Biography

Huw Rhys James

Current as of July 2020

Huw Rhys James completed a degree in German and Political Science at the University of Bristol prior to studying composition, piano and conducting at the Vienna Hochschule für Musik. He began his career as a concert pianist before taking up an appointment as répétiteur and conductor at the Linz Landestheater, where he was also assistant chorus director. In 1994 he moved to the Vienna Volksoper, where his conducting engagements included The Consul and L’elisir d’amore. In 2002 he took a teaching position at the Music and Arts University of the City of Vienna where he teaches opera. His repertory as a conductor extends from the Baroque to the present day.

In 1996 and 1997 Huw Rhys James was assistant to Norbert Balatsch, the chorus master at the Bayreuth Festival, where he worked on Parsifal, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg and the Ring. From 2002 to 2007 he was conductor and chorus master at the Mozart in Reinsberg Festival in Lower Austria. Since 2011 he has worked with the Concert Association of the Vienna State Opera Chorus. As chorus director at the Salzburg Festival he has been responsible for the productions of La Cenerentola (2014), Reimann’s Lear (2017), Henze’s The Bassarids (2018), Enescu’s Œdipe and Verdis Luisa Miller (2019). In 2004 he composed the music for Claude Stratz’s production of Molière’s Le Malade imaginaire performed at the Theater in der Josefstadt in Vienna.

In 1996 Huw Rhys James founded the Musikwerkstatt Wien, which remained active until 2012 and became one of Austria’s leading ensembles in the field of contemporary and Baroque music theatre, appearing to great acclaim at international festivals such as the Chicago Humanities Festival, the Odense Autumn Festival and the Music Biennale Zagreb. Particularly important were the ensemble’s rediscovery of Leonardo Vinci’s opera L’Artaserse in 2007 and the first performance in Vienna of Francesco Conti’s Don Chisciotte in Sierra Morena in 2009, in both cases with the Musica Poetica Wien Baroque Orchestra that Huw Rhys James founded in 2001. A further important aspect of his work is his promotion of young Austrian composers, including the commissioning of new works.

Since 2009 Huw Rhys James has again made frequent appearances as a concert pianist, undertaking tours that have taken him to many European countries as well as to the United States and China.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Huw Rhys James Chorus Master
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Huw Rhys James

Stand: August 2019

Huw Rhys James studierte Germanistik und Politikwissenschaft in Bristol und anschließend Tonsatz, Klavier und Dirigieren an der Wiener Musikhochschule. Er begann seine Laufbahn als Konzertpianist, bevor er als Korrepetitor und Dirigent ans Linzer Landestheater engagiert wurde, wo er auch als Assistent von Chordirektor Ernst Dunshirn fungierte. 1994 wechselte er an die Volksoper Wien, wo er u.a. The Consul und L’elisir d’amore dirigierte. Seit 2002 unterrichtet er Opernkorrepetition an der Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien. Sein Repertoire als Dirigent reicht vom Barock bis zur Moderne.

1996 und 1997 war Huw Rhys James Assistent des Chordirektors der Bayreuther Festspiele, Norbert Balatsch, für ParsifalDie Meistersinger von Nürnberg und den Ring. Von 2002 bis 2007 war er Dirigent und Chorleiter beim Festival Mozart in Reinsberg (Niederösterreich). Seit 2011 arbeitet er mit der Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor zusammen. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen übernahm er 2014 die Choreinstudierung für Rossinis La Cenerentola, es folgten 2017 die Choreinstudierung für Reimanns Lear und 2018 für Henzes The Bassarids. 2004 komponierte er die Musik für Claude Stratz’ Inszenierung von Molières Der eingebildete Kranke am Theater in der Josefstadt in Wien.

1996 gründete Huw Rhys James die Musikwerkstatt Wien, die bis 2012 bestand und sich zu einem der führenden österreichischen Ensembles für zeitgenössisches und barockes Musiktheater entwickelte. Sie wurde bei internationalen Festivals wie dem Chicago Humanities Festival, dem Musikherbst Odense und der Musikbiennale Zagreb gefeiert. Besonders hervorzuheben sind die Wiederentdeckung von Leonardo Vincis Oper L’Artaserse (2007) und die Wiener Erstaufführung von Francesco Contis Don Chisciotte in Sierra Morena (2009), beide mit dem 2001 von Huw Rhys James gegründeten Barockorchester Musica Poetica Wien. Ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt seiner Arbeit ist die Förderung junger österreichischer Komponisten, u.a. durch Aufträge für neue Werke.

Seit 2009 tritt Huw Rhys James wieder regelmäßig als Konzertpianist auf. Konzerte und Tourneen haben ihn durch ganz Europa, in die USA und nach China geführt.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

James Huw Rhys
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen