Biography

André Richard

Current as of August 2019

André Richard is an interpreter of live electronic music, a conductor and a composer. He studied singing, music theory and composition in Geneva, as well as composition with Klaus Huber and Brian Ferneyhough in Freiburg im Breisgau. He expanded his knowledge of electronic music with Hans Peter Haller, in the SWR Experimental Studio and at IRCAM in Paris. He has taught at the Geneva Conservatory and at the University of Music in Freiburg, as well as being involved in the direction of the Institute of New Music.

During the 1980s he worked closely with Luigi Nono and founded the Freiburg Soloist Choir, of which he was artistic director from 1984 to 2005. His recordings with the Choir and the SWR Experimental Studio of Nono’s Das atmende Klarsein and Io, frammento dal Prometeo won the German Record Critics’ Prize in 2004.

André Richard was artistic director of the SWR Experimental Studio from 1989 to 2005, where he was committed to advancing technological processes. He worked with composers, interpreters and the Studio team on various significant new works with integrated live electronics, as well as working internationally as a sound director and conductor.

He realized the spatial sound concept and sound direction for the Salzburg Festival performances of Nono’s Prometeo – Tragedia dell’ascolto in 1993 and Caminantes … Ayacucho in 1995, as well as working on later projects such as Helmut Lachenmann’s Das Mädchen mit den Schwefelhölzern (2002) and Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Helikopter-Streichquartett (2003) and Mixtur (2006). He was also responsible for the sound design of Nono’s Al gran sole carico d’amore (2009) conducted by Ingo Metzmacher.

Since 2006, André Richard has appeared as a freelance interpreter performing surround sound compositions at many international festivals and prestigious concert halls including La Fenice in Venice, La Scala, Milan, Carnegie Hall, the Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall, the Lucerne Festival, the Philharmonie in Paris, the Philharmonie in Berlin and the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires.

André Richard was the recipient of the Reinhold Schneider Prize of the City of Freiburg in 1990, the Christoph and Stephan Kaske Foundation Prize in 1994 and the European Culture Prize for New Music in 1998.

read more collapse

Biografie

André Richard

Stand: August 2019

André Richard ist Interpret von live-elektronischer Musik, Dirigent und Komponist. Er studierte in Genf (Gesang, Musiktheorie und Komposition) sowie bei Klaus Huber und Brian Ferneyhough in Freiburg im Breisgau (Komposition). Bei Hans Peter Haller, im SWR Experimentalstudio und am IRCAM in Paris vertiefte er seine Studien im Bereich der elektronischen Musik. Er unterrichtete am Conservatoire de musique de Genève sowie an der Hochschule für Musik Freiburg und war an der Leitung des dort ansässigen Instituts für Neue Musik beteiligt.

In den 1980er-Jahren arbeitete er eng mit Luigi Nono zusammen und gründete den Solistenchor Freiburg, dessen Künstlerischer Leiter er von 1984 bis 2005 war. Seine Einspielungen u. a. mit dem Solistenchor und dem Experimentalstudio von Luigi Nonos Das atmende Klarsein und Io, frammento dal Prometeo erhielten 2004 den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.

Von 1989 bis 2005 stand André Richard als Künstlerischer Leiter dem SWR Experimentalstudio vor, wo er u. a. die technologische Weiterentwicklung engagiert vorantrieb. Mit Komponisten, Interpreten und dem Team des Studios hat er zahlreiche bedeutende neue Werke mit integrierten live-elektronischen Mitteln erarbeitet und war als Klangregisseur und Dirigent international tätig.

Bei den Salzburger Festspielen realisierte er 1993 bzw. 1995 das Raumklangkonzept und die Klangregie für die Aufführungen von Nonos Prometeo – Tragedia dell’ascolto und Caminantes … Ayacucho, später wirkte er u. a. bei der Relaisierung von Helmut Lachenmanns Das Mädchen mit den Schwefelhölzern (2002) sowie Karlheinz Stockhausens Helikopter-Streichquartett (2003) und Mixtur (2006) mit. Bei den von Ingo Metzmacher dirigierten Aufführungen von Nonos Al gran sole carico d’amore (2009) zeichnete er ebenfalls für die Klangregie verantwortlich.

Als freischaffender Interpret gastiert André Richard seit 2006 bei vielen internationalen Festivals und in renommierten Konzertsälen, um Raumklang-Kompositionen aufzuführen, u. a. im Teatro La Fenice, in der Mailänder Scala, der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, der Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall, beim Lucerne Festival, in der Philharmonie de Paris, der Berliner Philharmonie und im Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires.

André Richard ist Träger des Reinhold-Schneider-Preises der Stadt Freiburg (1990), des Preises der Christoph und Stephan Kaske Stiftung (1994) sowie des Europäischen Kulturpreises für Neue Musik (1998).

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen