Biography

Frances Pappas

Current as of August 2019

Acclaimed in classical operatic and concert roles, Greek-Canadian mezzo-soprano Frances Pappas is also interested in contemporary music and Greek folk music.

Until 2009 she was a member of the Nuremberg State Opera, where she sang all the major mezzo-soprano roles, enjoying particular success as Mélisande (Pelléas et Mélisande), Carmen, Charlotte (Werther), Angelina (La Cenerentola), Octavian (Der Rosenkavalier) and Nicklausse (Les Contes d’Hoffmann).

In 2010 Frances Pappas gained international recognition for her performances as Paulina in the world premiere of Alfons Karl Zwicker’s opera Der Tod und das Mädchen at the Hellerau Festspielhaus in Dresden. There followed invitations to appear in St. Gallen, Bielefeld and the Salzburg Landestheater, where she was acclaimed as Marie (Wozzeck), a role she repeated at the Stuttgart Opera. She returns regularly to the Salzburg Landestheater and in recent seasons has also returned to the Stuttgart Opera and performed at the Chemnitz Theatre. In 2016 she made her debut at the Schwetzingen Festival, the Mainz Staatstheater and the Salzburg Festival, where she took part in the world premiere of Thomas Adès’s The Exterminating Angel.

As a recital artist, Frances Pappas has sung Brahms lieder in London’s Wigmore Hall, while continuing to work closely with the Düsseldorf Tonhalle, the Orchestre symphonique de Mulhouse, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, the Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and the MDR Radio Chorus. She has also taken part in many concerts broadcast by Bavarian Radio.

Frances Pappas was named Kammersängerin by the Bavarian government in March 2008. She is a co-founder and member of the board of the Nuremberg International Chamber Music Festival, which was awarded the Culture Prize of the City of Nuremberg in 2007.

Current as of August 2017

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Pappas Frances mezzo-soprano
open gallery
Frances Pappas Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Frances Pappas

Stand: August 2019

Die Mezzosopranistin Frances Pappas ist Kanadierin griechischer Herkunft. Neben ihren Erfolgen im klassischen Opern- und Konzertrepertoire widmet sie sich auch der zeitgenössischen Musik sowie der griechischen Volksmusik.

Bis 2009 war sie an der Staatsoper Nürnberg engagiert, wo sie alle großen Partien ihres Fachs sang. Dort brillierte sie auch als Debussys Mélisande (Pelléas et Mélisande) sowie u.a. als Carmen, Charlotte (Werther), Octavian (Der Rosenkavalier), in der Titelrolle in La Cenerentola und als Nicklausse (Les Contes d’Hoffmann).

Im Festspielhaus Hellerau in Dresden überzeugte Frances Pappas 2010 die internationale Presse als Paulina in der Uraufführung von Alfons Karl Zwickers Oper Der Tod und das Mädchen. Gastengagements führten sie danach an das Theater St. Gallen, das Theater Bielefeld und an das Landestheater Salzburg, wo sie u.a. als Marie (Wozzeck) einen großen Erfolg feierte. In der Rolle der Marie wurde sie daraufhin auch an die Oper Stuttgart verpflichtet. Sie kehrt regelmäßig ans Salzburger Landestheater zurück und war in den jüngsten Saisonen erneut an der Oper Stuttgart sowie am Theater Chemnitz zu Gast. 2016 debütierte sie bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen, am Staatstheater Mainz und bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wo sie in der Uraufführung von Thomas Adès’ The Exterminating Angel mitwirkte.

Auf dem Konzertpodium war Frances Pappas u.a. in der Londoner Wigmore Hall mit Brahms-Liedern zu hören. Eine stete Zusammenarbeit verbindet sie u.a. mit der Tonhalle Düsseldorf, dem Orchestre symphonique de Mulhouse, dem Toronto Symphony Orchestra, dem Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona, dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig und dem MDR Rundfunkchor. Der Bayerische Rundfunk hat zahlreiche Konzerte mit ihr gesendet.

Im März 2008 wurde Frances Pappas zur Bayerischen Kammersängerin ernannt. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und Teil der künstlerischen Leitung des Internationalen Kammermusikfestivals Nürnberg, das 2007 mit dem Kulturpreis der Stadt Nürnberg ausgezeichnet wurde.

Stand: August 2017

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Pappas Frances Mezzosopranistin
Galerie öffnen
Frances Pappas Sängerin Mezzosopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen