresden Semper­oper, his first Siegfried in the Grand Théâtre de Genève’s Ring cycle, Jimmy (Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny) at the Komische Oper in Berlin, Aegisth (Elektra) at Covent Garden, Erik (Der fliegende Hol­länder) at the Sydney Opera House, Andrey Khovansky (Khovanshchina) in Frankfurt, Kaufmann (Jakob Lenz) at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence and Alviano Salvago (Die Gezeichneten) in Zurich.

A regular guest at the Bavarian State Opera, John Daszak’s roles there include Captain Vere, Mephistopheles (Doktor Faust), Alwa (Lulu), Golitsin, the Leper (Saint François d’Assise), the Witch, the Drum Major and Robert Scott in Miroslav Srnka’s South Pole.

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

John Daszak Singer Tenor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

John Daszak

Stand: August 2019

Der für seine Vielseitigkeit, seinen Stimm­umfang und seine Bühnenpräsenz bewunderte britische Tenor John Daszak gab sein Bühnendebüt als Števa (Jenůfa) an der English National Opera. Neben seinem um­jubelten Bayreuther Festspieldebüt 2015 als Loge (Das Rheingold) unter Kirill Petrenko gab er in den vergangenen Saisonen eine Reihe von wichtigen Rollendebüts: Er sang Herodes (Salome) unter Henrik Nanasi am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Grischka Kuterma (Die Legende von der ­unsichtbaren Stadt Kitesch) unter Marc Al­brecht an der Niederländischen National­oper, die Titelrolle in Zemlinskys Der Zwerg unter Kent Nagano an der Bayerischen Staatsoper sowie den Tambourmajor (Wozzeck) unter Daniel Barenboim an der Berliner Staats­oper und bei seinem Salzburger Festspieldebüt unter Vladimir Jurowski.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Saison 2019/ 20 zählen Aron (Moses und Aron) konzertant unter Lothar Zagrosek beim George Enes­cu Festival, Tambourmajor und Knusperhexe (Hänsel und Gretel) an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Herodes und Agrippa /Mephistopheles (Der feurige Engel) am Theater an der Wien und Golizyn in einer Neuproduktion von Chowanschtschina ­unter Vladimir Jurowski an der Berliner Staats­oper.

Als ein führender Britten-Interpret gab John Daszak sein Rollendebüt als Captain Vere (Billy Budd) an der Oper Frankfurt und sang diese Partie auch bei seinem Debüt an der Metropolitan Opera New York unter David Robertson. Er gastierte als Peter ­Grimes an der Mailänder Scala, als Male Chorus (The Rape of Lucretia) und Pro­logue / Quint (The Turn of the Screw) beim Maggio Musicale Fiorentino und als Gustav von Aschenbach (Death in Venice) am Teatro Real in Madrid.

John Daszak verfügt über ein außerordentlich breites Repertoire. Weitere Höhepunkte der jüngeren Zeit waren Aron an der Wiener Staatsoper und der Komischen Oper Berlin, Sergej (Lady Macbeth von Mzensk) an der English National Opera und am Moskauer Bolschoi-Theater, Albrecht von Brandenburg (Mathis der Maler) an der Semperoper Dresden, sein erster Siegfried im Ring am Grand Théâtre de Genève, Jimmy (Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny) an der Komischen Oper Berlin, ­Aegisth (Elektra) an Covent Garden, Erik (Der fliegende Holländer) am Sydney Opera House, Andrej Chowanski (Chowan­schtschina) in Frankfurt, Kaufmann (Jakob Lenz) beim Festival d’Aix-en-Provence und Alviano Salvago (Die Gezeichneten) in ­Zürich.

John Daszak ist regelmäßig an der Baye­rischen Staatsoper zu Gast und war dort u.a. als Captain Vere, Mephistopheles (Doktor Faust), Alwa (Lulu), Golizyn, der Aussätzige (Saint François d’Assise), Knusperhexe, Tambourmajor und als Robert Scott in Miro­slav Srnkas South Pole zu erleben.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

John Daszak Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen