Biography

Igor Levit

Current as of August 2021

Igor Levit was named artist of the year at the 2020 Gramophone Awards, recording artist of the year by Musical America in 2021 and the winner of the 2018 Gilmore Artist Award. In November 2020 he was nominated for a Grammy for best classical instrumental solo.

Igor Levit is artistic director of the Chamber Music Academy and the Standpunkte Chamber Music Festival at the Heidelberg Spring Festival. In spring 2019 he was appointed professor of piano at his alma mater, the University of Music, Drama and Media in Hanover.

His first complete recording of the Beethoven piano sonatas, released by Sony Classical in September 2019, immediately reached first place in the official classical music charts. Igor Levit presented cycles of Beethoven’s entire piano sonatas at the Salzburg, Lucerne and Berlin Music Festivals, as well as at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg and Wigmore Hall. Sony Classical will release his new album in September 2021, featuring a complete recording of Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes and Fugues op. 87 and Ronald Stevenson’s Passacaglia on DSCH.

Igor Levit regularly gives recitals at Carnegie Hall, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Musikverein in Vienna. He is a regular guest with the world’s leading orchestras, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Vienna Philharmonic.

Born in Nizhny Novgorod in 1987, Igor Levit moved to Germany with his family at the age of eight. He completed his piano studies in Hanover, gaining the highest marks in the history of the institute. In 2019 he was awarded the Fifth International Beethoven Prize for his political commitment. This was followed in January 2020 by the award of Statue B of the International Auschwitz Committee on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz. Last autumn, he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for his commitment to the fight against anti-Semitism and for his streamed house concerts during the Corona Lockdown.

In Berlin, where he makes his home, Igor Levit plays a Steinway Model D grand piano, which was kindly given to him by the Trustees of Independent Opera at Sadler’s Wells.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Igor Levit Pianist
open gallery
Igor Levit Pianist
open gallery
Igor Levit Pianist
open gallery
Igor Levit Pianist
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Igor Levit

Stand: Juli 2022

Igor Levit ist Artist of the Year 2020 der Gramophone Classical Music Awards, Musical America’s Recording Artist of the Year 2021 und Preisträger des 2018 Gilmore Artist Award. Im November 2020 erfolgte die Nominierung für einen Grammy Award in der Kategorie „Best Classical Instrumental Solo“.

Igor Levit ist Künstlerischer Leiter der Kammermusik-Akademie und des Kammermusikfestes Standpunkte im Rahmen des Heidelberger Frühlings. Im Frühjahr 2019 erfolgte der Ruf als Professor für Klavier an seine Alma Mater, die Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover.

Seine im September 2019 von Sony Classical veröffentlichte erste Gesamteinspielung der Beethoven-Klaviersonaten erreichte umgehend den ersten Platz der offiziellen Klassik-Charts. Zyklen der gesamten Klaviersonaten Beethovens präsentierte Igor Levit u. a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Lucerne Festival sowie dem Musikfest Berlin, an der Elbphilharmonie und an der Wigmore Hall in London. Igor Levits jüngstes Album erschien im Herbst 2021 bei Sony Classical: eine Gesamteinspielung von Schostakowitschs 24 Präludien und Fugen op. 87 sowie Stevensons Passacaglia on DSCH.

Rezitale führen Igor Levit regelmäßig zu den weltweit wichtigsten Konzerthäusern und Festivals. Ebenso regelmäßig gastiert er mit den weltweit führenden Orchestern wie den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem Gewandhausorchester, dem Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und den Wiener Philharmonikern.

Konzerte führten Igor Levit in der Saison 2021/22 u. a. nach Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, London, Paris und Wien. 2022 brachte er zwei für ihn komponierte Werke zur Uraufführung: Auf Fred Herschs Variations on a Folksong in der Carnegie Hall im Januar folgte im April beim Heidelberger Frühling William Bolcoms 2. Klavierkonzert mit dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra unter der Leitung von Elim Chan. Im Frühjahr 2021 gab das Lucerne Festival eine mehrjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Igor Levit im Rahmen eines neuen Klavierfestivals bekannt, das er ab dem Frühjahr 2023 kuratieren wird.

1987 in Nischni Nowgorod geboren, zog Igor Levit im Alter von acht Jahren mit seiner Familie nach Deutschland. Sein Klavierstudium in Hannover absolvierte er mit der höchsten Punktzahl in der Geschichte des Instituts. Für sein politisches Engagement wurde Igor Levit 2019 der Fünfte Internationale Beethovenpreis verliehen. Im Januar 2020 folgte die Auszeichnung mit der „Statue B“ des Internationalen Auschwitz Komitees anlässlich des 75. Jahrestags der Befreiung von Auschwitz. Für sein Engagement gegen Antisemitismus und für seine gestreamten Hauskonzerte während des Corona-Lockdowns 2020 wurde ihm im Herbst 2020 der Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland verliehen.

In seiner Wahlheimat Berlin spielt Igor Levit auf einem Steinway D Konzertflügel, der ihm von der Independent Opera at Sadler’s Wells geschenkt wurde.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Igor Levit Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Igor Levit Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Igor Levit Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Igor Levit Pianist
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen