Biography

Daniel Barenboim

Current as of August 2019

Equally successful as a conductor and as a pianist, Daniel Barenboim was born in Buenos Aires in 1942. He was seven when he made his debut with a recital of works by Beethoven and Prokofiev and, one year later, appeared for the first time with an orchestra. In 1952 his family emigrated to Israel and he won the America-Israel Cultural Foundation Competition in 1953, which allowed him to study with Nadia Boulanger in Paris. In 1954 he attended the conducting class of Igor Markevitch in Salzburg, where he was introduced to Wilhelm Furtwängler, who dubbed him a ‘phenomenon’.

The first phase of his career was devoted to his work as a concert pianist, in which capacity he made his Salzburg Festival debut in 1965. Since his debut with the Philharmonia Orchestra in London in 1967 he has conducted all the world’s major orchestras. His first permanent post was as music director of the Orchestre de Paris from 1975 to 1989. From 1991 to 2006 he was principal conductor of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, retiring with the title of conductor laureate. He made his operatic debut with Don Giovanni at the 1973 Edinburgh Festival and first conducted at the Bayreuth Festival in 1981, returning there every summer until 1999. Since 1992 Daniel Barenboim has been general music director of the Berlin State Opera. In 2000 the Berlin Staatskapelle named him principal conductor for life. As ‘maestro scaligero’, he began a close relationship with La Scala, Milan in 2007, going on to become music director from 2011 until 2014.

In 1999, in partnership with the Palestinian literary theorist Edward Said, he created the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, which brings together young musicians from Israel and the Arab nations. The Orchestra wants to enable the dialogue between the cultures of the Middle East through the experience of making music together. In 2005 the Orchestra gave a concert of historic significance in the Palestinian city of Ramallah. It first appeared at the Salzburg Festival in 2007.

Since 2015 talented young musicians from the Middle East have studied at the Barenboim-Said Academy in Berlin, another of Daniel Barenboim’s initiatives. In the autumn of 2016 the Academy, focussing on music and the humanities, began a four-year bachelor’s programme for up to 90 students in the renovated and remodelled former depot of the Berlin State Opera. The building also houses the Pierre Boulez Saal, designed by Frank Gehry, which has enriched Berlin’s musical life since it opened in March 2017, with Daniel Barenboim as conductor, soloist, chamber musician and accompanist. In 2016 Daniel Barenboim founded a piano trio with violinist Michael Barenboim and cellist Kian Soltani and they gave their first concerts during the summer of 2016 at the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires. During the 2017/18 season the three musicians performed Beethoven’s complete piano trios at the Pierre Boulez Saal alongside contemporary works.

For his cultural and political achievements Daniel Barenboim has received many distinctions including the Prince of Asturias Award, the Buber-Rosenzweig Medal, the Robert Schumann Prize, the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, the Japanese Praemium Imperiale and the Moses Mendelssohn Medal. In 2010 he was awarded an honorary degree by the Royal Academy of Music in London, the German Culture Prize for his lifetime achievement in music and the Westphalian Peace Prize. His most recent awards include the Herbert von Karajan Music Prize, the Otto Hahn Peace Medal, the Outstanding Musician Award of the Critics’ Circle and the Willy Brandt Prize. The President of France bestowed upon him the title of Grand Officier dans l’Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur; and he was made a KBE. In the summer of 2015 Daniel Barenboim was admitted to the Order Pour le mérite.

His publications include the autobiography A Life in Music, Parallels and Paradoxes (co-authored with Edward Said), Everything is Connected — The Power of Music, Dialoghi su musica e teatro — Tristano e Isotta (with Patrice Chéreau) and most recently La musica è un tutto — Etica ed estetica.

www.danielbarenboim.com

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Daniel Barenboim conductor
open gallery
Daniel Barenboim conductor
open gallery
open gallery
Daniel Barenboim Pianist Piano Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Daniel Barenboim

Stand: August 2018

1942 in Buenos Aires geboren, wurde Daniel Barenboim als Dirigent wie Pianist gleichermaßen bekannt. Im Alter von sieben Jahren debütierte er mit einem Beethoven-Prokofjew-Rezital, ein Jahr später trat er erstmals mit Orchester auf. 1952 übersiedelte die Familie nach Israel; 1953 gewann Barenboim den Wettbewerb der America-Israel Cultural Foundation, der ihm ein Stipendium für ein Studium in Paris bei Nadia Boulanger einbrachte. 1954 belegte Daniel Barenboim Dirigierkurse bei Igor Markevitch in Salzburg und wurde Wilhelm Furtwängler vorgestellt, der ihn als „Phänomen“ bezeichnete.

In der ersten Phase seiner Karriere arbeitete Barenboim ausschließlich als Konzertpianist; 1965 debütierte er bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Seit seinem Dirigierdebüt 1967 in London mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra hat er mit allen führenden Orchestern der Welt gearbeitet. Als erste feste Position übernahm er von 1975 bis 1989 die Leitung des Orchestre de Paris, von 1991 bis 2006 war er Chef des Chicago Symphony Orchestra und wurde dessen Ehrendirigent. Sein Operndebüt gab er 1973 mit Don Giovanni beim Edinburgh Festival, 1981 dirigierte er erstmals in Bayreuth, wo er bis 1999 jeden Sommer tätig war. Seit 1992 ist Daniel Barenboim Generalmusikdirektor der Berliner Staatsoper Unter den Linden; im Jahr 2000 wählte ihn die Staatskapelle Berlin zum Chefdirigenten auf Lebenszeit. Als „maestro scaligero“ begann Daniel Barenboim ab der Spielzeit 2007/08 eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Mailänder Scala, an der er von 2011 bis 2014 als Musikdirektor wirkte.

1999 rief er gemeinsam mit dem palästinensischen Literaturwissenschaftler Edward Said das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra ins Leben, das junge Musiker aus Israel und den arabischen Ländern zusammenführt. Das Orchester möchte den Dialog zwischen den verschiedenen Kulturen des Nahen Ostens durch die Erfahrungen gemeinsamen Musizierens ermöglichen. Im Sommer 2005 gab das Orchester im palästinensischen Ramallah ein Konzert von historischer Bedeutung; 2007 war es erstmals bei den Salzburger Festspielen zu Gast.

Seit 2015 studieren talentierte junge Musiker aus dem Nahen Osten an der Barenboim-Said Akademie in Berlin, einer weiteren Initiative Daniel Barenboims. Im Herbst 2016 begann an dieser Hochschule für Musik und Geisteswissenschaften ein vierjähriger Bachelor-Studiengang für bis zu 90 Studierende im renovierten und umgebauten ehemaligen Magazingebäude der Staatsoper. Dort ist auch der von Frank Gehry entworfene Pierre Boulez Saal beheimatet, der seit März 2017 das musikalische Leben Berlins bereichert – mit Daniel Barenboim als Dirigenten, Klaviersolisten, Kammermusiker und Liedbegleiter. 2016 gründete Daniel Barenboim gemeinsam mit dem Geiger Michael Barenboim und dem Cellisten Kian Soltani ein Trio, das erstmals im Sommer 2016 Konzerte im Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires gab. In der Spielzeit 2017/18 hat das Trio sämtliche Klaviertrios von Beethoven im Pierre Boulez Saal zur Aufführung gebracht, gepaart mit zeitgenössischen Kompositionen. Bei den Salzburger Festspielen ist er ebenfalls mit den Beethoven’schen Klaviertrios zu Gast.

Für seine künstlerische und kulturpolitische Arbeit wurde Barenboim vielfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem Prinz-von-Asturien-Preis und der Buber-Rosenzweig-Medaille, mit dem Robert-Schumann-Preis, dem Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis, dem japanischen Praemium Imperiale und mit der Moses Mendelssohn Medaille. 2010 folgten ein Ehrendiplom für Musik von der Royal Academy of Music in London, der Deutsche Kulturpreis für sein musikalisches Lebenswerk sowie der Preis des Westfälischen Friedens. Zudem wurde er mit dem Herbert von Karajan Musikpreis, der Otto-Hahn-Friedensmedaille, mit dem Willy-Brandt-Preis sowie mit dem Titel Officier dans l’Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur geehrt und erhielt den Outstanding Musician Award of the Critics’ Circle. Königin Elizabeth II. schlug ihn zum Ritter (KBE); und 2015 wurde Daniel Barenboim in den Orden Pour le mérite aufgenommen.

Als Autor veröffentlichte er seine Autobiografie Die Musik – mein Leben, Parallelen und Paradoxien (gemeinsam mit Edward Said), Klang ist Leben – Die Macht der Musik, Dialoghi su musica e teatro – Tristano e Isotta (mit Patrice Chéreau) und zuletzt Musik ist alles und alles ist Musik – Erinnerungen und Einsichten.

www.danielbarenboim.com

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Daniel Barenboim Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Daniel Barenboim Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Daniel Barenboim Klavierspieler Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen