Biography

Charles Workman

Current as of May 2021

Charles Workman was born in Arkansas and is a graduate of the Juilliard School in New York. He is a versatile artist whose early career saw him in the forefront of Rossini and Mozart tenors and who has more recently garnered praise for his performances in dramatic and Heldentenor roles as well as operas of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Following early debuts at the Metropolitan Opera and other American houses, Charles Workman moved to Europe in 1995. Here he has appeared to great acclaim with its leading opera companies and orchestras, including the Salzburg Festival, the Paris Opéra, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, La Scala, Milan, the Vienna and Berlin State Operas, the Moscow Bolshoi, the Teatro Real in Madrid, the Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, the Teatro La Fenice in Venice and the opera houses in Geneva, Zurich, Lyon, Brussels, Munich, Hamburg, Rome, Prague and Warsaw.

Recent highlights have included Hoffegut in Braunfels’s Die Vögel and Skuratov in From the House of the Dead at the Bavarian State Opera, Alwa (Lulu) at the Hamburg and Vienna State Operas, Idomeneo at the Rome Opera, Tammu in Jörg Widmann’s Babylon at the Berlin State Opera, Bacchus (Ariadne auf Naxos) at the Vienna and Bavarian State Operas, Paul (Die tote Stadt) at the Hamburg State Opera, Edmund in Aribert Reimann’s Lear at the 2017 Salzburg Festival, Edmundo de Nobile in the world premiere of Thomas Adès’s The Exterminating Angel at the 2016 Salzburg Festival and subsequently at Covent Garden, the Drum Major (Wozzeck) at the Grand Théâtre de Genève, Albert Gregor (The Makropulos Case) at the San Francisco Opera, Faust (La Damnation de Faust) and Alviano (Die Gezeichneten) at the Opéra de Lyon and Laca (Jenůfa) at La Monnaie in Brussels.

Charles Workman’s engagements in 2020/21 include not only his Salzburg appearances in the title role of La clemenza di Tito at the Whitsun Festival and as Tempo (Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno) at both the Whitsun and Summer Festivals but also Malatestino dall’Occhio in Zandonai’s Francesca da Rimini at the Deutsche Oper in Berlin and Tammu in a revival of Babylon at the Berlin State Opera.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Charles Workman
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Charles Workman

Stand: Mai 2021

Charles Workman wurde in Arkansas geboren und ist Absolvent der New Yorker Juilliard School. Der vielseitige Künstler sang sich bereits zu Beginn seiner Karriere an die Spitze der Rossini- und Mozart-Tenöre und wird derzeit für seine Interpretationen von dramatischen und Heldentenor-Partien sowie in Opern des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts gefeiert.

Nach frühen Debüts an der Metropolitan Opera und anderen amerikanischen Opernhäusern zog Charles Workman 1995 nach Europa, wo er sich mit Auftritten an führenden Opernbühnen und mit renommierten Orchestern einen herausragenden Namen machte, u.a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, der Pariser Opéra, dem Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Mailänder Scala, der Wiener und der Berliner Staatsoper, dem Moskauer Bolschoi-Theater, dem Teatro Real in Madrid, dem Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, dem Teatro La Fenice in Venedig sowie den Opernhäusern in Genf, Zürich, Lyon, Brüssel, München, Hamburg, Rom, Prag und Warschau.

Zu den Höhepunkten der jüngsten Vergangenheit gehören Hoffegut in Braunfels’ Die Vögel und Skuratow (Aus einem Totenhaus) an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München, Alwa (Lulu) an der Hamburgischen und der Wiener Staatsoper, Idomeneo am Teatro dell’Opera in Rom, Tammu in Jörg Widmanns Babylon an der Berliner Staatsoper, Bacchus (Ariadne auf Naxos) an der Wiener und der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Paul (Die tote Stadt) an der Staatsoper Hamburg, Edmund in Aribert Reimanns Lear bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2017, Edmundo de Nobile in der Uraufführung von Thomas Adès’ The Exterminating Angel bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2016 und danach an Covent Garden, der Tambourmajor (Wozzeck) am Grand Théâtre de Genève, Albert Gregor (Die Sache Makropulos) an der San Francisco Opera, Faust (La Damnation de Faust) und Alviano (Die Gezeichneten) an der Opéra de Lyon sowie Laca (Jenůfa) an der Monnaie in Brüssel.

Zu Charles Workmans Engagements der Spielzeit 2020/21 zählen neben seinen Salzburger Auftritten in der Titelpartie in La clemenza di Tito bei den Pfingstfestspielen sowie als Tempo (Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno) zu Pfingsten und im Sommer u.a. Malatestino dall’Occhio in Zandonais Francesca da Rimini an der Deutschen Oper Berlin und Tammu in der Wiederaufnahme von Widmanns Babylon an der Berliner Staatsoper.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Charles Workman
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen