Biography

Andrew Manze

Current as of August 2019

Andrew Manze’s work as conductor is characterized by his extensive and scholarly knowledge of the repertoire, together with his rare skill as a communicator and his boundless energy.

He became chief conductor of the NDR Radio Philharmonic in Hanover during the 2014/15 season and his contract was recently extended until 2021. Their recordings include a major series for Pentatone of Mendelssohn’s orchestral works, the first of which was awarded the German Record Critics’ Prize in 2017.

Andrew Manze enjoys long-standing working relationships with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the German Symphony Orchestra Berlin, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Oslo Philharmonic, the Hallé, the Camerata Salzburg and the Scottish and Swedish Chamber Orchestras. He is also a regular guest at the Mostly Mozart Festival in New York.

Andrew Manze became principal guest conductor of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra this season and they are currently recording the complete Vaughan Williams symphonies for Onyx Classics. 2018/19 also marks his debut with the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Andrew Manze was principal conductor and artistic director of the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra from 2006 to 2014, principal guest conductor of the Norwegian Radio Symphony Orchestra from 2008 to 2011 and associate guest conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra from 2010 to 2014.

Having read Classics at Cambridge University, Andrew Manze studied the violin and became a leading specialist in historical performance practice. He was appointed associate director of the Academy of Ancient Music in 1996 and artistic director of the English Concert from 2003 to 2007. As a violinist, he has released a large number of CDs, many of them award-winning.

Andrew Manze is a fellow of the Royal Academy of Music and a visiting professor at the Oslo Academy. He has contributed to new editions by Bärenreiter and Breitkopf & Härtel and also teaches, broadcasts and writes about music. In November 2011, Andrew Manze received the prestigious Rolf Schock Prize in Stockholm.

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Andrew Manze Conductor
open gallery
Andrew Manze Conductor
open gallery
Andrew Manze Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Andrew Manze

Stand: August 2019

Der Dirigent Andrew Manze zeichnet sich durch seine umfassende und profunde Kenntnis des Repertoires, seine herausragenden kommunikativen Fähigkeiten und seine grenzenlose Energie aus.

In der Saison 2014/15 wurde er Chefdirigent der NDR Radiophilharmonie in Hannover; sein Vertrag wurde kürzlich bis 2021 verlängert. Andrew Manze und die NDR Radiophilharmonie haben in einer großen Aufnahmereihe für das Label Pentatone alle Symphonien Mendelssohns eingespielt. Die erste CD dieser Reihe wurde 2017 mit dem Jahrespreis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik ausgezeichnet.

Andrew Manze verbindet eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Orchestern, darunter das Gewandhausorchester in Leipzig, die Münchner Philharmoniker, das Los Angeles Philharmonic, das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, das Königliche Philharmonische Orchester in Stockholm, das Finnische Radiosinfonieorchester, das Philharmonische Orchester Oslo, das Hallé Orchestra in Manchester, die Camerata Salzburg, das Scottish Chamber Orchestra und das Schwedische Kammerorchester. Außerdem ist er regelmäßig beim Mostly Mozart Festival in New York zu Gast.

In der Saison 2018/19 wurde Andrew Manze Erster Gastdirigent des Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Mit diesem wird er für Onyx Classics das vollständige symphonische Werk von Ralph Vaughan Williams einspielen. Zudem debütierte Andrew Manze in dieser Saison am Pult des Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Von 2006 bis 2014 war Andrew Manze Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Helsingborgs Symfoniorkester in Schweden, von 2008 bis 2011 Erster Gastdirigent des Norwegischen Radiosinfonieorchesters sowie von 2010 bis 2014 Assoziierter Gastdirigent des BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

Nach dem Studium der Altphilologie an der University of Cambridge wandte sich Andrew Manze dem Violinstudium zu und wurde schnell zu einem der führenden Spezialisten auf dem Gebiet der historischen Aufführungspraxis. Bereits 1996 wurde er Assoziierter Direktor der Academy of Ancient Music mit Sitz in Cambridge und anschließend von 2003 bis 2007 Künstlerischer Leiter von The English Concert in London. Als Violinist hat Andrew Manze zahlreiche CDs veröffentlicht, die mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurden.

Andrew Manze ist Fellow der Royal Academy of Music in London und Gastprofessor an der Oslo National Academy of the Arts. Zudem war er an Neueditionen bei den Verlagen Bärenreiter sowie Breitkopf & Härtel beteiligt und ist als Dozent, Herausgeber und Autor tätig. Im November 2011 wurde Andrew Manze in Stockholm der Rolf-Schock-Preis verliehen.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Andrew Manze Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Andrew Manze Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Andrew Manze Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen