Biography

Ádám Fischer

Current as of August 2019

Ádám Fischer is the founder and artistic director of the Wagner Festival in Budapest, the Haydn Festival in Eisenstadt and the Austro-Hungarian Haydn Philharmonic.

He is currently recording Mahler’s complete works with the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra, having been its principal conductor since 2015. Their recording of Mahler’s First Symphony won the 2019 BBC Music Magazine Award for best orchestral recording and their recording of Mahler’s Third was nominated for an Opus Klassik Award 2019. He also enjoys a close relationship with the Danish Chamber Orchestra in Copenhagen, having been its principal conductor since 1998. Their recording of all the Mozart symphonies received an International Classical Music Award and they have recently released a complete Beethoven cycle.

Conducting a wide repertoire of German and Italian opera, Ádám Fischer has appeared at all the leading opera houses worldwide, including the Metropolitan Opera, New York, the Bavarian State Opera, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Paris Opéra, the Zurich Opera and La Scala, Milan. He has enjoyed a particularly close artistic relationship with the Vienna State Opera since 1973 and has appeared at the Bayreuth Festival for many years and was named conductor of the year by Opernwelt in 2002 for his performances of Wagner’s Ring.

In the concert hall, Ádám Fischer appears regularly with the Vienna Philharmonic, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Munich Philharmonic, the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the Orchestre de Paris, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Chicago and Boston Symphony Orchestras and the NHK Symphony Orchestra.

Ádám Fischer studied composition and conducting in his hometown of Budapest and in Vienna with the legendary Hans Swarowsky. He was general music director in Freiburg (1981–3), Kassel (1987–92) and Mannheim (2000–5) before returning to Budapest as artistic director of the Budapest Opera (2007–10).

His extensive discography has won many awards, including two Echo Klassik awards for his recordings of Haydn’s symphonies and the Grand Prix du Disque for his performances of Goldmark’s Die Königin von Saba and Bartók’s Bluebeard’s Castle.

Ádám Fischer is an honorary member of the Vienna State Opera and the Musikverein in Graz. He is a recipient of the Order of Dannebrog, given to him by the Queen of Denmark, and has been named an honorary professor by the President of Austria. In 2018 Ádám Fischer won the Wolf Prize in Israel for his outstanding work as a musician and as a committed supporter of human rights. He was awarded the John F. Kennedy Center Gold Medal in the Arts in 2019.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Ádám Fischer Conductor
open gallery
Ádám Fischer Conductor
open gallery
Ádám Fischer Conductor
open gallery
Ádám Fischer Conductor
open gallery
Ádám Fischer Conductor
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Ádám Fischer

Stand: August 2019

Ádám Fischer ist Gründer und Künstlerischer Leiter der Wagner Tage in Budapest, der Internationalen Haydntage in Eisenstadt und der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Haydn Philharmonie.

Zurzeit arbeitet er an einer Gesamtaufnahme der Werke Gustav Mahlers gemeinsam mit den Düsseldorfer Symphonikern, deren Principal Conductor er seit 2015 ist. Ihre Aufnahme der 1. Symphonie Mahlers wurde als beste Aufnahme in der Kategorie Orchester 2019 mit einem BBC Music Award ausgezeichnet, die Aufnahme der 3. Symphonie für einen Opus Klassik Preis 2019 nominiert. Ádám Fischer ist seit 1998 auch dem Danish Chamber Orchestra in Kopenhagen als Chefdirigent in einer engen künstlerischen Partnerschaft verbunden. Mit dem Orchester hat er eine mit dem International Classical Music Award ausgezeichnete Gesamtaufnahme aller Mozart-Symphonien eingespielt sowie kürzlich eine Beethoven-Gesamtaufnahme präsentiert.

Mit einem höchst umfangreichen Opernrepertoire im deutschen wie auch im italienischen Fach ist Ádám Fischer an allen führenden Opernhäusern weltweit zu erleben, darunter an der Metropolitan Opera, der Bayerischen Staatsoper, dem Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Pariser Opéra, dem Opernhaus Zürich und der Mailänder Scala. Seit 1973 verbindet ihn eine besonders intensive künstlerische Partnerschaft mit der Wiener Staatsoper. Mehrere Jahre lang war er außerdem Gast bei den Bayreuther Festspielen und wurde für seine Aufführungen des Ring des Nibelungen 2002 von der Zeitschrift Opernwelt zum Dirigenten des Jahres gewählt.

In den Konzertsälen gastiert Ádám Fischer regelmäßig mit den Wiener Philharmonikern, den Wiener Symphonikern, dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, den Berliner Philharmonikern, den Münchner Philharmonikern, den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, dem Orchestre de Paris, dem London Symphony Orchestra, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, dem Boston Symphony Orchestra und dem NHK Symphony Orchestra.

Ádám Fischer studierte Komposition und Dirigieren in seiner Heimatstadt Budapest und in Wien bei Hans Swarowsky. Er war Generalmusikdirektor in Freiburg (1981–1983), Kassel (1987–1992) und Mannheim (2000–2005) und kehrte als Künstlerischer Leiter der Budapester Oper (2007–2010) in seine Heimatstadt zurück.

Viele Aufnahmen seiner umfangreichen Diskografie wurden mit Preisen geehrt, so erhielt er u. a. zwei ECHO-Klassik-Auszeichnungen für seine Gesamtaufnahme aller Haydn-Symphonien sowie je einen Grand Prix du Disque für seine Einspielungen von Goldmarks Die Königin von Saba und Bartóks Herzog Blaubarts Burg.

Ádám Fischer ist Ehrenmitglied der Wiener Staatsoper und des Musikvereins für Steiermark in Graz. Er ist Träger des von der dänischen Königin verliehenen Dannebrogordens und wurde im Auftrag des österreichischen Bundespräsidenten mit dem Ehrenprofessoren-Titel ausgezeichnet. 2018 wurde Ádám Fischer für seine herausragenden künstlerischen Leistungen und sein humanitäres Engagement in Israel der prestigeträchtige Wolf-Preis in der Sparte Musik verliehen. 2019 wurde er mit der John F. Kennedy Center Gold Medal in the Arts geehrt.

 

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Ádám Fischer Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ádám Fischer Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ádám Fischer Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ádám Fischer Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Ádám Fischer Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen