Biography

Christian Gerhaher

Current as of August 2021

During his studies with Paul Kuën and Raimund Grumbach, German baritone Christian Gerhaher attended the Opera School at the University of Music and the Performing Arts in Munich and, together with his regular piano partner, Gerold Huber, studied Lied interpretation with Friedemann Berger. While completing his medical studies, Christian Gerhaher perfected his vocal training in masterclasses given by Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Elisabeth Schwarzkopf and Inge Borkh. Christian Gerhaher currently teaches masterclasses at the University of Music and the Performing Arts in Munich.

For more than 30 years, he and Gerold Huber have set the standard for song interpretation and won numerous awards. Their recitals take them to concert halls in New York, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Philharmonie in Cologne and Berlin, the Musikverein and Konzerthaus in Vienna and Wigmore Hall in London. Christian Gerhaher is also a regular guest at the festivals in Edinburgh, Lucerne and Salzburg, as well as the Rheingau Music Festival and the BBC Proms.

A highly sought-after opera performer, Christian Gerhaher has received several prizes, including the Olivier Award and the Faust Theatre Prize. His repertoire includes roles such as Don Giovanni, Orfeo, Wolfram, Eisenstein, Pelléas, Posa and Olivier (Capriccio). A milestone in Christian Gerhaher’s operatic career was his debut as Wozzeck in September 2015 at the Zurich Opera conducted by Fabio Luisi. Other highlights of recent seasons include Papageno under Riccardo Muti at the 2006 Salzburg Festival, the Prince of Homburg at the Theater an der Wien, Amfortas at the Bavarian State Opera, Mozart’s Figaro at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, under John Eliot Gardiner and Nikolaus Lenau in the world premiere of Heinz Holliger’s Lunea at the Zurich Opera.

During the 2020/21 season he made his role debut as Aribert Reimann’s Lear under Jukka-Pekka Saraste at the Bavarian State Opera and as Simon Boccanegra in Zurich under Fabio Luisi.

He works with conductors such as Simon Rattle, Herbert Blomstedt, Daniel Barenboim, Andris Nelsons, Kent Nagano, Daniel Harding, Bernard Haitink and Christian Thielemann and appears in concert with orchestras such as the London Symphony Orchestra, the Concertgebouw Orchestra and the Vienna and Berlin Philharmonics.

Christian Gerhaher and Gerold Huber’s rich discography will soon comprise a very important project for both artists: an 11-part edition of Schumann, with all the Lieder released on CD on 3 September 2021 and available digitally. Sony Classical and BR-KLASSIK’s co-production, made with the support of the International Song Centre in Heidelberg, comprises 299 songs, almost all of Schumann’s Lied output. Frage, the first part of the collection, was released in November 2018 and received a Gramophone Award. Christian Gerhaher was also named singer of the year at the OPUS Klassik Awards.

Christian Gerhaher is a Bavarian Kammersänger and an honorary professor at the University of Music and the Performing Arts in Munich, as well as the recipient of the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art and the Bavarian State Prize for Music. In 2016 he was awarded the music prize of the Heidelberg Spring Festival for his outstanding commitment to the performance of classical music.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Christian Gerhaher singer baritone
open gallery
Christian Gerhaher singer baritone
open gallery
Christian Gerhaher singer baritone
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Christian Gerhaher

Stand: August 2021

Während seiner Studienzeit bei Paul Kuën und Raimund Grumbach besuchte Christian Gerhaher die Opernschule an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München und studierte dort gemeinsam mit seinem festen Klavierpartner Gerold Huber Liedgesang bei Friedemann Berger. Neben einem Medizinstudium rundete er seine Ausbildung in Meisterkursen bei Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Elisabeth Schwarzkopf und Inge Borkh ab. Derzeit unterrichtet Christian Gerhaher selbst in Meisterklassen.

Seit mehr als 30 Jahren setzt der Bariton gemeinsam mit Gerold Huber Maßstäbe in der Liedinterpretation, wofür das Duo immer wieder mit bedeutenden Preisen ausgezeichnet wird. Rezitale führen die beiden in renommierte Konzertsäle in New York, in das Concertgebouw Amsterdam, die Kölner und Berliner Philharmonie, das Wiener Konzerthaus und in den Musikverein sowie in die Londoner Wigmore Hall. Zudem ist Christian Gerhaher regelmäßig zu Gast bei den Festivals in Edinburgh, Luzern, Salzburg sowie dem Rheingau Musik Festival und den BBC Proms.

Als gefragter Sängerdarsteller auf der Opernbühne wurde Christian Gerhaher mit Preisen wie dem Laurence Olivier Award oder dem Theaterpreis Der Faust geehrt. Partien wie Don Giovanni, Orfeo, Wolfram, Eisenstein, Pelléas, Posa oder Olivier (Capriccio) zeigen seine Bandbreite. Ein Meilenstein in seiner Opernlaufbahn war sein Debüt als Wozzeck 2015 am Opernhaus Zürich unter Fabio Luisi. Zu Höhepunkten der Vergangenheit zählen außerdem seine Interpretationen des Papageno unter Riccardo Muti bei den Salzburger Festspielen (2006), des Prinzen von Homburg am Theater an der Wien, des Amfortas an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, der Titelpartie in Mozarts Le nozze di Figaro am Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, unter John Eliot Gardiner ebenso wie des Nikolaus Lenau in der Uraufführung von Heinz Holligers Lunea am Opernhaus Zürich.

In der Saison 2020/21 gab er seine Rollendebüts als Aribert Reimanns König Lear unter Jukka-Pekka Saraste an der Bayerischen Staatsoper und als Simon Boccanegra am Opernhaus Zürich unter Fabio Luisi.

Weltweit arbeitet er mit Dirigenten wie Simon Rattle, Herbert Blomstedt, Daniel Barenboim, Andris Nelsons, Kent Nagano, Daniel Harding, Bernard Haitink und Christian Thielemann zusammen und konzertiert mit Orchestern wie dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam sowie den Wiener und Berliner Philharmonikern.

Christian Gerhahers und Gerold Hubers reiche Diskografie wird im Herbst um ein Herzensprojekt ergänzt: Die elfteilige CD- Edition Robert Schumann: Alle Lieder erscheint am 3. September 2021 und wird  auch digital erhältlich sein. Die Koproduktion von Sony Classical und BR-KLASSIK mit Unterstützung des Internationalen Liedzentrums Heidelberg umfasst 299 Lieder – fast das gesamte Liedschaffen des Komponisten. Das Album Frage, das als erstes dieser Sammlung im November 2018 erschienen ist, wurde mit einem Gramophone Award ausgezeichnet. Christian Gerhaher wurde dafür außerdem als Sänger des Jahres mit einem OPUS Klassik geehrt.

Christian Gerhaher ist Bayerischer Kammersänger, Honorarprofessor der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München, Träger des Bayerischen Maximiliansordens für Wissenschaft und Kunst und des Bayerischen Staatspreises für Musik. Für seinen außerordentlichen Einsatz in der Vermittlung von klassischer Musik wurde ihm der Musikpreis des Heidelberger Frühlings 2016 verliehen.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Christian Gerhaher Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Christian Gerhaher Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Christian Gerhaher Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Christian Gerhaher Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Christian Gerhaher Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Christian Gerhaher Sänger Bariton
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen