Biography

Cindy Van Acker

Current as of August 2019

Dancer and choreographer Cindy Van Acker initially danced with the Flanders Royal Ballet in Belgium and at the Grand Théâtre de Genève before making a name for herself on the contemporary dance scene in Geneva in the 1990s. In 2002 she founded the Cie Greffe Dance Company and created the solo Corps 00:00 that brought her international recognition. Since then she has completed around 20 pro­jects for her company as well as choreographing productions for institutions such as the Ballet de Lorraine, the Grand Théâtre de Genève and the P.A.R.T.S. School of Dance in Brussels.

Of central importance for her career has been her work with the choreographer Myriam Gourfink, the set designer Victor Roy, the musician Mika Vainio (Pan Sonic) and the Italian director Romeo Castellucci.

In 2005 Castellucci invited her to present Corps 00:00 at the Venice Biennale. This initial encounter led to their close artistic association and to her choreography for his Dante-inspired production of Inferno at the 2008 Festival d’Avignon. She has also worked as choreographer on a number of Castellucci’s opera productions, including Parsifal at the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brus­sels (2011), Moses und Aron at the Paris Opéra (2015), Tannhäuser at the Bav­arian State Opera (2017), Salome at the Salzburg Festival and Die Zauberflöte at La Monnaie (2018).

In 2008 and 2009 Orsola Valenti directed six films inspired by Cindy Van Acker’s solo creations. In 2012 the publishing house of Héros-Limite brought out a book on her dance scores under the title Partituur­structuur and in 2016 Quodlibet published Enrico Pitozzi’s Magnetica, an analysis of Cindy Van Acker’s choreographic compos­ition.

Her work as a choreographer combines aesthetic sobriety, minimalist movement, metic­ulous composition and electronic music and with an almost scientific thoroughness examines the connections between body, soul, sound and rhythm, creating works that transcend the bound­aries between dance, performance and the plastic arts.

Since 2017 Cindy Van Acker has been an associate artist in charge of programming at the Association pour la Danse Con­temporaine (ADC) in Geneva.

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Cindy Van Acker Choreography
open gallery
Cindy Van Acker Choreography
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Cindy Van Acker

Stand: August 2019

Die Tänzerin und Choreografin Cindy Van Acker tanzte zunächst im Königlichen Ballett von Flandern in Belgien und am Grand Théâtre de Genève, bevor sie sich in den 1990er Jahren in Genf in der zeitgenössischen Tanzszene einen Namen machte. 2002 gründete sie die Tanzcompagnie Cie Greffe und kreierte das Solo Corps 00:00, das ihr internationale Anerkennung einbrachte. Seither hat sie mit ihrer Compa­gnie etwa 20 Projekte realisiert, aber auch Arbeiten für Institutionen wie das Ballet de Lorraine, das Grand Théâtre de Genève und die Tanzschule P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel geschaffen.

Wesentlich für ihre Karriere waren bzw. sind die Zusammenarbeit mit der Choreografin Myriam Gourfink, dem Bühnenbildner Victor Roy, dem Musiker Mika Vainio (Pan Sonic) und dem italienischen Regisseur Romeo Castellucci.

2005 lud Castellucci Cindy Van Acker ein, Corps 00:00 bei der Biennale von Venedig zu präsentieren. Aus dieser ersten Begegnung entwickelte sich eine künstlerische Zusammenarbeit mit Castellucci für die Choreografie in der Produktion Inferno nach Dante beim Festival d’Avignon 2008. Unter Castelluccis Leitung erarbeitete sie auch die Choreografie in einer Reihe von Opernproduktionen, darunter Parsifal am Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel (2011), Moses und Aron an der Pariser Opéra (2015), Tannhäuser an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München (2017), Salome bei den Salzburger Festspielen und Die Zauberflöte an der Monnaie (2018).

Zwischen 2008 und 2009 führte Orsola Valenti Regie in sechs Filmen, die von Solo-­Kreationen von Cindy Van Acker angeregt wurden. 2012 veröffentlichte der Verlag Héros-Limite ein Buch über ihre Tanzpartituren mit dem Titel Partituurstructuur. 2016 erschien bei Quodlibet Magnetica von Enrico Pitozzi, eine Analyse von Van Ackers choreografischer Komposition.

Mittels ihrer choreografischen Kreationen, die ästhetische Nüchternheit, minimalistische Bewegung, genaueste Komposi­tion und elektronische Musik kombinieren, erforscht Cindy Van Acker mit beinahe wissenschaftlicher Gründlichkeit die Beziehungen zwischen Körper, Seele, Klang und Rhythmus, wobei ihre Arbeiten die Grenzen zwischen Tanz, Darstellung und plastischer Kunst verwischen.

Seit November 2017 ist Cindy Van Acker als „artiste associé“ für das Programm der Association pour la Danse Contemporaine (ADC) in Genf mitverantwortlich.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Cindy Van Acker Choreographie
Galerie öffnen
Cindy Van Acker Choreographie
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen