Biography

Yusif Eyvazov

Current as of August 2020

Azerbaijani tenor Yusif Eyvazov perfected his vocal technique in Italy, where he attended masterclasses with singers of the eminence of Franco Corelli and Ghena Dimitrova. His career soon took him to the world’s leading opera houses, including the Metropolitan Opera, New York, the Berlin, Munich and Vienna State Operas, La Scala, Milan, the Paris Opéra, the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow and the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg. He has also enjoyed great acclaim on the concert platform.

Yusif Eyvazov began the 2019/20 sea-son as Maurizio in a concert performance of Adriana Lecouvreur at the Deutsche Oper Berlin alongside his wife, Anna Netrebko. He also returned to the Vienna State Opera as Manrico (Il trovatore). Other highlights in 2019/20 included Hermann (The Queen of Spades) and Calaf (Turandot) at the Metropolitan Opera, the latter of which was broadcast live in HD, as well as the Met’s prestigious New Year’s Eve Gala conducted by music director Yannick Nézet-Séguin with a line-up of international stars, including Anna Netrebko.

During the 2018/19 season he sang Dick Johnson (La fanciulla del West) at the Met, Hermann and Verdi’s Don Carlo at the Bolshoi, Don Alvaro (La forza del destino) at Covent Garden and the title role in Andrea Chénier at the Vienna State Opera. He also gave recitals at the Salle Gaveau in Paris, the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg and the Tonhalle in Dusseldorf and sang at the Vienna Opera Ball and the 350th Anniversary Gala of the Paris Opéra.

Operatic engagements in 2017/18 included Andrea Chénier at his acclaimed La Scala debut, Des Grieux (Manon Lescaut) at the Bolshoi, Macduff (Macbeth) at Covent Garden and at the Mariinsky Theatre, Cavaradossi (Tosca) at the Berlin State Opera, Manrico at the Paris Opéra and Radamès (Aida) at the Arena di Verona.

Other recent highlights of Yusif Eyvazov’s career include Macduff for his Bavarian State Opera debut, his role debut as Maurizio at the Mariinsky Theatre, Calaf at the Vienna State Opera, Radamès at the 2017 Salzburg Festival, Canio (Pagliacci) at the Los Angeles Opera and Verdi’s Otello at the Ravenna Festival.

Yusif Eyvazov has given concerts with Anna Netrebko all over the world and the couple have also undertaken extended tours together, notably to Asia and Australia in 2017 and to Latin America in 2018. Their album Romanza was released by Deutsche Grammophon in September 2017. Yusif Eyvazov also appears on Anna Netrebko’s album Verismo.

Yusif Eyvazov was awarded the title of People’s Artist of Azerbaijan on 9 March 2017, his country’s highest artistic honour.

 

 

 

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Yusif Eyvazov Singer Tenor
open gallery
Yusif Eyvazov Singer Tenor
open gallery
Yusif Eyvazov Singer Tenor
open gallery
Yusif Eyvazov Singer Tenor
open gallery
Anna Netrebko and Yusif Eyvazov
open gallery
Anna Netrebko and Yusif Eyvazov
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Yusif Eyvazov

Stand: August 2020

Der Tenor Yusif Eyvazov stammt aus Aserbaidschan und vervollkommnete seine Gesangsausbildung in Italien, wo er an Meisterkursen von so renommierten Sängerpersönlichkeiten wie Franco Corelli und Ghena Dimitrova teilnahm. Seine Karriere führte ihn rasch an die bedeutendsten Opernhäuser auf der ganzen Welt, u.a. an die Metropolitan Opera in New York, die Staatsopern in Berlin, München und Wien, die Mailänder Scala, die Pariser Opéra, das Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, das Bolschoi-Theater in Moskau und das Mariinski-Theater in Sankt Petersburg. Auch auf dem Konzertpodium feiert er große Erfolge.

Yusif Eyvazov begann die Spielzeit 2019/ 20 als Maurizio in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Adriana Lecouvreur an der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit seiner Frau, Anna Netrebko, in der Titelrolle, gefolgt von Auftritten als Manrico (Il trovatore) an der Wiener Staatsoper. Weitere Höhepunkte der Saison waren Hermann (Pique Dame) und Calaf (Turandot) an der Metropolitan Opera – mit Übertragung von Turandot im Rahmen der Reihe „Live in HD“ – sowie die renommierte Silvestergala der Met unter Musikdirektor Yannick Nézet-Séguin an der Seite von internationalen Stars, darunter Anna Netrebko.

In der Saison 2018/19 gastierte Yusif Eyvazov als Dick Johnson (La fanciulla del West) an der Met, als Hermann und Verdis Don Carlo am Bolschoi-Theater, als Don Alvaro (La forza del destino) an Covent Garden und in der Titelrolle in Andrea Chénier an der Wiener Staatsoper. Außerdem war er in Rezitalen in der Salle Gaveau in Paris, in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie und in der Tonhalle in Düsseldorf sowie beim Wiener Opernball und in der Gala zur Feier des 350-jährigen Bestehens der Pariser Opéra zu hören.

Zu seinen Opernengagements der Spielzeit 2017/18 zählten Andrea Chénier bei seinem erfolgreichen Debüt an der Mailänder Scala, Des Grieux (Manon Lescaut) am Bolschoi-Theater, Macduff (Macbeth) an Covent Garden und am Mariinski-Theater, Cavaradossi (Tosca) an der Berliner Staatsoper, Manrico an der Pariser Opéra und Radamès (Aida) in der Arena di Verona.

Höhepunkte der jüngeren Zeit waren auch Macduff bei seinem Debüt an der Bayerischen Staatsoper, sein Rollendebüt als Maurizio am Mariinski-Theater, Calaf an der Wiener Staatsoper, Radamès bei den Salzburger Festspielen 2017, Canio (Pagliacci) an der Los Angeles Opera und Verdis Otello beim Ravenna Festival.

Zusammen mit Anna Netrebko gab Yusif Eyvazov zahlreiche Konzerte auf der ganzen Welt. Die beiden unternahmen ausgedehnte Tourneen – 2017 etwa durch Asien und Australien und 2018 durch Südamerika – und spielten das Album Romanza ein, das im September 2017 bei Deutsche Grammophon erschien. Außerdem ist Yusif Eyvazov auf Anna Netrebkos CD Verismo zu hören.

Am 9. März 2017 wurde Yusif Eyvazov der Titel „Volkskünstler Aserbaidschans“ verliehen, die höchste künstlerische Auszeichnung seines Heimatlandes.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Yusif Eyvazov Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Yusif Eyvazov Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Yusif Eyvazov Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Yusif Eyvazov Sänger Tenor
Galerie öffnen
Anna Netrebko und Yusif Eyvazov
Galerie öffnen
Anna Netrebko und Yusif Eyvazov
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen