Antony Gormley, Rim, 1994, carbon and casein on paper, 19.5 × 14 cm, The British Museum, London, UK, © the artist
About the series

Ouverture Spirituelle · Lux Aeterna

‘Let there be light!’ It’s with good reason that the Genesis creation myth yokes the beginning of all life on earth to the end of darkness. Hardly any other symbol possesses such equally archaic and palpable power. Light imparts brightness, warmth and comfort, but also stands for reason, enlightenment — and God’s eternal glory, which outshines all suns.
Its bright arc is visible in the rays of each new morning and spans from our very first glimpses of the world to the comforting transcendental glow that may appear in our final moments. In Joseph Haydn’s The Creation it is a big bang in C major, while ‘Brother Sun’ and ‘Sister Moon’ are voiced by a cello and choir in Sofia Gubaidulina’s The Canticle of the Sun, inspired by Francis of Assisi. Olivier Messiaen portrays ‘lightning over the beyond’ in a work that was only premiered posthumously, Giacinto Scelsi lets glistening tone clusters resound from the organ, and John Cage tries to capture the movement of light in an empty room on film.
Needless to say, we feel an even more urgent need for light in our darkest moments, or in the face of death — and without darkness, there is no light. This light is transmuted into sound in music for funeral rites from the Renaissance through to the present, in works for Holy Week and its Tenebrae services, or in the Stabat Mater. Claude Vivier meditates on human suffering two years before his brutal murder, while Gérard Grisey imagines crossing the final threshold. For the terminally ill Derek Jarman narrating his last film Blue, only this one colour remains.
Light is a promise, a gift, an achievement — or an intangible hope that keeps receding. The power of light, however, endures for aeons: lux aeterna.

Walter Weidringer
Translation: Sebastian Smallshaw

read more collapse

Antony Gormley, Rim, 1994, carbon and casein on paper, 19.5 × 14 cm, The British Museum, London, UK, © the artist
Zur REIHE

Ouverture Spirituelle · Lux Aeterna

„Es werde Licht!“ Mit gutem Grund setzt der biblische Schöpfungsmythos den Anbeginn alles Seienden mit dem Ende der Dunkelheit gleich. Denn kaum einem Symbol kommt solch archaische und zugleich konkrete Kraft zu wie dem Licht: Es spendet Helligkeit, Wärme und Geborgenheit, steht aber auch für die Vernunft, die Aufklärung — und für das göttliche ewige Licht, das keine Sonne braucht, um zu strahlen.
Sein heller Bogen spannt sich vom Licht der Welt, das der Mensch bei der Geburt erblickt, über die Strahlen eines jeden neuen Morgens bis hin zum tröstlichen Leuchten von Drüben, das gegen Ende des Lebens zu schauen sein mag. Bei Joseph Haydn ist es ein Urknall in C-Dur, Sofia Gubaidulina lässt Violoncello und Chor mit Franz von Assisi von „Bruder Sonne“ und „Schwester Mond“ singen; Olivier Messiaen vernimmt Streiflichter über dem Jenseits in einem Werk, das erst posthum uraufgeführt werden konnte. Ein Orgelcluster gleißt bei Giacinto Scelsi — und John Cage versucht das Licht in einem leeren Raum filmisch einzufangen.
Noch dringender freilich bedürfen wir des Lichts in unseren dunkelsten Momenten, im Angesicht des Todes — und ohne Finsternis wäre auch kein Licht denkbar. Zu Klang wird dieses Licht in Musik für Begräbnisriten von der Renaissance bis zur Gegenwart, in Werken zur Karwoche mit ihren Finstermetten etwa oder im Stabat Mater. Claude Vivier meditiert zwei Jahre vor seiner Ermordung über den menschlichen Schmerz; Gérard Grisey stimmt Gesänge über das Überschreiten der letzten Schwelle an; für den todkranken Derek Jarman bleibt in seinem letzten Film Blue nur noch diese eine Farbe übrig.
Licht ist Verheißung, Geschenk, Errungenschaft — oder ungreifbare, immer wieder zurückweichende Hoffnung. Seine Kraft erweist sich jedoch über Äonen hinweg: Lux aeterna.

Walter Weidringer

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen