Biography

Gábor Bretz

Current as of August 2019

Since graduating from Budapest’s Franz Liszt Academy, bass-baritone Gábor Bretz has appeared regularly at the city’s State Opera, where his roles have included the title roles in Mefistofele, Don Giovanni and Le nozze di Figaro, Leporello (Don Gio­van­ni), Banco (Macbeth), Colline (La bohème), Basilio (Il barbiere di Siviglia) Escamillo (Carmen), Gurnemanz (Parsifal), Zaccaria (Nabucco) and Orestes (Elektra). Within the framework of the Budapest Wagner Festival he has also sung Landgrave Hermann (Tannhäuser) under Ádám Fischer at the Palace of Arts.

Other notable appearances include Scarpia (Tosca) at the Teatro Comunale in Bologna, a staged version of the Verdi Re­quiem at the Hamburg State Opera, King Heinrich (Lohengrin) at La Monnaie in Brus­sels, Fasolt (Das Rheingold) for the Odense Symphony Orchestra’s Ring cycle, the Dutch­man (Der fliegende Holländer) at the Oberammergau Passion Theatre, Fer­rando (Il trovatore) at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Escamillo at the Bavarian State Opera, Covent Garden, the Metro­pol­itan Opera in New York, the New National Theatre in Tokyo and the Hamburg State Opera, Colline at Covent Garden, Philippe II (Don Carlos) under Renato Palumbo in Ham­burg, Jokanaan (Salome) at the 2018 Salz­burg Festival and the title role in Don Quich­otte at the 2019 Bregenz Festival. He has also sung Bluebeard in performances of Duke Bluebeard’s Castle with the Berlin Philhar­monic, the Helsinki Phil­harmonic, the Bav­arian Radio Sym­phony Orchestra and the New York Phil­har­monic under Daniel Baren­­boim, Gustavo Dudamel, Ádám Fischer, Edward Gardner, Daniele Gatti, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Hard­ing, Michele Mariotti and Esa-Pekka Salo­nen. Other eminent con­­­duct­­ors with whom he has appeared in­clude Alain Altinoglu, Philippe Jordan, Kent Naga­no, Simon Rattle and Omer Meir Wellber.

Plans for 2019/20 include the four villains in Les Contes d’Hoffmann at La Mon­naie, Don Pizarro (Fidelio) at the Theater an der Wien, Duke Bluebeard’s Castle in a double bill with Schoenberg’s Die glück­liche Hand at the Teatro Comunale in Bologna and Alvise (La Gioconda) and Gurnemanz in a new production of Parsifal at the Hungarian State Opera. In concert he will perform Verdi’s Messa da Requiem with the London Philharmonic Orchestra under Edward Gardner, Beethoven’s Mass in C with the Dres­den Staatskapelle, Mahler’s Eighth Sym­phony at the KunstFestSpiele Herren­hausen in Hannover and Duke Bluebeard’s Castle with the Brussels Philharmonic under Péter Eötvös, before embarking on an inter­national tour with the London Symphony Orchestra and Simon Rattle.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Gábor Bretz Singer Bass
open gallery
Gábor Bretz Singer Bass
open gallery
Gábor Bretz Singer Bass
open gallery
Salzburg Festival 2018 Salome Opera Asmik Grigorian Gábor Bretz
open gallery
Salzburg Festival 2018 Salome Opera Asmik Grigorian Gábor Bretz
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Gábor Bretz

Stand: August 2019

Seit seinem Studienabschluss an der Franz-­Liszt-Musikakademie in Budapest ist der Bassbariton Gábor Bretz regelmäßig an der Ungarischen Staatsoper zu Gast und sang dort u.a. die Titelrollen in Mefistofele, Don Giovanni und Le nozze di Figaro, Leporello (Don Giovanni), Banco (Macbeth), Colline (La bohème), Basilio (Il barbiere di Siviglia), Escamillo (Carmen), Gurnemanz (Parsifal), Zaccaria (Nabucco) und Orest (Elektra). Im Rahmen der Budapester Wagner-Tage stand er am Palast der Künste als Landgraf Hermann (Tannhäuser) unter Ádám Fischer auf der Bühne.

Wichtige Engagements seiner bisherigen Karriere waren auch Scarpia (Tosca) am Teatro Comunale in Bologna, eine szenische Version von Verdis Requiem an der Staatsoper Hamburg, König Heinrich (Lohengrin) an der Monnaie in Brüssel, Fasolt (Das Rheingold) im Ring des Symphonie­orchesters Odense, der Holländer (Der fliegende Holländer) am Passionstheater in Oberammergau, Ferrando (Il trovatore) am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Escamillo (Carmen) an der Bayerischen Staats­oper, an Covent Garden, der Metropolitan Opera in New York, dem New National Theatre in Tokio und der Staatsoper Hamburg, Colline an Covent Garden, Philippe II (Don Carlos) unter Renato Palumbo an der Staats­oper Hamburg, Jochanaan (Salome) bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2018 und die Titelrolle in Don Quichotte bei den Bregenzer Festspielen 2019. Außerdem sang er Blaubart in zahlreichen Aufführungen von Herzog Blaubarts Burg, u.a. mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Philharmonischen Orchester Helsinki, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra sowie unter Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim, Gustavo Dudamel, Ádám Fischer, Edward Gardner, Daniele Gatti, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Harding, Michele Mariotti und Esa-Pekka Salonen. Zu den herausragenden Dirigenten, mit denen Gábor Bretz zusammengearbeitet hat, zählen auch Alain Altinoglu, Philippe Jordan, Kent Nagano, Simon Rattle und Omer Meir Wellber.

Zu seinen Engagements der Saison 2019/20 zählen die vier Bösewichte in Les Contes d’Hoffmann an der Monnaie, Don Pizarro (Fidelio) am Theater an der Wien, Herzog Blaubarts Burg in Kombination mit Schönbergs Die glückliche Hand am Teatro Comunale in Bologna sowie Alvise (La Gioconda) und Gurnemanz in einer Neuproduktion von Parsifal an der Ungarischen Staats­oper. Auf dem Konzertpodium wird er in Verdis Messa da Requiem mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra unter Edward Gardner, in Beethovens C-Dur-Messe mit der Staatskapelle Dresden, in Mahlers 8. Symphonie bei den KunstFestSpielen Herrenhausen in Hannover und in Herzog Blaubarts Burg mit den Brüsseler Philharmonikern unter Péter Eötvös zu hören sein, bevor er eine internationale Tournee mit dem London Symphony Orchestra und ­Simon Rattle unternimmt.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Gábor Bretz Sänger Bass
Galerie öffnen
Gábor Bretz Sänger Bass
Galerie öffnen
Gábor Bretz Sänger Bass
Galerie öffnen
Salzburger Festspiele 2018 Salome Oper Asmik Grigorian Gábor Bretz
Galerie öffnen
Salzburger Festspiele 2018 Salome Oper Asmik Grigorian Gábor Bretz
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen