Nestlé and Salzburg Festival
Young Conductors Award


The “Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award” is an initiative of Nestlé and the Salzburg Festival. At the same time, the creation of the “Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award” represents another project in the long and intensive partnership between Nestlé and the Salzburg Festival and its youth programmes. During the 2014 Festival season, the prize, which carries a cash value of 15,000 Euros, will be awarded for the fifth time; in future years, one young conductor shall be honoured with the “Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award” every year. 

Award Concert Weekend  

Among all the applicants, the jury will select three final candidates who will be given the opportunity to conduct concerts in Salzburg with the Camerata Salzburg, the Salzburg Mozarteum Orchestra and the Symphony Orchestra of Vorarlberg on February 28 and March 1 and 2, 2014. Young international soloists will also be presented at these concerts.Afterwards, the winner will be selected by the jury. In its deliberations, the jury will pay special attention to the interpretation of contemporary works – next to the Classical and Romantic repertoires. 

For detailed programme and tickets please use one of the following links:

Freitag, 28. Februar 2014, 7:30 pm, Felsenreitschule
Maxime Pascal, Conductor
Camerata Salzburg
Ramón Ortega Quero, Oboe

Samstag, 1. März 2014, 7:30 pm, Felsenreitschule
Leo McFall, Conductor
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
Jan Lisiecki, Piano

Sonntag, 2. März 2014, 3:00 pm, Felsenreitschule
Victor Aviat, Conductor
Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg
Veronika Eberle, Violin

Award Winner’s Concert  

Sunday, August 18, 2014, 11:00 am, Felsenreitschule
The winner of the award Maxime Pascal conducts the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra.
Tickets for the Award Winner's Concert will be available through the Salzburg Festival Ticket Office.



Young Conductors Award 2014

Click below for the latest information on the 2014 Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award: