Biography

Cecilia Bartoli

Current as of March 2020

Preeminent as an artist and as a singer, Cecilia Bartoli has become a role model for a whole generation of young musicians. Yet it is not only her virtuosic vocal technique, her profound musicianship and her captivating stage presence that make her the prototype of a modern opera singer but also her ability to combine art with conceptual thinking, creativity with scholarly research, and passion with professional commitment.

Cecilia Bartoli was born in Rome and is the daughter of the singing teacher Silvana Bazzoni. She made her professional stage debut as Rosina in Rossini’s Il barbiere di Siviglia in her hometown in 1987. An incomparable career quickly followed. Within a short space of time, Daniel Barenboim, Herbert von Karajan and Nikolaus Harnoncourt were all drawn to the young singer. Since then she has been invited to appear in venues including the Salzburg Festival, New York’s Metropolitan Opera and London’s Royal Opera House as well as concert halls and festivals throughout Europe, the United States, Asia and Australia. For 30 years she has been appearing regularly at the Zurich Opera, while her annual concert tours take her routinely to the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, the Philharmonie in Paris, the Vienna Musikverein, the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie, the Berlin Philharmonie and other leading concert halls.

Cecilia Bartoli signed an exclusive recording contract with Decca in 1988. Released in 1999, The Vivaldi Album was the result of a fascinating voyage of discovery through Vivaldi’s as yet virtually unknown operas, establishing her reputation as a pioneering explorer. It was followed by other elaborate concept albums which have shed new light on the Baroque and bel canto eras, including Opera proibita, Maria, Sacrificium, Mission, St Petersburg and, in 2019, Farinelli. She has sold more than twelve million DVDs and CDs, making her the most successful classical artist of our day.

Cecilia Bartoli has been the artistic director of the Salzburg Whitsun Festival since 2012. Her contract was recently extended until 2026. Salzburg has become the perfect outlet for the talent to combine artistic excellence with conceptual thinking. It has also become an important centre for her own work in the theatre: her stage debut as Norma in 2013 was a milestone in her career. In 2019 she sang the title role in a highly acclaimed production of Handel’s Alcina.

Cecilia Bartoli has actively championed historically informed performance practice for many years and to this end helped to establish Les Musiciens du Prince-Monaco in 2016 with the generous support of the principality’s ruling house. Under her artistic leadership, the ensemble has been regularly acclaimed by public and press alike at each of its much-anticipated appearances.

In 2018 the Cecilia Bartoli Music Foundation launched a new record label, “Mentored by Bartoli”. Its first release was Contrabandista, a recital album by the Mexican tenor Javier Camarena. Behind the project lies the idea of introducing classical music to a wider audience and working with talented young musicians.
Cecilia Bartoli is the director designate of the Opéra de Monte-Carlo, a position that she will take up in January 2023, the first woman to hold the post in the company’s history.

Five Grammys, more than a dozen Echo Klassik and Brit Awards, the Polar Music Prize, the Léonie Sonning Music Prize, the Herbert von Karajan Prize and many other honours attest to the importance of Cecilia Bartoli’s role in the history of music. And thanks to her inexhaustible curiosity and creativity we may expect a string of further innovative projects over the coming years.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Cecilia Bartoli
open gallery
Cecilia Bartoli Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
Cecilia Bartoli Singer Mezzo-soprano
open gallery
Cecilia Bartoli singer mezzo-soprano
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Cecilia Bartoli

Stand: März 2020

Als herausragende Künstlerin und Sängerin ist Cecilia Bartoli mittlerweile Vorbild für eine gesamte Generation junger Musikerinnen und Musiker geworden. Es sind jedoch nicht nur ihre virtuose Gesangstechnik, ihre berührende Musikalität und ihre hinreißende Bühnenpräsenz, die sie zum Ideal einer modernen Opernsängerin machen, sondern auch ihr Vermögen, Kunst und Konzept, Kreativität und Recherche, Leidenschaft und Engagement zusammenzubringen.

Cecilia Bartoli ist gebürtige Römerin und Tochter der Gesangspädagogin Silvana Bazzoni. Ihr Debüt gab sie 1987 als Rosina in Rossinis Il barbiere di Siviglia in Rom. Was darauf folgte, ist eine unvergleichliche Karriere: Kurz nacheinander wurden Daniel Barenboim, Herbert von Karajan und Nikolaus Harnoncourt auf sie aufmerksam. Seither nahm sie Einladungen u.a. der Salzburger Festspiele, der Metropolitan Opera in New York und des Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, sowie von Konzertveranstaltern aus ganz Europa, den USA, Asien und Australien wahr. Seit 30 Jahren tritt sie regelmäßig am Opernhaus Zürich auf. Das Amsterdamer Concertgebouw, die Philharmonie de Paris, der Wiener Musikverein, die Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg und die Berliner Philharmonie zählen zu den Stationen ihrer jährlichen Konzerttourneen.

1988 unterschrieb Cecilia Bartoli einen exklusiven Plattenvertrag beim Label Decca. Mit ihrem Vivaldi Album von 1999, Ergebnis einer faszinierenden Expedition durch Vivaldis damals noch unbekannte Opern, begründete Cecilia Bartoli ihren Ruf als abenteuerlustige Entdeckerin. Es folgten erlesene, durchdachte Konzeptalben, die Themen aus dem Barock und der Ära des Belcanto neu beleuchteten, z.B. Opera proibita, Maria, Sacrificium, Mission, St. Petersburg und 2019 Farinelli. Die mehr als zwölf Millionen verkauften Bild- und Tonträger machen sie zur erfolgreichsten Klassik-Künstlerin der Gegenwart.

Cecilia Bartoli ist seit 2012 künstlerische Leiterin der Salzburger Pfingstfestspiele, wo ihr Vertrag bis 2026 verlängert wurde. Ihr Talent, künstlerische Exzellenz mit konzeptionellem Denken zu verbinden, hat hier ein ideales Wirkungsfeld gefunden. Gleichzeitig bildet Salzburg einen entscheidenden Rahmen für ihre eigene Bühnenarbeit: Ihr Debüt als Norma 2013 markierte einen Meilenstein in ihrer Karriere. 2019 verkörperte sie die Titelrolle in einer hochgelobten Produktion von Händels Alcina.

Seit vielen Jahren engagiert sich Cecilia Bartoli für die historische Aufführungspraxis. Auf ihre Idee hin wurde 2016 das Ensemble Les Musiciens du Prince-Monaco mit großzügiger Unterstützung des monegassischen Fürstenhauses ins Leben gerufen. Mit Cecilia Bartoli als künstlerischer Leiterin begeistern die Musiciens du Prince bei ihren Auftritten seither regelmäßig Publikum und internationale Presse.

2018 initiierte die Cecilia Bartoli – Musikstiftung das neue Label „Mentored by Bartoli“, als dessen erste CD das Album Contrabandista des mexikanischen Tenors Javier Camarena erschien. Hinter dem Projekt steckt der Gedanke, klassische Musik einem breiten Publikum nahezubringen und mit jungen, talentierten Musikern zusammenzuarbeiten.

Cecilia Bartoli ist designierte Direktorin der Opéra de Monte-Carlo und tritt die Position im Januar 2023 an – als erste Frau in der Geschichte dieses Opernhauses.

Fünf Grammys, mehr als ein Dutzend ECHO Klassik und Brit Awards, der Polar Music Prize, der Léonie-Sonning-Musikpreis, der Herbert-von-Karajan-Preis und viele weitere Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen zeugen von Cecilia Bartolis Bedeutung für die Musikgeschichte. Und dank ihrer unerschöpflicher Neugier und Kreativität warten zahlreiche weitere innovative Ideen auf ihre Realisierung in den kommenden Jahren.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Cecilia Bartoli
Galerie öffnen
Cecilia Bartoli Sängerin Mezzosopran
Galerie öffnen
Cecilia Bartoli Sängerin Mezzosopran
Galerie öffnen
Cecilia Bartoli Sängerin Mezzosopran
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen