Biography

Zubin Mehta

Current as of May 2021

Zubin Mehta was born in Bombay in 1936 and received his first musical education from his father, Mehli Mehta, a noted violinist who had founded the Bombay Symphony Orchestra. After studying medicine for two terms, he decided to focus exclusively on music and studied conducting under Hans Swarowsky at the Vienna Academy of Music, winning the Liverpool International Conducting Competition in 1958 and also receiving one of the prizes at that year’s Summer Academy in Tanglewood. By 1961 he had already conducted the Vienna, Berlin and Israel Philharmonic Orchestras and has recently celebrated the 50th anniversary of his debuts with all three of these orchestras.

Zubin Mehta was the music director of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra from 1961 to 1967 and of the Los Angeles Philharmonic from 1962 to 1978. In 1978 he became music director of the New York Philharmonic, remaining there for 13 years – the longest tenure in the orchestra’s history. From 1985 to 2017 he was principal conductor of the Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. He stepped down as music director of the Israel Philharmonic in October 2019, having held the post for 50 years, and is now its conductor emeritus.

Zubin Mehta made his operatic debut with Tosca in Montreal in 1963. Since then he has appeared at the Metropolitan Opera, New York, the Vienna State Opera, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, La Scala, Milan, and the opera houses in Chicago and Florence. He has also been heard on frequent occasions at the Salzburg Festival, where he made his debut in 1962. Between 1998 and 2006 he was the general music director of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich. In October 2006 he opened the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia and until 2014 remained closely associated with the house as president of the Festival del Mediterrani. It was in Valencia that he conducted a celebrated production of the Ring directed by La Fura dels Baus, a coproduction with the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. He has conducted two other productions of the Ring in Chicago and Munich.

Zubin Mehta’s list of awards and honours is extensive and includes the Nikisch Ring bequeathed to him by Karl Böhm; he is an honorary citizen to both Florence and Tel Aviv, and he has been an honorary member of the Vienna State Opera since 1997, of the Bavarian State Opera since 2006 and of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna since 2007. He has held the title of honorary conductor of the Vienna Philharmonic since 2001; of the Munich Philharmonic since 2004; of the Los Angeles Philharmonic since 2006; of the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino since 2006; of the Bavarian State Orchestra since 2006; of the Berlin Staatskapelle since 2014 and of the Teatro San Carlo in Naples since 2016. Since 2019 he has been conductor emeritus of both the Israel Philharmonic and of the Los Angeles Philharmonic.

In 2008 the Japanese imperial family bestowed on him the Praemium Imperiale. In 2011 a star was dedicated to him on Hollywood Boulevard, and the following year he was awarded the German Order of Merit. The Indian government honoured him in 2013 with the Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony – its first recipient in 2012 had been Ravi Shankar.

Zubin Mehta remains keen to promote the careers of talented young musicians all over the world. Together with his brother Zarin he co-founded the Mehli Mehta Music Foundation in Bombay with the aim of educating Indian children in Western classical music. The Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv teaches young Israeli musicians and works closely with the Israel Philharmonic: numerous graduates from the school have in the meantime joined the orchestra. The same is true of a new project that involves local teachers and members of the Israel Philharmonic teaching young Arab Israelis in the cities of Shefa-’Amr and Nazareth.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Zubin Mehta Conductor
open gallery
Zubin Mehta Conductor
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Zubin Mehta

Stand: Mai 2021

Zubin Mehta wurde 1936 in Bombay geboren und erhielt von seinem Vater Mehli Mehta, einem bekannten Geiger und dem Gründer des Bombay Symphony Orchestra, seine erste musikalische Ausbildung. Nach zwei Semestern Medizinstudium konzentrierte er sich ganz auf die Musik und absolvierte an der Wiener Musikakademie bei Hans Swarowsky eine Dirigentenausbildung. 1958 gewann er den Internationalen Dirigentenwettbewerb von Liverpool und war Preisträger der Akademie in Tanglewood. Bereits 1961 hatte er die Wiener und die Berliner Philharmoniker sowie das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra dirigiert; mit allen drei Klangkörpern feierte er kürzlich die 50-jährige musikalische Zusammenarbeit.
Zubin Mehta war Musikdirektor des Montreal Symphony Orchestra (1961–1967) und des Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra (1962–1978). 1978 wurde er Musikdirektor des New York Philharmonic Orchestra; seine Ära dort währte 13 Jahre und war damit die längste in der Geschichte des Orchesters. Von 1985 bis 2017 war er Chefdirigent des Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. Nach 50 Jahren als Musikdirektor verabschiedete er sich im Oktober 2019 vom Israel Philharmonic Orchestra und wurde zu dessen Conductor Emeritus ernannt.

Mit Tosca gab Zubin Mehta 1963 in Montreal sein Debüt als Operndirigent. Seitdem stand er am Pult der Metropolitan Opera in New York, der Wiener Staatsoper, des Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, der Mailänder Scala sowie der Opernhäuser in Chicago und Florenz. Auch bei den Salzburger Festspielen, wo er 1962 debütiert hatte, war er mehrmals als Operndirigent zu Gast. Von 1998 bis 2006 war er Generalmusikdirektor der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München. Im Oktober 2006 eröffnete Zubin Mehta den Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia und war dieser Institution als Präsident des Festival del Mediterrani bis 2014 verbunden. In Valencia dirigierte er u.a. den gefeierten Ring-Zyklus in der Regie von La Fura dels Baus, eine Koproduktion mit dem Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino. Weitere Produktionen des Ring leitete er in Chicago und München.

Die Liste von Zubin Mehtas Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen ist lang. Er ist u.a. Träger des Nikisch-Rings, der ihm von Karl Böhm vererbt wurde, Ehrenbürger von Florenz und Tel Aviv sowie Ehrenmitglied der Wiener Staatsoper (1997), der Bayerischen Staatsoper (2006) und der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien (2007). Den Titel des Ehrendirigenten verliehen ihm die Wiener Philharmoniker (2001), die Münchner Philharmoniker (2004), das Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra (2006), das Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino (2006), das Bayerische Staatsorchester (2006), die Staatskapelle Berlin (2014) und das Teatro San Carlo in Neapel (2016). Seit 2019 ist er Conductor Emeritus nicht nur des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, sondern auch des Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra.

2008 wurde Zubin Mehta vom japanischen Kaiserhaus mit dem Praemium Imperiale ausgezeichnet, 2011 wurde ihm ein Stern auf dem Hollywood Boulevard gewidmet und 2012 erhielt er den Deutschen Verdienstorden. Die Regierung Indiens zeichnete ihn 2013 mit dem Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony aus – ein Preis, der im Jahr davor erstmals an Ravi Shankar vergeben worden war.

Die Förderung junger Talente auf der ganzen Welt liegt Zubin Mehta sehr am Herzen. Gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Zarin gründete er in Bombay die Mehli Mehta Music Foundation und unterstützt fortwährend deren Arbeit, Kinder an die klassische westliche Musik heranzuführen. Die Buchmann-Mehta School of Music in Tel Aviv unterrichtet junge israelische Musiker und ist eng mit dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra verbunden; inzwischen sind zahlreiche Absolventen der Schule Mitglieder des Orchesters. Gleiches gilt auch für ein neues Projekt, in dem junge arabische Israelis in Schefa-Amr und Nazareth sowohl von dortigen Lehrern als auch von Mitgliedern des IPO unterrichtet werden.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Zubin Mehta Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Zubin Mehta Dirigent
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen