Biography

Johannes Martin Kränzle

Current as of July 2020

Johannes Martin Kränzle studied singing with Martin Gründler in Frankfurt and received his earliest operatic engagements in Dortmund, Hanover and the Frankfurt Opera. In recent years he has emerged as one of the leading baritones of his generation and appears regularly at major theatres that include the Salzburg Festival, where he made his debut in 2009 as Valens in Handel’s Theodora and returned the following year for the main role in the world premiere of Rihm’s opera Dionysos, the Bayreuth, Bregenz, Glyndebourne and Lucerne Festivals, La Scala, Milan, and the opera houses in London, Paris, Madrid, Zurich, Geneva, Berlin, Munich, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Cologne, San Francisco, Tel Aviv and Tokyo. He made his debut at New York’s Metropolitan Opera in 2014.

In addition to his operatic commitments, Johannes Martin Kränzle appears regularly as a concert singer and lieder recitalist. He is alsoactive as a composer: his song cycle Lieder um Liebe of 2016 has been performed on frequent occasions. He was named Singer of the Year in a poll of critics undertaken by Opernwelt in 2011 and again in 2018. In 2019 he received the German Theatre Award Der Faust.

Johannes Martin Kränzle’s repertoire embraces over 120 roles ranging from the Baroque to the present day but focusing on Mozart, Wagner and Slav works. Among the conductors with whom he has worked are Barenboim, Bolton, Haitink, Jordan, Vladimir Jurowski, Levine, Luisi, Metzmacher, Pappano, Kirill Petrenko and Tate.

Johannes Martin Kränzle has recorded three CDs of songs with the pianist Hilke Dumno, most recently Das ewige Rätsel (2018) that features Yiddish songs and works by Mahler, Frank Martin and Ravel and that won the German Record Critics’ Award. High points of his work as a concert singer have been Mahler’s Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen at the Budapest Spring Festival, Britten’s War Requiem at the Vilnius Festival and Brahms’s German Requiem under Tate at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino and under Haitink at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw.

In 2015 Johannes Martin Kränzle was diagnosed with an advanced and aggressive form of the bone marrow disorder MDS and underwent a stem cell transplant. His brother Andreas saved his life by donating stem cells of his own.

He celebrated his return to the stage in September 2016 with his acclaimed Covent Garden debut as Don Alfonso (Così fan tutte). His most recent successes include Wozzeck and Ibn-Hakia (Iolanta) at the Paris Opéra, Beckmesser (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg) at the 2017 Bayreuth Festival and his role debut as Don Pasquale in Zurich in December 2019.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Johannes Martin Kränzle
open gallery
Johannes Martin Kränzle - Bariton
open gallery
Johannes Martin Kränzle - Bariton
open gallery
Johannes Martin Kränzle - Bariton
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Johannes Martin Kränzle

Stand: Juni 2020

Johannes Martin Kränzle erhielt nach seinem Gesangsstudium bei Martin Gründler in Frankfurt erste Opernengagements in Dortmund und Hannover sowie an der Oper Frankfurt. In den letzten Jahren hat er sich zu einem der führenden Kavalier- und Charakterbaritone seiner Generation entwickelt und ist regelmäßig an bedeutenden Bühnen zu Gast, darunter die Salzburger Festspiele, wo er 2009 als Valens in Händels Theodora debütierte und 2010 die Hauptrolle in der Uraufführung von Rihms Oper Dionysos übernahm, die Festivals in Bayreuth, Bregenz, Glyndebourne und Luzern, die Mailänder Scala und die Opernhäuser in London, Paris, Madrid, Zürich, Genf, Berlin, München, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Köln, San Francisco, Tel Aviv und Tokio. 2014 debütierte er an der New Yorker Metropolitan Opera.

Neben seinen Opernauftritten widmet sich Johannes Martin Kränzle regelmäßig dem Konzert- und Liedgesang. Er ist auch als Komponist hervorgetreten, zuletzt etwa mit dem vielfach aufgeführten Zyklus Lieder um Liebe (2016). Bei der Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift Opernwelt wurde er 2011 und 2018 als Sänger des Jahres ausgezeichnet. 2019 erhielt er den Deutschen Theaterpreis Der Faust.

Sein Repertoire umfasst über 120 Partien und reicht vom Barock bis in die Gegenwart, wobei Mozart, Wagner und das slawische Repertoire Schwerpunkte bilden. Er hat mit so unterschiedlichen Dirigenten wie Barenboim, Bolton, Haitink, Jordan, Vladimir Jurowski, Levine, Luisi, Metzmacher, Pappano, Kirill Petrenko und Tate zusammengearbeitet.

Johannes Martin Kränzle hat drei Lied-CDs mit dem Pianisten Hilke Dumno aufgenommen, zuletzt das mit dem Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik ausgezeichnete Album Das ewige Rätsel (2018) mit jiddischen Liedern und Werken von Mahler, Frank Martin und Ravel. Höhepunkte seiner Tätigkeit als Konzertsänger waren u.a. Mahlers Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen beim Budapester Frühlingsfestival, Brittens War Requiem beim Vilnius Festival sowie Brahms’ Deutsches Requiem unter Tate beim Maggio Musicale Fiorentino und unter Haitink im Amsterdamer Concertgebouw.
2015 wurde bei Johannes Martin Kränzle eine aggressiv fortschreitende Form der Knochenmarkerkrankung MDS diagnostiziert und er musste sich einer Stammzell-Transplantation unterziehen. Sein Bruder Andreas konnte sein lebensrettender Spender sein.

Im September 2016 feierte er seine Rückkehr auf die Bühne mit seinem umjubelten Debüt am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, als Don Alfonso (Così fan tutte). Zu seinen jüngsten Erfolgen zählen auch Wozzeck und Ibn-Hakia (Iolanta) an der Pariser Opéra, Beckmesser (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg) bei den Bayreuther Festspielen 2017 und im Dezember 2019 sein Rollendebüt als Don Pasquale in Zürich.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Johannes Martin Kränzle
Galerie öffnen
Johannes Martin Kränzle - Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Johannes Martin Kränzle - Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Johannes Martin Kränzle - Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Johannes Martin Kränzle
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen