Man Ray, Jacques Rigaut, 1922,
© Man Ray 2015 Trust / ADAGP — Bildrecht, Wien — 2019, Photo: Telimage, Paris

‘Now is the time for weeping!’

After more than 700 performances in a century, Jedermann is a central component of the Salzburg Festival’s DNA and keeps on prolonging its own history, a unique occurrence in German­-language theatre.
The drama was conceived as a renewal of the medi­eval morality play, modelled on the English Every­man and further enriched by Hans Sachs’s Hecastus and other sources. Its creator, Hofmannsthal, worked on his own rendering over a number of years in a Europe marked by escalating conflicts. He always had in mind a realization by Max Reinhardt. ‘Having persistently carried within me the essence of this dramatic structure over the passing years, at least in my subconscious, there gradually awoke the desire and the freedom to treat the material at my own discretion. Its actual core kept revealing itself ever more clearly as a human absolute, not affiliated with any particular time, not even indissolubly connected to Christian dogma; it is more that man’s uncondi­tional yearning towards something higher, towards the very highest, must play a vitally facilitating part when all earthly bonds of loyalty and ownership prove illusory and transitory, and that is portrayed here in allegorical-­dramatic form: and what is there that could be more important for us?’
The risk of treating the material freely and of resitu­ating its theme to its quintessence with neither temporal nor doctrinal ties — as Hofmannsthal here explicitly describes his process — constitutes the ideological energy centre of Jedermann.

‘At its core, Jedermann poses this question: what happens when death enters our lives? In our culture, death is repressed more fully than ever before in human history. We try ever harder to barricade our­ selves from our mortality and to confront it as little as possible, but it’s clear to everyone nonetheless that one requirement for living life purposefully is to find a reflective approach to dealing with death. That is a basic element of living. At some point, all people must come to terms with death; no one can avoid this confrontation. The mystery that surrounds the enigma of any human’s death and of humanity’s en­counter with death in general exists in every religion and culture. And humankind has been concerned with this topic ever since we began singing and writing and producing art and pictures.
‘Our production aims at a contemporary reading. We transport men and women into the present and attempt to move them with a story that has great relevance in all times. Aside from the style of the language, there are few hints as to time in Jeder­mann. Hofmannsthal’s language, which comes from the turn of the 20th century, constructs an artificial medieval setting — something classical, a re­creation of a different style — which of course says a lot about its own time. With the character of Jeder­mann, which Hofmannsthal adapted to fit the rich man, he makes it specific to this individual. This is how his Jedermann becomes the “Play of the Rich Man’s Death”. And yet despite this distinction, Jedermann stands for everyone because everyone has to die, although Hofmannsthal’s Jedermann finds it especially difficult to let go of the world. This is underscored as the crux of the story. ‘Although Hofmannsthal writes in a medieval style, he remains anchored to a very different point in literary history. With Max Reinhardt he also had an extremely strong theatre practitioner at his side, who, like Stanislavsky at the same time in Russia, shaped the development of a new profession, that of the modern director.
‘When the play is performed on the Cathedral Square, a major element behind the success of Jedermann in Salzburg has to do with the direct juxtaposition of the theatre with the Church — an institution which also seeks to deal with the final realities of life — namely the confrontation between the spiritual and the profane. With his use of the Cathedral Square, Reinhardt found a place where he could stage a clash between these two poles and develop a striking display of theatricality.’

Michael Sturminger

read more collapse

FAQ

Is Jedermann performed on the Domplatz (Cathedral Square) irrespective of the weather?
Since Jedermann performances on Domplatz (Cathedral Square) are open-air performances, the risk of inclement weather cannot be excluded. In case of rain as well as uncertain weather situations (e.g. possible torrential rain or storms) the performance may be moved to the Großes Festspielhaus. If the weather changes during a performance of Jedermann on Cathedral Square, the performance will be interrupted and continued in the Großes Festspielhaus, provided that no more than 80 minutes of the performance have elapsed. After 80 minutes, the performance will be considered to have taken place in full, and the ticket prices will not be refunded. Due to the difference in nature of the venues Domplatz and Großes Festspielhaus, in case of a performance of Jedermann in the Großes Festspielhaus, adjoining seating cannot be guaranteed, and the arrangement of seats and rows may vary. If the performance is played at the Domplatz (Cathedral Square), one-hour tickets are sold at the cash desk in Franziskanergasse one hour before the performance starts. In case of high demand 2 tickets per person are sold. Price: € 10, - The respective venue will be announced at least one hour before the start of the performance at www.salzburgfestival.at as well as by phone at + 43-662-8045-500.
Where and when do I find out the venue of Jedermann?
The venue for a specfic performance will be announced at least one hour before the start of the respective performance on the homepage www.salzburgfestival.at as well as by phone at + 43-662-8045-500.

Programme Navigator

Man Ray, Jacques Rigaut, 1922,
© Man Ray 2015 Trust / ADAGP — Bildrecht, Wien — 2019, Foto: Telimage, Paris

„Nun ist wohl Weinens Zeit!“

Nach mehr als 700 Vorstellungen in einem Jahrhundert ist der Jedermann zentraler Bestandteil der DNA der Salzburger Festspiele und schreibt seine Historie in einem fort: ein singulärer Vorgang im deutschsprachigen Theater.
Konzipiert als Wiederbelebung einer mittelalter­lichen Moralität nach dem Vorbild des englischen Everyman, angereichert durch Hecastus von Hans Sachs und andere Quellen, schreibt Hofmannsthal über Jahre in einem Europa der kulminierenden Konflikte an seinem Jedermann. Im Kopf immer eine mögliche Umsetzung durch Max Reinhardt: „Trug man, mit vergehenden Jahren, das Wesent­liche dieses dramatischen Gebildes stets in sich, zumindest im Unterbewusstsein, so regte sich all­mählich Lust und Freiheit, mit dem Stoff willkürlich zu verfahren. Sein eigentlicher Kern offenbarte sich immer mehr als menschlich absolut, keiner be­stimmten Zeit angehörig, nicht einmal mit dem christlichen Dogma unlöslich verbunden; nur dass dem Menschen ein unbedingtes Streben nach dem Höheren, Höchsten dann entscheidend zu Hilfe kommen muss, wenn sich alle irdischen Treu­ und Besitzverhältnisse als scheinhaft und löslich er­weisen, ist hier in allegorisch­-dramatische Form gebracht, und was gäbe es Näheres auch für uns?“ Das Wagnis, das Hofmannsthal hier explizit be­schreibt, frei mit dem Stoff zu verfahren, und seine thematische Rückführung, die weder zeitlich noch dogmatisch gebunden ist, bilden das ideologische Kraftzentrum des Jedermann.

„Im Kern stellt der Jedermann die Frage: Was pas­siert, wenn der Tod in das Leben tritt? Der Tod ist in unserer Kultur so sehr verdrängt wie nie zuvor in der Menschheitsgeschichte. Wir versuchen, uns zunehmend von unserer Endlichkeit abzuschotten und uns möglichst wenig damit zu konfrontieren, aber trotzdem ist letztlich allen klar: Um ein bewuss­tes Leben zu führen, ist es notwendig, einen reflek­tierten Zugang zum Tod zu finden. Das gehört grundsätzlich zum Leben dazu. Der Mensch muss sich irgendwann mit dem Tod auseinandersetzen; er wird dieser Konfrontation nicht entgehen. Das Mysterium, das dieses Rätsel vom Tod des Men­schen und seiner Begegnung mit dem Tod umgibt, existiert in allen Religionen und Kulturen. Und seit Menschen singen und schreiben, Kunst und Bilder produzieren, beschäftigt sie dieses Thema.
Unsere Inszenierung zielt auf eine zeitgenössische Lesart. Wir holen die Menschen in der Gegenwart ab und versuchen, sie mit einer Geschichte zu be­rühren, die zu jeder Zeit große Relevanz hat.
Es gibt im Jedermann, abgesehen vom Stil der Sprache, wenige Hinweise auf die Zeit. Hofmanns­thals Sprache, die aus der Wende zum 20. Jahr­hundert stammt, kreiert ein Kunstmittelalter, etwas Klassizistisches, eine Nachschöpfung eines anderen Stils, die natürlich viel über ihre eigene Zeit aussagt. Mit der Figur des Jedermann, die Hofmannsthal auf den reichen Mann zugeschnitten hat, spezifiziert er diesen Menschen. So wird sein Jedermann zum ,Spiel vom Sterben des reichen Mannes‘. Trotz dieser Definition steht Jedermann für alle Menschen, weil alle Menschen sterben müssen, wobei es dem Hof­mannsthal’schen Jedermann besonders schwerfällt, sich vom Weltlichen zu trennen. Das ist die Zu­spitzung.
Auch wenn sich Hofmannsthal stilistisch ins Mittel­alter schreibt, steht er doch an einem ganz anderen Punkt der Literaturgeschichte. Mit Max Reinhardt hatte er zudem einen extrem starken Theatermacher an seiner Seite, der — wie Stanislawski zur selben Zeit in Russland — die Entwicklung des neuen Berufsbildes eines modernen Regisseurs prägte. Erheblichen Anteil am Erfolg des Jedermann in Salzburg hatte beim Spiel auf dem Domplatz die direkte Konfrontation des Theaters mit der Kirche, die auch die letzten Dinge verhandeln will, also die Begegnung zwischen Profanem und Spirituellem. Mit dem Domplatz fand Reinhardt einen Ort, wo er diese Pole aufeinanderprallen lassen und für sich eine ganz große Theatralik entwickeln konnte.“

Michael Sturminger

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Häufige Fragen

Findet der Jedermann auch bei Schlechtwetter am Domplatz statt?
Da es sich bei der Aufführung des Jedermann am Domplatz um eine Open-Air-Aufführung handelt, ist ein Wetterrisiko nicht auszuschließen. Bei Regen sowie einer unklaren Wettersituation (z.B. eventueller Starkregen oder Gewitter) kann es zu einer Verlegung ins Große Festspielhaus kommen. Sollte es während einer Aufführung des Jedermann am Domplatz zu einer Änderung der Wettersituation kommen, wird die Vorstellung bis 60 Minuten nach Beginn unterbrochen und im Großen Festspielhaus fortgesetzt. Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt gilt die Vorstellung als gespielt. Der Kaufpreis der Eintrittskarten wird nicht rückerstattet. Aufgrund der Verschiedenheit der Spielstätten Domplatz und Großes Festspielhaus kann im Falle einer Aufführung des Jedermann im Großen Festspielhaus eine nebeneinanderliegende Platzierung nicht gewährleistet werden bzw. der Platz in Reihe und räumlicher Positionierung zum Domplatz variieren. Wenn die Vorstellung am Domplatz gespielt wird, werden eine Stunde vor Beginn der Vorstellung an der Kasse in der Franziskanergasse Stehplatzkarten verkauft.  Bei großer Nachfrage werden max. 2 Karten pro Person verkauft. Preis: € 10,- Den jeweiligen Spielort erfahren Sie spätestens 1 Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn auf der Startseite www.salzburgfestival.at sowie telefonisch unter +43-662-8045-500.
Wo und wann erfahre ich den Spielort des Jedermann?
Den jeweiligen Spielort erfahren Sie spätestens 1 Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn auf der Startseite www.salzburgfestival.at sowie telefonisch unter +43-662-8045-500

Programm Navigator