Biography

Javier Camarena

Current as of March 2020

Acclaimed in the world’s leading opera houses, Mexican tenor Javier Camarena is now widely regarded as the foremost bel canto specialist of his generation. He is only the third singer in the history of the Metropolitan Opera from whom the audience has demanded an encore, and he holds the record for the most encores at the Met.

After his highly praised performances as Ernesto (Don Pasquale) at the Paris Opéra in the spring of 2019 he returned to the house in September 2019 to sing Arturo (I puritani). Other engagements in the 2019/20 season include his role debut as Gualtiero (Il pirata) at Madrid’s Teatro Real, Tonio (La Fille du régiment) in Mexico City and Don Ramiro (La Cenerentola) in Zurich and New York. Following his performances as Ernesto at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival, he will be heard as Elvino (La sonnambula) at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin.

Recitals during the 2019/20 season have taken him and his regular pianist Ángel Rodríguez to the Santander Festival and – for their debut recital – to the Los Angeles Opera. A tour of Spain included appearances at the Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, San Sebastián, the Auditorio Príncipe Felipe in Oviedo, the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia and Madrid’s Auditorio Nacional de Música.

Javier Camarena is also in demand in the world’s major concert halls. His schedule for 2019/20 included three performances of Berlioz’s Grande Messe des morts under Antonio Pappano at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome followed by a series of concert appearances in his native Mexico, gala concerts in Málaga and Palma de Mallorca, his debut with the Orchestre national de l’Île-de-France and two gala concerts at Grafenegg in Lower Austria.

Javier Camarena was born in Xalapa and studied with Cecilia Perfecto at the Universidad Veracruzana before completing his music studies with distinction under Hugo Barreiro and Maria Eugenia Sutti at the University of Guanajuato. He won the first prize at the 2004 Carlo Morelli National Singing Competition in Mexico and in 2005 received the Juan Oncina Prize at the Francisco Viñas Singing Competition in Barcelona, after which he was invited to join the International Opera Studio of the Zurich Opera under the mentorship of Francisco Araiza. Between 2013 and 2016 the Mexican magazine Líderes Mexicanos included him in its list of his country’s leading personalities. In 2014 Quién magazine named him one of the 50 most influential Mexicans.

Javier Camarena made his Salzburg Festival debut at Whitsun 2013. Since then has been heard in Salzburg in several concerts and recitals and also as Belmonte (Die Entführung aus dem Serail), Fenton (Falstaff) and Don Ramiro.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Javier Camarena Opera singer Tenor
open gallery
Javier Camarena
open gallery
Javier Camarena
open gallery
Javier Camarena Opera singer Tenor
open gallery
Javier Camarena Tenor Opera Singer
open gallery
Javier Camarena
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Javier Camarena

Stand: März 2020

Der mexikanische Tenor gilt als der herausragendste Belcanto-Spezialist seiner Generation und wird an den führenden Opernhäusern der Welt gefeiert. Er ist der dritte Sänger in der Geschichte der Metropolitan Opera, von dem das Publikum die Wiederholung einer Arie verlangte, und hält den Rekord für die meisten Zugaben an diesem Haus.
In der Spielzeit 2019/20 kehrte er – nach seiner hochgelobten Interpretation des Ernesto (Don Pasquale) im Frühling 2019 – als Arturo (I puritani) an die Pariser Opéra zurück, gab sein Rollendebüt als Gualtiero in Bellinis Il pirata am Teatro Real in Madrid und war als Tonio (La Fille du régiment) in Mexiko-Stadt sowie als Don Ramiro (La Cenerentola) in Zürich und an der Met zu erleben. Nach seinen Auftritten als Ernesto bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen singt er im Juni 2020 Elvino (La sonnambula) an der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

Recitals der Saison 2019/20 führten ihn mit seinem langjährigen Klavierpartner Ángel Rodríguez zum Festival de Santander, an die Los Angeles Opera, wo die beiden ihr Recital-Debüt gaben, und im Rahmen einer Spanien-Tournee ans Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, nach San Sebastián, ins Auditorio Príncipe Felipe in Oviedo, in den Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia und ins Auditorio Nacional de Música in Madrid.

Javier Camarena ist auch ein vielgefragter Konzertsänger: Nach drei Aufführungen von Berlioz’ Grande Messe des morts unter Antonio Pappano an der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom standen 2019/20 mehrere Auftritte in seiner Heimat Mexiko, Galakonzerte in Málaga und Palma de Mallorca, sein Debüt beim Orchestre National de l’Île de France und zwei Galakonzerte im niederösterreichischen Grafenegg auf dem Programm.

Javier Camarena wurde in Xalapa geboren und studierte bei Cecilia Perfecto an der Universidad Veracruzana, bevor er seine Studien an der Universität Guanajuato bei Hugo Barreiro und Maria Eugenia Sutti mit Auszeichnung abschloss. 2004 gewann er den ersten Preis beim Nationalen Carlo-Morelli-Gesangswettbewerb in Mexiko, 2005 folgte der Juan-Oncina-Preis beim Internationalen Francisco-Viñas-Gesangswettbewerb in Barcelona. Anschließend wurde er unter Förderung von Francisco Araiza Mitglied des Internationalen Opernstudios am Opernhaus Zürich. Zwischen 2013 und 2016 wurde er vom Magazin Líderes Mexicanos in deren Liste der prominentesten Persönlichkeiten Mexikos geführt, und 2014 nannte das Magazin Quién ihn als einen der 50 national einflussreichsten Mexikaner.

Sein Salzburger Festspieldebüt gab Javier Camarena zu Pfingsten 2013. Seitdem war er hier in mehreren Konzerten und Recitals sowie als Belmonte (Die Entführung aus dem Serail), Fenton (Falstaff) und Don Ramiro zu erleben.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Javier Camarena Tenor Opernsänger
Galerie öffnen
Javier Camarena
Galerie öffnen
Javier Camarena
Galerie öffnen
Javier Camarena Tenor Opernsänger
Galerie öffnen
Javier Camarena Tenor Opernsänger
Galerie öffnen
Javier Camarena
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen