Biography

Barrie Kosky

Current as of December 2021

Barrie Kosky is the Intendant and Chefregisseur of the Komische Oper Berlin. He is one of the most internationally sought-after stage directors of today.

His work at the Komische Oper Berlin has included Die Zauberflöte (co-directed with 1927), which has been seen by half a million people in three continents, the Monteverdi Trilogy, Ball im Savoy, Eugene Onegin, Les Contes d’Hoffmann, Rigoletto, La Belle Hélène, Moses und Aron, La bohème, Rusalka, Le Grand Macabre, West Side Story, Pelléas et Mélisande, Semele, The Bassarids, Die Perlen der Cleopatra, Anatevka and Candide. The Komische Oper was voted Opera House of the Year by Opernwelt magazine after Kosky’s first season, 2012/13, and received the International Opera Award as Opera House of the Year in 2015.

Barrie Kosky has directed opera productions for the Bavarian State Opera (Die schweigsame Frau, Agrippina, The Fiery Angeland Der Rosenkavalier), the Salzburg Festival (Orphée aux enfers), Glyndebourne Festival Opera (Saul), the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence (Falstaff and The Golden Cockerel), the Frankfurt Opera (Dido and Aeneas/Bluebeard’s Castle, Salome and Carmen), the Zurich Opera (La fancuilla del West, Die Gezeichneten, Macbeth and Boris Gudonov), the Paris Opéra (Prince Igor) and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (The Nose, Agrippina and Carmen). He has also presented his productions at the Los Angeles Opera, the Teatro Real in Madrid, the Liceu in Barcelona, the Vienna State Opera, the Dutch National Opera, English National Opera, the Graz Opera, Theater Basel, the Aalto Music Theatre in Essen, the Hanover State Opera, the Deutsches Theater in Berlin and the Schauspiel Frankfurt and is a regular guest at the Edinburgh International Festival.

His awards include the 2012 Olivier Award for Best New Opera Production for Castor et Pollux at English National Opera, Director of the Year at the 2014 International Opera Awards, the 2015 Gold Iffland Medal from the Berlin Theatre Club and the 2016 Royal Philharmonic Society Opera and Music Theatre Award for Saul (also nominated for a 2016 International Opera Award). In 2016 he was named Director of the Year by Opernwelt and in 2017 his production of Saul won six out of seven categories at the Helpmann Awards. In 2018 Kosky’s Bayreuth Festival production of Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg was voted Production of the Year by Opernwelt. In 2020 he was the recipient of a Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award, in recognition of his unique and influential contribution to the Australian arts world.

New productions in 2021/22 include Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny for Komische Oper Berlin, Don Giovanni at the Vienna State Opera, The Cunning Little Vixen at the Bavarian State Opera and Tosca at the Dutch National Opera.

Born in Melbourne, Kosky was Artistic Director of Gilgul Theatre Company from 1990 to 1997 and Artistic Director of the 1996 Adelaide Festival. From 2001 to 2005 he was co-Artistic Director of the Vienna Schauspielhaus.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Barrie Kosky
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Barrie Kosky

Stand: Dezember 2021

Barrie Kosky ist Intendant und Chefregisseur der Komischen Oper Berlin. Er ist einer der international gefragtesten Regisseure der Gegenwart.

Zu seinen Inszenierungen an der Komischen Oper Berlin zählen Die Zauberflöte (in Ko-Regie mit 1927) – eine Produktion, die von einer halben Million Zuschauern auf drei Kontinenten gesehen wurde –, die Monteverdi-Trilogie, Ball im Savoy, Eugen Onegin, Les Contes d’Hoffmann, Rigoletto, La Belle Hélène, Moses und Aron, La bohème, Rusalka, Le Grand Macabre, West Side Story, Pelléas et Mélisande, Semele, The Bassarids, Die Perlen der Cleopatra, Anatevka und Candide. Die Komische Oper wurde nach seiner ersten Spielzeit, 2012/13, von der Zeitschrift Opernwelt zum Opernhaus des Jahres gekürt und 2015 in derselben Kategorie mit einem International Opera Award ausgezeichnet.

Engagements führten Barrie Kosky an die Bayerische Staatsoper (Die schweigsame Frau, Agrippina, Der feurige Engel und Der Rosenkavalier), zu den Salzburger Festspielen (Orphée aux enfers), das Glyndebourne Festival (Saul), das Festival d’Aix-en-Provence (Falstaff und Der goldene Hahn), an die Oper Frankfurt (Dido and Aeneas/Herzog Blaubarts Burg, Salome und Carmen), das Opernhaus Zürich (La fancuilla del West, Die Gezeichneten, Macbeth und Boris Gudonow), die Pariser Opéra (Fürst Igor) und das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (Die Nase, Agrippina und Carmen). Er inszenierte auch an der Los Angeles Opera, dem Teatro Real in Madrid, dem Liceu in Barcelona, der Wiener Staatsoper, der Niederländischen Nationaloper, der English National Opera, der Oper Graz, dem Theater Basel, dem Aalto-Musiktheater in Essen, der Staatsoper Hannover, dem Deutschen Theater in Berlin und dem Schauspiel Frankfurt; zudem ist er regelmäßig beim Edinburgh International Festival zu Gast.

Zu seinen Neuproduktionen der Saison 21/22 zählen Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny in an der Komischen Oper Berlin, Don Giovanni an der Wiener Staatsoper, Das schlaue Füchslein an der Bayerischen Staatsoper und Tosca an der Niederländischen Nationaloper.

Koskys Auszeichnungen umfassen den Olivier Award 2012 für die beste Opernneuproduktion für Castor et Pollux an der English National Opera, den International Opera Award 2014 als Regisseur des Jahres, die Goldene Iffland-Medaille 2015 des Berliner Theaterclubs und den Royal Philharmonic Society Opera and Music Theatre Award 2016 für Saul (auch für einen International Opera Award 2016 nominiert). 2016 wurde er von der Opernwelt zum Regisseur des Jahres gewählt, und 2017 gewann seine Inszenierung von Saul den Helpmann Award in sechs von insgesamt sieben Kategorien. 2018 kürte die Opernwelt Koskys Bayreuther Produktion von Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg zur Aufführung des Jahres. 2020 erhielt Kosky für seinen prägenden Beitrag zur Kulturszene Australiens einen Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award.

Barrie Kosky wurde in Melbourne geboren. Er war Künstlerischer Leiter der Gilgul Theatre Company (1990–1997), Künstlerischer Leiter des Adelaide Festival 1996 und von 2001 bis 2005 Co-Direktor des Schauspielhauses Wien.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Barrie Kosky
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen